We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self-Service Delano” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Pearl Marrakech to your Saves list
The Pearl Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Avenue Echouhada et Rue du Temple, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #238 of 466 Hotels in Marrakech
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Self-Service Delano”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I spent a weekend getaway in Delano with my girlfriend and her daughter. We had hiss and miss feeling about this hotel.

PLUS POINT:
Location - great location for nightlife, a few steps to restaurants, bar. Its not a walking distance to Medina and souks. However, taxi is easy to find so wouldn't see any problem.

Italian restaurant:
Food is superb, attentive staff.

WISH FOR THE BETTER:

Service: hiss and miss everywhere

Housekeeping: forgot to replenish room amenities, toileteries. Service was beyond slow, the hair dryer is upon request, so we asked for.. after 3 calls we got the dryer in 45 minutes. After using it for 10 minutes, it broke down.. So next we asked again for the new hair dryer this time we asked for also a pair of scissors, it took 2 calls, we got it in 30 minutes. They brough us the dryer but forgot the scissors.

Pool area: the roof top pool is small donut shape around the glass dome. so you basically one direction to avoid hitting other guests. Slacking service, no staff around to order drinks, we had to find the staff everytime we want something.

Front office: again slow... we waited from the luggages for 30 minutes, after 2 calls they never arrived. My friend went down to get the luggage herself. the bell boy told her that there was no order to deliver to any room.. great!!

Wish for better service. Not sure of returning there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    54
    18
    23
    13
See reviews for
19
90
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Great views, trendy atmosphere, but took out of town guests here for drinks and the gin tonic arrived with flat tonic. The server told us that the cash machine wasn't working so made up some random prices for the drinks and asked us to pay cash. A great place, but management just a bit lacking!

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a really well designed hotel with some great points. The good:
- stunning rooftop pool, and even more stunning basement spa. The indoor pool is amazing and never had anyone else in it
- beautifully designed rooms, comfortable beds
- the more junior staff, like waitresses at breakfast, maids and in the spa, we're utterly charming, as was the lead concierge
- included breakfast was good

So why only three stars? It just didn't have the service and organisation you'd expect from a hotel of this price and ambition. We arrived to discover the junior suite we'd booked wasn't available but instead were offered a downgrade for the first night, with a refund of the price difference (which never materialised on our bill) and then an upgrade for the next three.

Sounded good to us. And the first room was lovely, although it had half-eaten food in the cuboard and minibar. Sadly the next day when it was time to move no-one knew about it. Once we'd eventually managed to get access to our (admittedly enormous) suite, we asked for our bags to be moved. Age an hour and three requests weren't, so we had to get a maid to reopen the old room and move them ourselves.

On day 3 the room wasnt made up until we asked. On day 4 we asked for sun cream, which is offered in the room service menu. It tok two hours and two requests, and was eventually only achieved by the concierge being sent to the a shop.

The ambassador suite we were upgraded to was huge and had a great balcony, although unless you're obsessed with space for the sake of it the standard room is perfectly adequate. It was also showing signs of wear considering the hotel is so new - a broken bedside light switch, cigarette burn in the sofa, coffee machine and iPad playing up. We quickly discovered there wasnt much point reporting anything as not much was done.

We had a good time, and it's a very relaxing place for a break with superb leisure facilities. But the service isn't up to Morgans standards.

Room Tip: Wouldn't bother with a suite, standard rooms are spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Service at Delano is impeccable. We were collected from the airport and upon arrival the concierge was clever enough to greet us by name. Check in was seamless and we didn't go anywhere near a check in desk. Welcome drink really good too. The rooms are large and more than adequate. The roof top terrace combines the best of everything; unique designed pool, plenty of sun loungers, chill out music and a great sushi bar. Many of the reviews state it is the best sushi ever had; maybe we haven't travelled enough but whilst it is good and freshly prepared in view of your table, I can only say it's up there with best. Our only niggles were that towels were not available on the roof top by 10am and the double circular loungers were not always made up early in the day. Breakfast was ok, coffee not always hot and poached eggs need some work!! We only ate dinner in the sushi bar so cannot comment on the other restaurants. Evening music from the roof terrace can be heard in some rooms so recommend avoiding the 3rd floor if you are a light sleeper. All staff were great but there were 2 who really made a great impression and always greeted us by name. Overall a great experience and we would return.

Room Tip: Choose 1st or 2nd floor room if a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Italian cuisine with a Moroccan touch. Great pastas and good wine. Extremely friendly staff and well located.
Wine and drinks were well priced, with food above average for Marrakech, which has great value and average value eateries, with little in between.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed with two friends 4 nights in march. The service is absolutely up to par with all others luxury hotels that I have guested before. Rooftop Terrace lovely with impeccable views to the Atlas Mountains. Mr Benjelloun made sure we had a great time day and evening at the terrace and at the Japanese restaurant located at the same place. The restaurant serves some of the best sushi I have ever eaten, I eat sushi almost every week and have done so for the last 15 years, both many different places in Europe and Asia. It was a big surprise as I had never expected that some of the best sushi you can find was to be served inland Marokko..!

Some minor flaws that we experienced.- Even though we made a booking for 3 adults in an Ambassador Suite at the hotels homepage, the reception asked for some additional money for an extra bed. This was however sorted out quickly. At one time I ordered a glass of Laurent Perrier, but got served cava, prosecco or some other cheep sparkling wine. After I ordered a new bottle of the champagne and showed them the obvious difference, they apologized and bought me a glass. Upon check out we asked if we could keep the room for two extra hours. As the bill added up to about 42.000,00 MAD for 4 nights only, I was hoping that we would meet some extra service. The receptionist said it was not possible because the hotel was fully booked. Funny enough every room type was available for booking at the hotels homepage from that day on... Before arriving in Marrakech I asked for pick up at the airport in a luxury car, but was picked up in a asian made minivan.

Despite the minor annoying experiences mentioned over, I already long to get back to Delano Marrakech! The wonderful design and exclusive interior in combination with highly friendly and genuine service, not to mention the fantastic food, is almost unbeatable. If the managers and owners succeed in changing the small things that disappointed me, the Delano Marrakech could easily be worth a trip in itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

If our whole Moroccan trip (Marrakech, Casablanca, Rabat) was like our dinner at the Galerie Restaurant, we might come back to the country. The food and service was top notch. Just order the "6 Moroccan Salads" and you will be so pleased. We asked our waiter what one of the favors were, and since my wife went to culinary school she was writing it down. The waiter noticed, unprompted got the chef to write the details of each specific dish. Unbelievable. Truly was the highlight of our whole Moroccan. Also, the hotel is beautiful and in a great location. Would definitely stay there if I was in Marrakech again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Marrakech

Address: Angle Avenue Echouhada et Rue du Temple, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 466 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pearl Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of a vibrant and magical city, The Pearl Marrakech exudes the mystery and exoticism of another world. This is the ultimate escape, a cool haven of discovery and pleasure. Whether seeking an engaging nightlife scene, renowned fine dining or a day of spa relaxation, The Pearl Marrakech is a luxurious experience, evoking a sophisticated, chic ambiance with discreet and effortless service. Designed by the acclaimed Jacques Garcia, its opulent interior blends precious marbles with sumptuous velvet and other rare textiles, creating an intimate atmosphere with a modern edge. Ceilings in the lobby are hand-carved wood, and a central rotunda is surrounded by an intricately patterned Moroccan design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Pearl Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.