We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The world's darkest hotel room?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Marrakech

Save Saved
You added The Pearl Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pearl Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Avenue Echouhada et Rue du Temple, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The world's darkest hotel room?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

There is nothing intrinsically wrong with this hotel (it changed from the Delano to the Pearl half way through my stay) at all, but, as a matter of taste it just wasn't my style.

The main thing was just how incredibly dark the bedroom was - even with all the lights on, the bathroom door open to let light in from there, and the main window's curtains fully open, it was still as if it was 11pm at night during the day. So much so that I had trouble packing on my last night and could only really answer emails sitting in the bathroom.

I was part of a large group at a conference and it became a standing joke just how dark the rooms were.

Breakfast was perfectly adequate but not stand out.

Everyone said the roof top terrace was amazing but I didn't have time to go up there

On the plus side the staff were really, really lovely.

Position-wise it was 5/10 minutes in a cab to the medina (50 Dirhams - yes probably tourist price but at £3.50 I wasn't going to complain)

Would I stay here again? Very probably no.
Would I recommend it to others? It would really depend on their taste in decor and if they like (very very) dark hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Take a torch / flashlight!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    42
    17
    18
    5
See reviews for
12
68
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We did not stay at The Pearl but used the swimming pool facilities. The Hotel is lovely, staff were friendly which is why returned after our first visit a few days earlier, to use the swimming pool. There was a miss understanding and we were not aware of the fee associated with using the pool, unfortunately the Manager was not very helpful in clearing up the issue, raising it in front of all the restaurant guests and over all, making my friend and I out as to be petty thieves. Besides the unpleasant altercation everything else was lovely. Please take the time to confirm prices to use pools at Hotels, even if you are told there is none. Would still recommend the facilities here, just lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira, Portugal
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Delano is hype, and it's fun to stay here if you want to be close to the city center.
Beautiful, stylish lobby. Efficient front desk staff. Helpful bell boys. Very nice and friendly waitresses and femmes de chambre. We felt at ease here when we are talking about services and food. Breakfast is exceptional and superb - until 11 in the morning, bravo!
The negative points are:
VERY thin walls. You can hear every word if your room neighbour is talking or watching television. That is very unpleasant for people who like to have privacy and peace, and therefore I would not go back to stay at this hotel. If you want or need to get a good sleep, you can forget about that here as there are 10 doors smashing in the late evenings as well as early mornings. No chance to get a decent sleep...
The second detail which I did not like at all was the illumination of the rooms. There are THREE lamps only, that is absolutely ridiculous. It is IMPOSSIBLE to read a book in your room, or to see what is on your room service tray. In those room it is just DARK. If you need to pack your suitcase in the evening, you can not even see how and what you pack. We asked for 2 extra lamps, but they did not change much. The walls are dark. Carpets are dark. Curtains are dark. If the sun is not shining into your room, you just feel uncomfortable because it is dark. What did this interior decorator think when he created the Delano rooms?
Except those 2 details (which are important to me) we liked the Delano. It is a good hotel, and you get a lot for what you pay. If the rooms were not so dark, and if the walls were thicker, I would come back here with great pleasure. It is a hotel which is different to the normal thing...
Bathrooms, by the way, are excellent, and the rooftop pool is great fun!

Room Tip: Opt for a room that faces Royal Mansour or La Mamounia, on a floor high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Writing about this restaurant as no listing on its own
food took 1 hour to come but a stunning roof venue
what can i say but the staff wre lazy and it has just changed management
but i went to see the new GM and he promised me better for when i return in November but qualkity was great for food service will get better this new guy know what it needs so pls try it after 1 month whilst he sorts it out

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Delano is a lovely hotel. Good location. Nice staff. I would say service was mixed. Like the service was very slow, You ordered a drink and it would take 30 mins to come but we kind of expected it from reading earlier reviews. Other things like the pool boy did not really help you at the pool area with towels and moving umbrellas. The Italian restaurant was meant to be from a Michelin chef but it was only average. Still a very nice hotel which I would recommend if you want something luxurious but cannot afford la mamouna.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I had a very similar experience to the review from another guest. The service at the Delano was terrible. For every request we made, the staff would say yes, but then nothing would be delivered. We had a similar experience with the check out process where they charged the full rate, even though I paid a deposit.
This hotel is not at all up to the Delano standard, that I have experienced in Miami.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I fully agree with the reviews that describe this beautiful hotel however having stayed at a local Riyad in the Medina i was very disappointed with the service at this fine hotel.
We attended a wedding at the Selman Hotel most of the guests stayed at the Delano. They were not prepared to handle a large group. Every other guest requested an iron with an ironing board we had to wait for 4 hours as soon as we arrived still no luck... we were so frustrated we spoke to the front desk manager Sarah who finally got our clothes pressed for us. The next three days was a battle every day to get the iron. The service was very slow the concierge was extremely rude and every time they arranged a taxi it included a commission for the door man.
The day we checked out it took us 3 hours to settle the bill because they did not understand that there was a deposit made prior to our arrival.Ten other guests went through the same ordeal. It was horrible:(( One of our good friends took 3 hours in the morning just like we did to finalize his bill, we left our suitcases with them until flight time at night. As we approached the front desk to pick up our bags they would not release my friend's bags stating he had not paid his bill!! The poor guy had to hunt for his receipts to prove otherwise not to mention the insult! The fact that we had to go through everything all over again made us late to the airport where we almost did not get on the flight! NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pearl Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Marrakech

Address: Angle Avenue Echouhada et Rue du Temple, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pearl Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of a vibrant and magical city, The Pearl Marrakech exudes the mystery and exoticism of another world. This is the ultimate escape, a cool haven of discovery and pleasure. Whether seeking an engaging nightlife scene, renowned fine dining or a day of spa relaxation, The Pearl Marrakech is a luxurious experience, evoking a sophisticated, chic ambiance with discreet and effortless service. Designed by the acclaimed Jacques Garcia, its opulent interior blends precious marbles with sumptuous velvet and other rare textiles, creating an intimate atmosphere with a modern edge. Ceilings in the lobby are hand-carved wood, and a central rotunda is surrounded by an intricately patterned Moroccan design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Pearl Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.