We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Guided Day Tours

Marrakech Guided Day Tours
Hay Mohammadi daoudiate | Bloc 28 No. 399, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 613-153637
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Want to enjoy the magic of Marrakech free of hassle! ​​Marrakech Guided Tours has years of experience looking after guests coming to Morocco. We offer great insight into the culture and people of this exotic city and its gorgeous surroundings.Whether you are looking for a knowledgeable guide to show you the old city and historic sites, or to help you wind your way through the shops in the Souks, we know all the spots and enjoy sharing our expertise and making your visit exceptional. Our aim is to unveil the mystery and magic that Marrakech is.​Through our customized services, Marrakech Guided Tours will welcome you to a kingdom of extraordinary sights, sounds and experiences.​
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

There is no doubt Abdul is an excellent guide who knows his way around Marrakech and can show you some fantastic sights. Very helpful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    22
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taurinya, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent, flexible and individually tailored service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Based on TA reviews, we booked Abdul for a half day orientation of the city and a full day trip into the Atlas Mountains. The two experiences, obviously, were very different, but Abdul's wide ranging knowledge, sensitivity to our needs, useful advice and unfailing charm and good humour were common to both. The half day tour is highly recommended as early as possible in your stay as it provides a first-rate introduction to the city: we walked for about four hours at a leisurely pace through an intelligently planned itinerary which introduced us to so much about the city: its structure and the rationale behind it, the nature of a riad, the way of life, the commerce [in the legendary souks], bread baking customs, hammams, the Medersa, historial buildings.. and much more. As others have said, Abdul invites you to specify your areas of interest, and he will tailor your tour to suit.
Our second trip was a day out in the High Atlas Mountains - again specially tailored for softies like us - though a more physically strenuous version was offered had we wanted it! We drove in a very comfortable Land Cruiser which cushioned the rugged off road trail we took in order to see more of the fabulous countryside and views. In Imlil, we had been offered the choice of a smart hotel lunch or home cooked food in a Berber house - we chose the latter and the hospitality, the tea tasting ceremony and the excellent food were all perfect. Definitely the right choice! A post lunch walk through chestnut, cherry and olive groves was fine for us - though a longer walk up the mountain was also offered. Throughout the day, we enjoyed chatting to Abdul about a wide range of aspects of Moroccan life and culture (and, indeed, English: he has a degree in English Language & Literature!) - he is immensely knowledgeable. The service provided by Abdul is first rate, flexible and we would highly recommend him: I cannot imagine anyone doing a better job.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Wow! An incredible day, incredible city and an incredible guide. We had never been to Marrakech but not only had the city been highly recommended but so had Abdul. Three weeks before our arrival, family had visited and used Abdul for a half day tour. They returned full of high praise and said we should opt for the full day tour. Abdul was efficient, helpful and wonderful to spend time with. We particularly loved the fact he asked us what we could choose to do for the tour. We said we wanted a mixture of culture, food and atmosphere. Not only did he deliver this he excelled!

Abdul is extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the city and his guides. We saw the most incredible buildings and met the most wonderful people. It was like we were walking around in a bubble that you never wanted to burst.

The day set us up perfectly for the rest of our week. The advise never stopped, we asked about restaurants, what else we should go and see, reasonable costs for taxis, where not to go. If you are looking to learn, love and live Marrakech book with Abdul.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“If there were any higher rating available, Abdul would get it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

After a slightly inauspicious start (we gave him the wrong address), Abdul showed himself to be an excellent guide- knowledgeable, interesting to listen to, patient and willing to discuss all the subjects and questions we directed towards him. He had an excellent command of the English language and showed a breadth and depth of knowledge about the city and its past. We ambled around the city seeing and discussing numerous interesting sights and had the opportunity to go to some places we would never have found or tried by ourselves. To be honest it felt more like walking around with a knowledgeable friend than a guide. His relaxed pace and style gave a unique contrast to the hectic pace of the city and I was amazed how we could just stand and chat about something whilst the city buzzed around us.

He will pay attention to where you want to go and where you have already been, give good advice about how to buy and who to buy from (if you ask) and take you to great places to eat and drink, again, according to your needs. Although we had already spent a day looking around Marrakech our full day with Abdul built on that easily and gave us a different perspective. Invaluable. In fact, we dubbed him the Obi-Wan of Marrakech!

P.S. The negative reviews for Marrakech guided day tours do not match our experience at all. In fact, one that looks like it is from a Londoner has very poor use of English and all the other reviews from that reviewer are from the same day with single word comments. They look like false reviews -treat with caution.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ultimate guide for Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Like many other busy towns and cities, there are guides, and there are good guides. A new place to visit can seem worrying or unnerving meaning people miss out of some amazing things. From the very beginning our guide made us feel comfortable and safe offering reassurance and light hearten dialogue.
Historical to geographical, religious to numerous, There was nothing our guide Abdul was not able to express. We were shown food production, riads, markets and restaurants. I particularly liked Abdul's approach offering choices and allowing our family to plan what we wanted to do during the trip, making sure we didn't miss anything. Some guides have told us what we are to do and where we must go, but with Abdul, we were able to spend a day seeing all there was to see, with a smile on our faces and a relaxed yet safe feeling to the day. All the we were promised was delivered from the peace and tranquility that the riad offered, to the satisfaction we got from interacting with the market traders, knowing our guide was not far away if we needed him. I think we asked a hundred questions, all of which received a smile and logical answer. Rarely have I felt so calm and content in such a busy place, thank you so much Abdul for making our families trip so amazing. So in my opinion, if you want to speak to someone who knows all there is about this beautiful town and country, and can help you to see and do all you could wish for...look no further than speaking with the person we had the pleasure of meeting, Abdul.
Thank you so much and "Our hearts remain frozen from all we have seen". (I'm sure he will explain this to you).
Best wishes
Chris and Sue Bricknell-Sproston

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Guided Day Tours also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Guided Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Guided Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.