We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais de l'O

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palais de l'O to your Saves list
Palais de l'O
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Route de Fes, Km 12, Douar Oulad Jallal, Commune Oulade Hassoune, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Absolute Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just come back from a marvellous stay at the Palais de l'O, booked through Voyage Privée - it was absolutely incredible and perfect for relaxation - just what the doctor ordered!

We spent a few days in a fantastic Riad in the heart of the city (Riad Tamarrakecht) before coming here and it was absolutely the best decision because we got the best of both worlds and got to experience inner Marrakech. Once you're here, you don't really want to leave! You can easily spend all your days relaxing by the pool or in the hotel's spa and beautiful gardens.

Although it's a 20-30 minute drive from the centre, it's in a quite, rural area so there's not much to see within walking distance. If I could make one suggestion it would be that the hotel gave better directions and had much better signage. On our way to Palais de l'O we spent an hour and half lost driving around the rural back "roads" of Marrakech for a ride that should have taken 20 minutes! We found it in the end but it would have been helped with much clearer directions and signage. This wouldn't be a problem if you used their airport transfer service but was a problem if coming from anywhere else in Marrakech as no one seemed to know where it was.

Once we got there though the nightmare journey was worth it. The hotel is so beautiful, peaceful and quiet. The staff are incredible - very discreet but also helpful, attentive and friendly. One particular staff member, Abderahmane, was absolutely amazing! He made our trip so memorable and special by being so friendly and going above and beyond. I told him it was my mum's birthday and I wanted to do something special and he personally went into Marrakech to find a cake for her, then helped me surprise her and sing Happy Birthday. We were both so touched and it was really special and memorable.

Breakfast is wonderful, incredibly varied and filling - easily counts as lunch as well. The hotel grounds are also so beautiful. We really needed to relax and found the perfect place to do so. We enjoyed our time here so much and wouldn't hesitate to come back or recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    17
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
43
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York Mills, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel was maravelous! It was an authentic Paradise, the romos are beautiful and amazing, the pool was so quiet and peaceful i had a great time in the pool, the service was excelent and the spa was relaxing and perfect. I will come back to this hotel for sure.

Room Tip: All of the romos seemed to be perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed for 3 nights in Marrakech Medina followed by 3 nights at Palais de l'O. As it was early July it was incredibly hot and just what we needed after sightseeing and haggling in the souks of the hectic Medina!

Palais de l'O is just beautiful, a very relaxed vibe with great service, fantastic food, and the rooms and gardens were just immaculate. As regular visitors to Marrakech this was our first stay outside of the Medina and we didn't move from the gorgeous pool from the day we arrived until we left to go back to the airport!

We booked through Discerning Collection in the UK, they recommended this hotel and arranged everything including our flights and transfers seamlessly, they were spot on with this hotel and it was exactly what we needed - utter relaxation and pampering! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am also a little loathe to write a review on this hotel as I would love to keep it a secret. This hotel has the ambience of a private house. The staff are excellently managed by the delightful Manager, Tariq, and are superbly discreet, so much so, that you feel that you are alone in the place, but they are there on tap when you should want something.
The room was faultless, and spotlessly cleaned everyday. We marvelled at how many different
" arrangements" they found for our night clothes every day!
Evening time, someone will have been in to turn down the beds and light the room for you and put the air con on. There were lovely welcoming touches like fresh flowers, petals strewn, a good merlot and a fruit basket and selection of local dates / sweets. Everything you would expect from a 5 star hotel.
They even brought out a birthday cake for my friend on our first night as it had been her birthday just three days before we flew out.
Food was wonderful, and plentiful too. Menu was the same for lunch, differed for evening meal, but was repeated for the week. Not a problem as there was enough choice to have something different every day. The 5 course breakfasts kept us going into the mid afternoon and we ate late in the evening in the gardens. One noisy frog was a subject for many conversations! This is the place you come to wind down and re-charge. We spoke in whispers when we first arrived as it just as that vibe about it.
A driver is on hand if you want to go anywhere, and the hotel give you your own mobile phone to contact him and reception.
There is a spa here as well which is worth a bash, especially the hammam for the paper pants alone!
The bill was settled at the end of the stay and was spot on. You are not asked your name or room number at any time.
I really could not have expected anything better from this trip and the Palais will be my return house of choice for the future for when batteries need re-charging.
Refined elegance out of the bustle of Marrakech.
Ideal :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

As a regular visitor to Marrakesh, I was disappointed to find my usual haunts fully booked, and concerned at 'relegation' to a small boutique hotel on the outskirts of the city. How wrong I was, and how lucky to discover the discreet joys of the Palais de L'O. This is a beautiful hotel in every sense - setting, rooms, décor, facilities, service - are all offered with discreet elegance, grace and charm. The staff are wonderfully helpful, and equally wonderfully unobtrusive. The atmosphere is serene and the distance from Marrakesh is in reality short (just a 20 minute drive) but feels a million miles away from the noise and crowds. Daytimes are spent on comfortable loungers by the quiet poolside, with the scent of roses and lavenders, being pampered in the small but well equipped spa or enjoying, at any time of day, the freshest of foods prepared exactly to your order. At night, it's a pleasure to return to a place that becomes a personal oasis. An unforgettable few days and now my number one choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My 3 friends and I stayed at the Palais De L'O at the end of April 2013, the purpose of trip was to come away from the stress of work, re-charge the batteries, totally chill out, and soak up the sun. All criteria met due to the fantastic stay at this hotel. From the minute we were picked up at the airport to leaving, all our needs were catered for. On arriving at the hotel, pleasantly surprised by given a free upgrade to fabulous inter connecting rooms - felt more like a luxury apartment than hotel rooms. The stay just got better and better from that moment. We had a lovely lounge and huge balcony overlooking the pool and gardens. The bedrooms and bathrooms clean and decent size. The attention to detail amazing, beautiful individual furnishings added that extra touch of luxury. The surroundings very tranquil- felt like you were a million miles from the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh. Days were spent lazing around the pool and pampering in the sauna and steam rooms. Evenings 15 minute drive into Marrakesh, for 20 Euros we were dropped off and picked up at whatever time suited us. Special mention of all the staff, who were first class - very attentive and nothing was too much for them, from preparing the rather dubious cocktails that we requested, asking for food that was not on the menu, recommending some great restaurants, arranging transport to anywhere we wanted to go - the list is endless. Wonderful staff - so leave a big tip! This was my 3rd trip to Marrakesh and when I go back again, without hesitation would stay at the Palais De L'O again - I was tempted not to write a review since I wanted to keep this hidden treasure all to myself!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridderkerk, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at hotel Palais de L’Ô at the end of April 2013. That was an amazing experience, perhaps the best hotel experience I have ever had. The location of this hotel is at 12 km from Marrakech. The rooms are comfortabel as they all face the beautiful garden and/or swimming pool. The rooms are large and clean, equipped with a/c, tv, free Wi-Fi. The hotel looks brand new, in fact full renovated, with a recent opened beautiful Spa as well. That is also to see in the garden which is fully grown with large palm trees. But I think the best attribute of this hotel is the staff. You really feel so welcome, as if you belong to the family. They are so nice and polite, especially the young lady at the front desk with the huge smile. The included breakfast is exceptional! They bring your breakfast table to the side of the swimming pool. You feel yourselves a millionaire.. Such a rich breakfast, that you can easily pass on lunch and go straight to dinner. The poolside area is also beautiful and quiet. Overall this is quite a relaxing place, it’s like an escape to paradise, and all that is very reasonably priced. If you are a party animal, please try something else. Having this hotel as your basis you could definitely explore the entire Marrakech onde day and relax the other day etc.So for this purpose is it perfectly located. I promised to myself that I will be coming back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais de l'O? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais de l'O

Address: Route de Fes, Km 12, Douar Oulad Jallal, Commune Oulade Hassoune, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palais de l'O 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Tingo so you can book your Palais de l'O reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais de l'O, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.