We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I could imagine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais de l'O

Save Saved
You added Palais de l'O to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palais de l'O
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Route de Fes, Km 12, Douar Oulad Jallal, Commune Oulade Hassoune, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #249 of 1,055 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Better than I could imagine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is 6*
The staff are so pleasant
The rooms are amazing
The service was like I was a king!
Pool is spotless
(Please ignore any negative comments)

We were there for a 3 night break, on arrival had some tea and spot of dinner , the food was great, service lovely, wine great all overlooking the pool area which has been kitted out just perfect . Tbe rooms are decorated in a very sleek stylish way, the maids had done an amazing job every day.
The hotel is located 15 min from the town center but a cab will cost 200d each way but not a bother!!
This hotel is so much better than I expected. All the hotel staff are so welcoming. I would recommend this hotel for couples or a girls weekend, very relaxing place

Thank you to everyone at palais de l o

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    15
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
39
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is amazing. I took hours and hours searching for one to stay in for our 3 night break to Marrakech. I am very picky about where I stay and this isn't always good!

This hotel went above and beyond my expectations. The hotel is very clean, the decor is lovely something that is quite important to me, rooms are decorated lovely with traditional elements mixed in. Each room has a balcony/area which has a seated area etc. and if cushions that have seen better days i.e the sun has bleached them is all there is to worry about then so be it!

The staff are so friendly and really put themselves out and the food is also good with a breakfast including fresh orange juice, fruit, pastries, omelette and pancakes (the mint tea is also amazing!).

The pool area is beautiful with double sun lounger beds and towards the back of the hotel is the spa which is also another lovely area.

For those who are wondering how far it is from the city centre it is about a 15/20 minute drive and you can easily get in and out of the town from this hotel. This hotel is perfect if you want to mix visiting the busy medina with lazing by the pool. Although there were two children at the hotel whilst we stayed, I would say that this is mainly a hotel for adults or children of the age of 14+ as it really is for relaxing and therefore they may get bored! Despite this the staff were happily playing board games with the children which was nice!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in May.
Good hotel, fab pool area. Very clean and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and kind.
It was my boyfriends birthday while we were there. We came home from dinner the evening of his birthday and a lovely surprise…the bedroom was all done up… lit candles everywhere, decorated with petals, flowers and complementary bottle of wine.

Thank you Palais de l'O :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Palais de L'O not quite a dissapointment , but I can see where ashes7 is coming from. Our room did not lock and the cushions on the terrace area had seen much better days !

However from the accomodation outside we were moved inside the hotel itself which was far better in every respect. We found the staff very accomodating to our many requests and the pool area is fabulous

This was a quick break for some winter sun , should this have been our main holiday then we would have felt let down!

It is a shame as this hotel could be fabulous , rooms not locking ( that are outside the hotel and very shabby terrace areas let it down

Food it has to be said is average , and take your French phrase book very little English spoken especially at dinner.

Breakfast and lunch been the best meals ( better to dine out for dinner)

Room Tip: stay in the hotel building itself far nicer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

There is only one word: Exellent!

I stayed there for one week for a golf vacation. The hotel is a little oasis! Beautiful house, rooms and garden including a very nice pool. The service is friendly. A special expirience is the local food at the restaurant. I will for sure come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grevenbroich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for one week early November 2013 in the course of a golf vacation around Marrakech. We enjoyed it very much. The house, the rooms and the gardens are fantastic and well maintained. The food was very good and we appreciated great service from a very friendly staff. Enjoyed their personal touch: they took the time to answer our questions regarding meals, tee, herbs, etc. We hope to get a chance to visit this lovely place again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We choose this hotel as we were looking for a hotel outside the city-centre. But, never again would I spend another night there. A very disappointing stay.

Location:
We drove to the hotel at night (11 p.m.) and found it impossible to find it in the dark. A small, non-lit sign indicates the turn for the hotel from the Route de Fes road. The hotel is located mid-way on a non-lit road bordering on abandoned land. The main gate/door of the hotel is not marked or labelled either.

Contact Information:
We tried calling the hotel for directions but the telephone number for the hotel that prints off from the www.hotels.com booking page is incorrect and was continuously busy.
(Before posting this review, I tried emailing the hotel to address the issues below and my message was returned saying their inbox is full.)

Arrival:
When we finally arrived (thanks to the directions of many road side people and a neighbouring hotel night watch-man), we were ushered in by the night watch-man who showed us to our two rooms after much discussion on a phone as we stood around the grounds waiting.
A short while later, the manager came by with the watch-man to welcome us and offer us some dinner. Though they seemed hesitant at first, they did put together a meal (eggs, some vegetables and bread) for us at the late hour which was much appreciated.

Security:
It all went downhill after that - the door of one of our rooms did not lock. Later we discovered that we were missing our medicine bag in our luggage. As we always confirm we are not leaving anything behind before checking-out, we can only guess that the medicines were stolen from our room. Maybe by housekeeping? Other guests? Who knows as the door to the room did not lock.

Bathroom and AC Issues:
The shower drain was extremely slow in one of the showers so we all had to use the shower in the other room. The next day, the air conditioning started leaking significant amounts of water while on and so we had to shut it off and put a bucket and towels under it. When we alerted the front desk, there was no apology or offer to switch rooms. Luckily, the nights were generally cooler so we didn't need the AC on.

General:
Though updated, the hotel needs a deep cleaning and needs to deal with rust issues throughout. The doors, the mirrors, the faucets, the tubs, the cushions outside, the chairs inside need a steam /deep clean. One the beds smelled like someone had already slept in it. There were spiders and cobwebs on the ceiling. Rust stains marked the cushions, the pool lounge chairs etc.

Checkout:
We checked out the evening before we left and they made an error on our bill. They corrected it when we alerted them, very matter-of-factly, without apology or emotion. Considering we could have kept quiet as the error was in our favour, they could have at least said Thanks!

On the day of our departure, we were told by the reception desk that you will have breakfast ready 6:30 a.m., before leaving at 7 a.m. When we arrived at the dining hall, there was no one there – the place was empty, dark and deserted! I have never experienced such lack of service!

As we were leaving, the manager drove right by us, didn’t even stop to say bye. Some attendant came at almost the end of us loading our luggage to ask if we needed help.

We were only too happy to leave and say good bye to this place!

I can see the appeal of this place - maybe for locals who are looking for a getaway outside the city and know their way around. Maybe the service is better during their "peak season". But the service we received was the worst I have experienced, especially at this price point.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais de l'O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais de l'O

Address: Route de Fes, Km 12, Douar Oulad Jallal, Commune Oulade Hassoune, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 1,055 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais de l'O 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Palais de l'O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais de l'O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.