We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Pourpre Medina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Pourpre Medina to your Saves list
Riad Pourpre Medina
118, Derb Baba Ali | El Moukef, Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Riad was perfect for our trip. Thierry really goes out of his way to make his guests comfortable.

The Riad is very nice, clean and tastefully decorated. All the staff are pleasant and helpful.

Really recommend staying here whenever you're in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went to Marrakech for four days and stayed at this riad. Its a really well maintained property. Although the approach street initially put us off, once you enter the riad, its very nice clean and serene. The terrace on top is amazing at night and perfect for a sit out dinner.

The manager Thierry was extremely helpful along with the entire staff. Really enjoyed the stay here and would recommend to anyone who is thinking of going to Marrakech, certainly much better than staying in a box standard hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are very good with straight access to the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

As first time travellers to Marrakech, our heart sank a bit as we approached the non-descript entrance to the riad. However, that feeling was fleeting as the doors opened to a tastefully decorated courtyard with a water feature, comfortable seating and friendly staff. Thierry, the manager, sat down with us and helped explain the layout of Marrakech and the medina, suggested places to visit and restaurants. He was very helpful in the weeks leading up to our stay and while we were there. Note: Thierry does not speak English; he is from Paris.

We had booked seven days which meant that we received a free dinner. It was one of the best and most romantic dinners we had during our entire stay there. Rose petals adorned the table and the food was delicious.

A wonderful experience. Gay friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room the first two night (ground level) but upgraded to a larger room over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Marrakesh. We decided to stay at Riad Pourpre Medina after having read great reviews about the place and its staff. We were not dissappointed. The Riad is beautiful, nicely decorated, very clean and well located in the Medina. We Got a great reception from Thierry when we arrived at the Riad. He gave us a lot of information and ideas reg Marrakesh. He speaks very well English, which was helpful to us since we didnt know French or Arabic.

The only downside was that the Wifi didnt work on the 3rd floor where our room was. But it worked very well in the chillout area from where You could smell amazing cakes that were being baked by one of the staff in the kitchen.

We highly recommend Riad Pourpre. It's just great!

Thank you Thierry and staff for making our stay in Marrakesh lovely and memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Pourpre Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Pourpre Medina

Address: 118, Derb Baba Ali | El Moukef, Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Budget Places and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Pourpre Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Pourpre Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.