We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, but a bit chaotic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Marrakech

Save Saved
You added The Pearl Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pearl Marrakech
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Angle Avenue Echouhada et Rue du Temple, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, but a bit chaotic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a really well designed hotel with some great points. The good:
- stunning rooftop pool, and even more stunning basement spa. The indoor pool is amazing and never had anyone else in it
- beautifully designed rooms, comfortable beds
- the more junior staff, like waitresses at breakfast, maids and in the spa, we're utterly charming, as was the lead concierge
- included breakfast was good

So why only three stars? It just didn't have the service and organisation you'd expect from a hotel of this price and ambition. We arrived to discover the junior suite we'd booked wasn't available but instead were offered a downgrade for the first night, with a refund of the price difference (which never materialised on our bill) and then an upgrade for the next three.

Sounded good to us. And the first room was lovely, although it had half-eaten food in the cuboard and minibar. Sadly the next day when it was time to move no-one knew about it. Once we'd eventually managed to get access to our (admittedly enormous) suite, we asked for our bags to be moved. Age an hour and three requests weren't, so we had to get a maid to reopen the old room and move them ourselves.

On day 3 the room wasnt made up until we asked. On day 4 we asked for sun cream, which is offered in the room service menu. It tok two hours and two requests, and was eventually only achieved by the concierge being sent to the a shop.

The ambassador suite we were upgraded to was huge and had a great balcony, although unless you're obsessed with space for the sake of it the standard room is perfectly adequate. It was also showing signs of wear considering the hotel is so new - a broken bedside light switch, cigarette burn in the sofa, coffee machine and iPad playing up. We quickly discovered there wasnt much point reporting anything as not much was done.

We had a good time, and it's a very relaxing place for a break with superb leisure facilities. But the service isn't up to Morgans standards.

Room Tip: Wouldn't bother with a suite, standard rooms are spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    40
    17
    18
    5
See reviews for
12
68
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Service at Delano is impeccable. We were collected from the airport and upon arrival the concierge was clever enough to greet us by name. Check in was seamless and we didn't go anywhere near a check in desk. Welcome drink really good too. The rooms are large and more than adequate. The roof top terrace combines the best of everything; unique designed pool, plenty of sun loungers, chill out music and a great sushi bar. Many of the reviews state it is the best sushi ever had; maybe we haven't travelled enough but whilst it is good and freshly prepared in view of your table, I can only say it's up there with best. Our only niggles were that towels were not available on the roof top by 10am and the double circular loungers were not always made up early in the day. Breakfast was ok, coffee not always hot and poached eggs need some work!! We only ate dinner in the sushi bar so cannot comment on the other restaurants. Evening music from the roof terrace can be heard in some rooms so recommend avoiding the 3rd floor if you are a light sleeper. All staff were great but there were 2 who really made a great impression and always greeted us by name. Overall a great experience and we would return.

Room Tip: Choose 1st or 2nd floor room if a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Italian cuisine with a Moroccan touch. Great pastas and good wine. Extremely friendly staff and well located.
Wine and drinks were well priced, with food above average for Marrakech, which has great value and average value eateries, with little in between.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed with two friends 4 nights in march. The service is absolutely up to par with all others luxury hotels that I have guested before. Rooftop Terrace lovely with impeccable views to the Atlas Mountains. Mr Benjelloun made sure we had a great time day and evening at the terrace and at the Japanese restaurant located at the same place. The restaurant serves some of the best sushi I have ever eaten, I eat sushi almost every week and have done so for the last 15 years, both many different places in Europe and Asia. It was a big surprise as I had never expected that some of the best sushi you can find was to be served inland Marokko..!

Some minor flaws that we experienced.- Even though we made a booking for 3 adults in an Ambassador Suite at the hotels homepage, the reception asked for some additional money for an extra bed. This was however sorted out quickly. At one time I ordered a glass of Laurent Perrier, but got served cava, prosecco or some other cheep sparkling wine. After I ordered a new bottle of the champagne and showed them the obvious difference, they apologized and bought me a glass. Upon check out we asked if we could keep the room for two extra hours. As the bill added up to about 42.000,00 MAD for 4 nights only, I was hoping that we would meet some extra service. The receptionist said it was not possible because the hotel was fully booked. Funny enough every room type was available for booking at the hotels homepage from that day on... Before arriving in Marrakech I asked for pick up at the airport in a luxury car, but was picked up in a asian made minivan.

Despite the minor annoying experiences mentioned over, I already long to get back to Delano Marrakech! The wonderful design and exclusive interior in combination with highly friendly and genuine service, not to mention the fantastic food, is almost unbeatable. If the managers and owners succeed in changing the small things that disappointed me, the Delano Marrakech could easily be worth a trip in itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

If our whole Moroccan trip (Marrakech, Casablanca, Rabat) was like our dinner at the Galerie Restaurant, we might come back to the country. The food and service was top notch. Just order the "6 Moroccan Salads" and you will be so pleased. We asked our waiter what one of the favors were, and since my wife went to culinary school she was writing it down. The waiter noticed, unprompted got the chef to write the details of each specific dish. Unbelievable. Truly was the highlight of our whole Moroccan. Also, the hotel is beautiful and in a great location. Would definitely stay there if I was in Marrakech again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend break. On arrival we received a refreshing welcome freshly squeezed drink alongside a friendly greeting. We checked in to the beautiful plush rooms, ours was immaculate and designed in Moroccan colours of warm light terracotta and purples. The bed was huge and pillows soft and so comfy.
We ate in the terrace roof top restaurant and had the most delicious lunch of tenpanyaki, sushi mix, chefs grill of the day and tempura veg - all meals were of a very high quality.
We had organised events planned of quad bikes and camel rides and after an exhausting day we ate at another top local restaurant. The breakfast was varied and again all the staff were welcoming and happy to serve. Nothing was an issue. Fresh fruit, pancakes, salmon, yogurts and Moroccan delights alongside a full American breakfast menu if wanted.
The spa was a welcome relief after long days, the jacuzzi, steam room, pool and sauna were dark, relaxing and spotless and available for women or men only. The gym was very well equipped.
The Souks just a 5 min drive one way and new town the other way. Next door is a commercial but great belly dancing club with live bands for a meal and fun loud night out. Do always go back to the terrace bar for a night cap as a great late night vibe and great music.
A mint tea served early evening was a great way to relax with a book on the terrace. Before the evenings start.
All in all a well decorated, run hotel, for a base in the contrasting city of Marrakech - we just needed another couple of days...

Room Tip: All 4 rooms we had were perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddy in France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here in November 2012 for 3 nights. The hotel is new and at the time was having minor teething problems. Room, roof-top terrace, spa were all excellent. Our biggest disappointment was our last night when the hotel was rocking due to a party on the roof. Reception were unsympathetic to our desire to sleep - which made it clear that special / wealthy guests took absolute priority.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delano_12, General Manager at The Pearl Marrakech, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor following your last stay in Delano last November.

We are so pleased that you appreciated our facilities that you defined as “excellent”.
At the time you stayed with us, we had a special event organized hosting 800 invitees, and all of our guests were graciously invited to join the party.

We do understand that you were not necessarily keen to join and we do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused to your comfort.

Your experience with the front desk team is unfortunate. It is inexcusable that you experienced a lack of courtesy from our team members.

I will be following up with all the team members involved in order to ensure that they all understand this lack of thoughtfulness and courtesy cannot be overlooked by a hotel aiming to be at the highest level of hospitality services.

Should you have any plans to come back in Delano Marrakech, please do not hesitate to let us know, we will do our utmost to reverse the impressions you had during your recent visit.

Sincerely,

Aziz Bendriss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Quiet, Pool, Ci...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
Hivernage Hotel & Spa
#274 of 461 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Selman Marrakech
Selman Marrakech
#97 of 461 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Gardens & Resort - Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center, Lu...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
Pool, Luxury, R...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#34 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Marrakech

Address: Angle Avenue Echouhada et Rue du Temple, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Pearl Marrakech 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of a vibrant and magical city, The Pearl Marrakech exudes the mystery and exoticism of another world. This is the ultimate escape, a cool haven of discovery and pleasure. Whether seeking an engaging nightlife scene, renowned fine dining or a day of spa relaxation, The Pearl Marrakech is a luxurious experience, evoking a sophisticated, chic ambiance with discreet and effortless service. Designed by the acclaimed Jacques Garcia, its opulent interior blends precious marbles with sumptuous velvet and other rare textiles, creating an intimate atmosphere with a modern edge. Ceilings in the lobby are hand-carved wood, and a central rotunda is surrounded by an intricately patterned Moroccan design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Pearl Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.