We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palais de l'O

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palais de l'O to your Saves list
Palais de l'O
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Route de Fes, Km 12, Douar Oulad Jallal, Commune Oulade Hassoune, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We choose this hotel as we were looking for a hotel outside the city-centre. But, never again would I spend another night there. A very disappointing stay.

Location:
We drove to the hotel at night (11 p.m.) and found it impossible to find it in the dark. A small, non-lit sign indicates the turn for the hotel from the Route de Fes road. The hotel is located mid-way on a non-lit road bordering on abandoned land. The main gate/door of the hotel is not marked or labelled either.

Contact Information:
We tried calling the hotel for directions but the telephone number for the hotel that prints off from the www.hotels.com booking page is incorrect and was continuously busy.
(Before posting this review, I tried emailing the hotel to address the issues below and my message was returned saying their inbox is full.)

Arrival:
When we finally arrived (thanks to the directions of many road side people and a neighbouring hotel night watch-man), we were ushered in by the night watch-man who showed us to our two rooms after much discussion on a phone as we stood around the grounds waiting.
A short while later, the manager came by with the watch-man to welcome us and offer us some dinner. Though they seemed hesitant at first, they did put together a meal (eggs, some vegetables and bread) for us at the late hour which was much appreciated.

Security:
It all went downhill after that - the door of one of our rooms did not lock. Later we discovered that we were missing our medicine bag in our luggage. As we always confirm we are not leaving anything behind before checking-out, we can only guess that the medicines were stolen from our room. Maybe by housekeeping? Other guests? Who knows as the door to the room did not lock.

Bathroom and AC Issues:
The shower drain was extremely slow in one of the showers so we all had to use the shower in the other room. The next day, the air conditioning started leaking significant amounts of water while on and so we had to shut it off and put a bucket and towels under it. When we alerted the front desk, there was no apology or offer to switch rooms. Luckily, the nights were generally cooler so we didn't need the AC on.

General:
Though updated, the hotel needs a deep cleaning and needs to deal with rust issues throughout. The doors, the mirrors, the faucets, the tubs, the cushions outside, the chairs inside need a steam /deep clean. One the beds smelled like someone had already slept in it. There were spiders and cobwebs on the ceiling. Rust stains marked the cushions, the pool lounge chairs etc.

Checkout:
We checked out the evening before we left and they made an error on our bill. They corrected it when we alerted them, very matter-of-factly, without apology or emotion. Considering we could have kept quiet as the error was in our favour, they could have at least said Thanks!

On the day of our departure, we were told by the reception desk that you will have breakfast ready 6:30 a.m., before leaving at 7 a.m. When we arrived at the dining hall, there was no one there – the place was empty, dark and deserted! I have never experienced such lack of service!

As we were leaving, the manager drove right by us, didn’t even stop to say bye. Some attendant came at almost the end of us loading our luggage to ask if we needed help.

We were only too happy to leave and say good bye to this place!

I can see the appeal of this place - maybe for locals who are looking for a getaway outside the city and know their way around. Maybe the service is better during their "peak season". But the service we received was the worst I have experienced, especially at this price point.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    17
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
43
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had booked a week at the Palais D'Lo. We hadn't been to Marrakech before so didn't really know what to expect. The hotel was a little oasis. Beautiful rooms and attentive staff. The pool area is fabulous! The taxi to the Medina is about 400 dirhams there and back which is the only criticism - its about a 20 minute drive into the centre. The staff will arrange the taxi though and even give you a local mobile phone to use for the duration of the stay. Never usually leave reviews but this was a great trip! Great value for money too.

Room Tip: Ask for the villa rooms! There were four of us so we got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just come back from a marvellous stay at the Palais de l'O, booked through Voyage Privée - it was absolutely incredible and perfect for relaxation - just what the doctor ordered!

We spent a few days in a fantastic Riad in the heart of the city (Riad Tamarrakecht) before coming here and it was absolutely the best decision because we got the best of both worlds and got to experience inner Marrakech. Once you're here, you don't really want to leave! You can easily spend all your days relaxing by the pool or in the hotel's spa and beautiful gardens.

Although it's a 20-30 minute drive from the centre, it's in a quite, rural area so there's not much to see within walking distance. If I could make one suggestion it would be that the hotel gave better directions and had much better signage. On our way to Palais de l'O we spent an hour and half lost driving around the rural back "roads" of Marrakech for a ride that should have taken 20 minutes! We found it in the end but it would have been helped with much clearer directions and signage. This wouldn't be a problem if you used their airport transfer service but was a problem if coming from anywhere else in Marrakech as no one seemed to know where it was.

Once we got there though the nightmare journey was worth it. The hotel is so beautiful, peaceful and quiet. The staff are incredible - very discreet but also helpful, attentive and friendly. One particular staff member, Abderahmane, was absolutely amazing! He made our trip so memorable and special by being so friendly and going above and beyond. I told him it was my mum's birthday and I wanted to do something special and he personally went into Marrakech to find a cake for her, then helped me surprise her and sing Happy Birthday. We were both so touched and it was really special and memorable.

Breakfast is wonderful, incredibly varied and filling - easily counts as lunch as well. The hotel grounds are also so beautiful. We really needed to relax and found the perfect place to do so. We enjoyed our time here so much and wouldn't hesitate to come back or recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel was maravelous! It was an authentic Paradise, the romos are beautiful and amazing, the pool was so quiet and peaceful i had a great time in the pool, the service was excelent and the spa was relaxing and perfect. I will come back to this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: All of the romos seemed to be perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed for 3 nights in Marrakech Medina followed by 3 nights at Palais de l'O. As it was early July it was incredibly hot and just what we needed after sightseeing and haggling in the souks of the hectic Medina!

Palais de l'O is just beautiful, a very relaxed vibe with great service, fantastic food, and the rooms and gardens were just immaculate. As regular visitors to Marrakech this was our first stay outside of the Medina and we didn't move from the gorgeous pool from the day we arrived until we left to go back to the airport!

We booked through Discerning Collection in the UK, they recommended this hotel and arranged everything including our flights and transfers seamlessly, they were spot on with this hotel and it was exactly what we needed - utter relaxation and pampering! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am also a little loathe to write a review on this hotel as I would love to keep it a secret. This hotel has the ambience of a private house. The staff are excellently managed by the delightful Manager, Tariq, and are superbly discreet, so much so, that you feel that you are alone in the place, but they are there on tap when you should want something.
The room was faultless, and spotlessly cleaned everyday. We marvelled at how many different
" arrangements" they found for our night clothes every day!
Evening time, someone will have been in to turn down the beds and light the room for you and put the air con on. There were lovely welcoming touches like fresh flowers, petals strewn, a good merlot and a fruit basket and selection of local dates / sweets. Everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel.
They even brought out a birthday cake for my friend on our first night as it had been her birthday just three days before we flew out.
Food was wonderful, and plentiful too. Menu was the same for lunch, differed for evening meal, but was repeated for the week. Not a problem as there was enough choice to have something different every day. The 5 course breakfasts kept us going into the mid afternoon and we ate late in the evening in the gardens. One noisy frog was a subject for many conversations! This is the place you come to wind down and re-charge. We spoke in whispers when we first arrived as it just as that vibe about it.
A driver is on hand if you want to go anywhere, and the hotel give you your own mobile phone to contact him and reception.
There is a spa here as well which is worth a bash, especially the hammam for the paper pants alone!
The bill was settled at the end of the stay and was spot on. You are not asked your name or room number at any time.
I really could not have expected anything better from this trip and the Palais will be my return house of choice for the future for when batteries need re-charging.
Refined elegance out of the bustle of Marrakech.
Ideal :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

As a regular visitor to Marrakesh, I was disappointed to find my usual haunts fully booked, and concerned at 'relegation' to a small boutique hotel on the outskirts of the city. How wrong I was, and how lucky to discover the discreet joys of the Palais de L'O. This is a beautiful hotel in every sense - setting, rooms, décor, facilities, service - are all offered with discreet elegance, grace and charm. The staff are wonderfully helpful, and equally wonderfully unobtrusive. The atmosphere is serene and the distance from Marrakesh is in reality short (just a 20 minute drive) but feels a million miles away from the noise and crowds. Daytimes are spent on comfortable loungers by the quiet poolside, with the scent of roses and lavenders, being pampered in the small but well equipped spa or enjoying, at any time of day, the freshest of foods prepared exactly to your order. At night, it's a pleasure to return to a place that becomes a personal oasis. An unforgettable few days and now my number one choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais de l'O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais de l'O

Address: Route de Fes, Km 12, Douar Oulad Jallal, Commune Oulade Hassoune, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais de l'O 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your Palais de l'O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais de l'O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.