We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service Convenient Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa

Save Saved
You added Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mejjat 3/38 Cercle Ennakhil, Commune J'Nanate - BP 7272 | Sidi Abbad, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Service Convenient Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I just stayed at Mosaic Palais Aziza while in Marrakesh for a work conference. The hotel services were top notch and very professional. Food was great and everyone was really professional. The only small issue was wi-fi was somewhat weak but the management corrected this right away and brough a wifi router to our room! Its a quick 15 minute drive into the Medina from the hotel which makes this a great location for being relaxed away from the noise of the old city. Oh and I had an amazing hammam service here as well! Highly recommend. Enjoy! Elan

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    26
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
94
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a good hotel. I had emailed in advance and we were met on arrival at the airport by Rashid who immediately made us feel at ease. The 30 minute drive from the airport on a Friday evening in the hotel's comfortable minivan made a big difference to how we felt when we arrived at the hotel - we were greeted on arrival with cold drinks, signed in quickly, and shown to our ground floor room just off the main block. A table was reserved for dinner and we had an hour to freshen up. The arrival transfer was complimentary, which really did take some of the hassle out of arriving.

The room was a decent size, and very nicely decorated. Bathroom also a good size. Big shower, no bath, toilet, bidet, but all clean, and the biggest, fluffiest towels I've seen in a hotel for a good while.

Our room was just off the main block - a ground floor room with a walled seating area outside. This meant it was private but didn't get much sun, and didn't have a view. We didn't use it, but that was just the way it was. Perhaps a veranda/patio or balcony we would have used, but we didn't feel particularly that we missed out.

The hotel is very tastefully (in my opinion) decorated, with funky light fittings, and a colour scheme/fittings/carpets/pictures that make you feel as if you actually are in North Africa, although obviously in a well-heeled resort. The ceiling in the foyer was particularly impressive, as is the fresh citrus smell throughout the main block. The water feature in the foyer is cute.

Walking though the foyer into the pool area in the dark was a wonderful welcome -the pool was lit up, and there were candles and tasteful lights to bring just the right atmosphere.

To the left of the pool is the daytime cafe, straight ahead the pool bar, and to the right were the two lounges and the restaurant. We were welcomed into the bar with smiles and had aperitifs at the bar while we waited for a table. The staff were all welcoming and friendly. Smiley, in fact.

It was coolish, but not cold in the bar (as the doorway into the bar is open, through a very cool wooden door out of which judas doors have been cut). (Some of the steps into and out of buildings would have UK health and safety freaking out, but luckily here there is almost always a staff member to point out potential hazards out to you... It adds to the charm)

We had a fairly simple dinner (chicken tagine was simple and very tasty) and a bottle of Moroccan wine. Not particularly cheap, but about right for this class of hotel - we certainly didn't feel ripped off. A couple of nice service touches we noted - a foot stool was provided for my wife's handbag; our drinks were filled frequently, but not intrusively; everyone seemed ready with a smile.

A couple of drinks and then off to (the VERY comfortable) bed.

Shutters on the doors to the patio meant that we slept through our alarm (it's dark in Palmeraie anyway, but the shutters make the room pitch black), but we made it for breakfast with 20minutes to spare. Breakfast was good. Plenty of sweet pastries and fruit. Good strong coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, and a choice of eggs, as well as cheese, ham etc. Not an American style breakfast as such, but a good comprehensive offering, and once again, very attentive, friendly service.

The pool area is really lovely. For a hotel that appears to have been recently built, the trees around the pool are mature enough to provide real shade. The loungers were comfy, and the staff again very helpful. Pools themselves: the larger is unseated, and so fresh, but not freezing. The smaller is a very comfortable temperature.

The hotel didn't seem to be full, but by lunchtime most of the 30-40 loungers had been taken. Plenty of space, though. A few kids were playing, but not enough to be annoying (as per a previous review) and the whole atmosphere was really relaxed and informal. Sometimes it is difficult to find a hotel/resort which is not a Butlins (sorry non-UK readers) holiday camp, or a place where you feel you need to whisper. This was spot on.

Lunch at the pool cafe was also good, and as mentioned somewhere else, during a quiet time at the spa the staff from there did come round the pool area to offer a five minute face massage (complimentary).

Dinner again was excellent, although the restaurant/bar was almost deserted by about 10pm on Saturday night, which was a shame.

Following breakfast the next day we took the complimentary land rover shuttle into the centre of town. As noted, the shuttle drops you, not at the Medina, but near to the post office in the new town. I suspect that if you asked a few more questions at reception than we did they could make some recommendations about what to see/visit there. We walked up to the medina, however, which was a ten/fifteen minute walk, to the mosque, and from there across to Place Jamaa El Fna.

From here you can dive straight into the Souk, where, like everyone else, we got lost. When we were ready to leave, though, the map from our hotel reception meant we could agree a reasonable price in a taxi back to the hotel, and this really is only a ten, fifteen minute drive.

Check out was smooth - a minor disagreement on what had been taken from the mini bar was quickly and amicably resolved.

Two minor points that I feel could have been improved upon:

1. No one pointed out where the gym/sauna were. It would have been helpful had this happened
2. The return transfer is not complimentary. I think it would set expectations better had this been more explicitly communicated. Having said that, the hotel ordered a taxi efficiently and we didn't feel overcharged (which isn't to say that we weren't... )

All in all, this is a magnificent hotel for a short break from the winter cold and rain. With a three and a half hour flight time from London, an easy transfer and a warm welcome,it was a great experience. Although you are not in the centre of marrakech, and arguably do not get a 'full on' taste of Morocco unless you leave the hotel, the hotel is staffed and decorated in a way that makes it feel distinctly North African, as opposed to an international resort hotel.

I would recommend this hotel highly. We certainly enjoyed our stay and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Higher rooms will have a better outdoor area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Mr Lash and I were attracted to this hotel due to it's Child Unfriendly policy. The wee blighters have to pay their way. No free juice for Andy and Jenny here. It tends to put children off travelling, when they are expected to pay for their room.

There were indeed no children in the pool, just some very fat ladies - which totes cheered me up. I do enjoy being the thinnest one there! And a big Russian man who's burd kept telling him off for smiling at me.

Karim, who runs the restaurant and bar and maybe the whole joint, is possibly the nicest Moroccan man on the planet. And a lot of them are quite friendly. Karim made us the perfect martinis, after only one lesson from Mr Lash! Always cheerful, but never aggressively so, he knocked himself out coming up with a spicy breakfast for Mr Lash who chows like a Chinese man even when he's in Africa.

Most of the staff were lovely, but there was this dude who introduced himself as the Manager and kept saying, 'We have exceeded your expectations'. This first came up when we were offered a complimentary trip to the spa, then given a bill for Mr Lash's treatment.

Mr Lash pointed out how odd it would be if only one guest were given a Welcome Drink, while the other half of the couple paid for his. The fee for Mr Lash's massage was waived, but we were warned - not for the first time - that they had 'Exceeded our Expectations'.

Driving to the medina was the next time our expectations were exceeded. The hotel's driver said he'd normally dump us 'over there' - Over There being the side of the motorway - but he would Exceed our Expectations by actually driving us to the Medina! Mr Lash explained that this was our expectation.

The Housekeeper was yacking to the maid while she was cleaning my bathroom while I tried to read on my private terrace. I had to play David Cassidy rather loud to persuade her to leave! Always travel with some bad music on your ipod is my advice.

We did enjoy our stay at the Mosaic Palais, but the only thing that really exceeded expectation was that Karim managed to make the perfect martini after only one lesson. Bartenders around the world are not as gracious in accepting Mr Lash's advice, and stubbornly insist on putting in too much Vermouth.

Room Tip: Upstairs unless you like geckos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOSAIC P, PA to General Manager & Communication Coordinator at Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your review following your recent stay at Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa Marrakech.

We assure you that we welcome all guest’s comments and complaints which we discuss and analyze with the respectives departments in order to improve service provided to our valued guests. Actually, we believe that every and each guest’s comment or complaint is an opportunity for us to improve.

With regards to your comment about "child unfriendly policy", sincerely we did not understand the reason why you did mention this particularly that you stayed with us without kids. However, we would like to highlight that we do not have such policy. On the contrary, we have had kids staying at our hotels with their families and they are most welcome at any time. Of course, this in the context of a small boutique hotel and not a mega family resort in a beach city which anyhow, we are not.

On a seperate note, thank you for your positive comments about our staff whom you found lovely and your great comment as well about our colleague at the bar, Karim which we have already shared with him.

As per House keeping service, it is worth mentioning that we have put at our guest’s diposal a "do not disturb signs" which can be used if they don’t want to be disturbed by the house keeping team.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future. We will do our best to make your next stay with us a memorable one.


Your sincerely,


Khadija Doofi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Located just a 15 minute complimentary drive in a new land rover from the centre of the city, this hotel really is a palace in the oasis of La Palmerie. When we arrived we were welcomed with cold towels and fresh orange juice and that was before we had checked in. The hotel itself is beautiful, no detail has gone unattended and the same can be said for the staff. We were kindly upgraded to a villa in the grounds and it was just perfect. The design would impress the hippest of travellers and the level of house keeping, the most discerning.

The food is simple but cooked with skill from the freshest ingredients. Don't leave without having their special shoulder of lamb.

Finally the staff are among the best I have ever come across, understated, kind and witty without being over the top. Nothing was too much trouble . The manager suggested several meals for us, taking care of wine (good value, and when does that happen?) and food choices, and we loved everything.The whole feel of the place is that of a hip house party. We went with our kids (13 & 6) and they loved the calm atmosphere as much as we did. We took advantage of one of their guided tours of the city which was brilliant and made the madness of Marrakech fun and not a hassle. The spa is top notch and we were even offered a complimentary massage beside the pool.

I would go back again in a hearbeat, I hope it's as quiet and lovely when we return. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms are beautiful. For a family a villa has so much space, we had a sumptuous bedroom while th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Mosiac for 3 nights at the end of September and were very impressed with the whole hotel and its staff. Our room, top floor, had a beautiful balcony overlooking the pool and the most comfortable bed, large bathroom with lovely hand made soaps. I would say the only downside was that we were over charged for a few nuts that were in the room. It appeared the fruit and nuts were complimentary but be careful, they were not! We were a bit shocked to see them on the bill at the end of the stay! Apart from this one very small blip, we would go back and recommend anyone who wants a peaceful relaxing hotel to stay here. Breakfasts were good as were the lunches, didn't try the evening meal, but will do so next time.

Room Tip: go for an upstairs room as you will have more privacy than the ground floor ones, which people can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOSAIC P, PA to General Manager & Communication Coordinator at Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us your positive review about your stay at Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa!

We are glad that you enjoyed your room and the food as well.

As per the nuts, we do apologize for the confusion but actually the nuts in a sealed glass jar, are listed and priced on the mini bar list placed on top of the mini bar. However, other aminities such as fresh fruits are complimentary for all our guests.

Thank you again for recommending our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Khadija Doofi
PA to General Manager
& Communication Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

With so many good hotels to choose from in Marrakesh, the Mosaic is an exceptional experience. At the beautifully appointed property away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Marrakesh, there is a more intimate and relaxed feeling than in many luxurious, five-star hotels. Each guest is made to feel special, with staff remembering names and providing a quality of service that is rare. Senior management of the hotel were always around, making sure everything was running smoothly and making sure guests were happy. I got the sense that management has created a positive team environment and that hotel staff genuinely enjoy their jobs.

The beautiful hotel is well-maintained and if something needs attending to, it happens right away. You never have to ask for something more than once.

While the food is creative and, for the most part, delicious, a little more variety would be welcome, especially if you are there for a few days and don't leave the hotel for meals. But the bar and restaurant staff were enthusiastic for feedback and create such a welcoming environment to enjoy lingering meals on the patio.

One of the best hotel experiences I've had in long time, and a great place to relax, unwind and feel pampered.

Room Tip: suites on the ground floor have less private terraces than upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Experience the exceptional service and attention to detail from the moment you arrive at this oasis nestled in the Palmarie in Marrakech. You are greeted immediately with the signature orange juice and cinnamon and an exceptionally well trained and coordinated team at the hotel. Each item in the hotel has been carefully selected and tastefully placed; from the intricate mouldings to the elaborate Moroccan lamps.

While not hovering, the staff anticipate your every need and are exceptionally friendly and efficient. They do the small touches very well. Petals on the bed, towels on the chaise lounges, and small talk by the management all add to the easiness into which we fell. The staff treat each guest like the only guest, remembering your name and details.

The spa treats are not expensive and are worthwhile. The gym is underused but well equipped, with towels, water, in a clean and inviting atrium like atmosphere. The various dining locations break up the monotony of always eating in the same place (though the menu could have more options), and the staff are very helpful in arranging day trips to the old city.

The food is creatively designed and presented with artistic flair. The bar and lounge lend to the easy nature of the place, but are immaculate and precisely detailed.

We would enthusiastically recommend the Mosaic to anyone wanting to truly get away and recharge.

Room Tip: There are a variety of single rooms, suites, and bungalows. You may not want a suite on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa

Address: Mejjat 3/38 Cercle Ennakhil, Commune J'Nanate - BP 7272 | Sidi Abbad, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently close to the beating heart of the imperial city, Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa, discreetly nestled away in the heart of a green oasis located in the most exclusive recess of Marrakech’s palm Grove “La Palmeraie”, it is an elegant and serene haven of luxury and simplicity.This five star deluxe boutique hotel offers richly appointed guest rooms, suites, pavilions and garden villas tucked away in 5 acres of lush gardens planted with fruit and palm trees and lined with flower beds tastefully laid out around patios and pools. Harmoniously blending traditional Moroccan architecture with state of the art amenities, attentive service and outstanding facilities created to seduce the discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.