We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad First

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad First to your Saves list
Riad First
Derb Jdid 337 Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We can only thank Fatima and her son for their kindness during our stay in her beautiful Riad. It was perfectly minimal. Our room and the Riad were both beautifully decorated. They provided calm and tranquility to the busy world just outside the main door. Fatima's 'magic map' helped us find our way around the local streets in and out to the main square and to other local historic places. Breakfast of pancakes, bread, fruit, yogurts, coffee/tea and juice was just enough to start us on our daily adventures. This did not stop Fatima asking daily if we needed more food!! Thank you for making our stay so lovely.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    18
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
42
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this beautiful riad. Cosy and modern rooms, nice areas to relax from a busy day in the medina and the plunge pool, will make your stay really comfortable. Don't forget to ask Fatima to make an amazing dinner, delicious! Also an airport pick-up is recommended to easily get to this riad on arrival day. You will definitely get a warm welcome!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our stay at Riad First was very relaxing and enjoyable and ticked so many boxes.
To run you through our stay;
We arranged an airport transfer with the riad as we were worried we would not find it otherwise. There was no way on the first day we would have found it, so we were glad we arranged it and would recommend organizing a transfer. As cars don't fit down the many alley ways, don't be alarmed when the car stops by the mosque and your luggage is transferred to a wheel barrow. Follow along and you will arrive at the riad.
When we arrived after the walk through the local souk, we were surprised by how quiet and peaceful it was once we were inside.
We were greeted by Fatima who offered us tea and biscuits and showed us around the Riad.
Fatima, Her son Badar and the staff were amazing. So lovely and went out of their way to make sure we had a comfortable stay. They also offered their assistance in helping me buy a Moroccan Wedding Blanket, which otherwise could have been a bit of a task!
Inside the riad, it is clean and modern with a nice sense of calm. The splash pool is bigger than most of the other riads we looked at and made for a great afternoon dip after hours of walking in the heat.
The room was very clean, modern and the bed was very comfortable. For us having come from a sub-par hotel in rome, the room here had many of the creature comforts of home.
Breakfast every morning was delicious. While we didn't eat any other meals here, we did smell them cooking and they smelt absolutely amazing!
The terrace is nice and has enough shade from umbrellas to enjoy it during the day.

Location is ok, once you have walked from the square to the Riad once, you will have no trouble finding it. And Fatima can draw you a fool proof map for navigating your way back. Night time can be a daunting walk at first, but after you have done it once, it is fine. I am a 20 something female and didn't feel unsafe at all despite walking through some quiet alley ways.
If you get lost, most nights there are a group of children who play soccer in the lane out the front of the riad, they can point it put for you.
The gym was equipped enough for a small workout if you please and a masseuse can be booked for the massage room on the terrace.
Would highly recommend for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

i often go to marrakech and i usually go somewhere else. this time the usual riad was closed and at the end i can say tha it was a great chance for me, because i went to riad first!
we planned with friends to rent the whole riad and we did. Fatima at the riad took care of us, cooking great dinners that we had up at the terrace.
we had good advices from fatima to go around.
the location it's defenetely very good, it's closer to the place than you can think, but you have to have a tiny bit the clou of marrakech medina map.
rooms are very nice, clean, one different to the other and made with a great taste an interested mix between moroccan tradition and modern taste.
a great thank to fatima again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Riad First ticks so many boxes I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. It is close to Jmaa el Fna (10 mins walk) - not too difficult to find once you've located the turn off from Bab Doukkala which is one of the main souk roads and featured on all city maps (handy fountain and road sign as a pointer) - the design is modern but superb - with accents of traditional Moroccan design, the riad itself very peaceful and quiet, it has both a plunge pool downstairs and a rooftop paddling pool and sun terrace and most of all it has Fatima, the tireless house manager who runs the place like a tight ship and is completely warm and charming.

For our money our room was very spacious - an extremely comfy bed and deliciously deep carved bath with fluffy towels and bathrobes. There's a tv lounge (which you really shoudn't need to use, but handy for a night in with a movie!) and a dinner room where Fatima will arrange dinners by candlelight on request. There's even a gym (as if you would!)

Aircon worked a treat and the pool was very welcome at the end of the day.

Fatima is an angel - rushing around to meet our every need and always smiling and friendly - she made sure we had everything we needed, gave us handy tips on getting around, fetched cold beers for us, called us taxis etc. A hen party staying in the riad at the time were waited on hand and foot and it all looked effortless.

We stayed in three riads in Marrakech, this was by far the best value for money and most attractive.

Room Tip: We stayed in Chapter 4 - amazing bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in this riad for three nights, it was wonderful to feel we had a quiet place to relax after a busy day in the medina. Fatima and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms are very spacious and beautifully designed. It is a small paradise in the middle of the medina!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Impossible to find without relying on the numerous touts but an oasis of calm from the noise and bustle of outside. Comfortable rooms but we found the shower difficult to use comfortablyand the toilet and shower being in the same room , albeit a L shaped room wasn't ideal.The rooftop didn't have great views but a good place to sit away from it all.
The people were lovely and we were directed to a great restaurant the first night. We asked for a meal on the second night and that, too was very good: chicken taginsea good meal on the second night we stayed. Breakfast was pleasant. pancakes, yoghurt, orange juice and on one occasion eggs

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad First

Address: Derb Jdid 337 Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Riad First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad First, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.