We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a find amongst the narrow streets!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Palais Delia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Palais Delia
Save
You added Riad Palais Delia to your Saves list
134, Derb Sidi Messaoud | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“what a find amongst the narrow streets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a lovely time. The staff could not have been more helpful or hospitable. The room was typically Moroccan, red crushed velvet, marble bathroom etc. the bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the meal we had there one evening. Being able to relax on the rooftop terrace with a beer after a hectic day in the souks was lovely. Be warned it is almost impossible to get alcohol in the Medina, so buy it outside in the new city or avail yourself of the reasonably priced wine and beer in the Riad. Stepping out from the Riad is somewhat intimidating to begin with as the first steps are down a narrow blind alley, leading onto a slightly wider alley and the maze of narrow passages that is the Medina. Be warned, take a map and a compass as it is impossible to not get lost and you need good stout walking shoes too!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    22
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
52
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very nice riad. In quiet location. Everything clean - basic but traditional breakfast. Staff very helpful and attentive. Special mention to Mohammad the brilliant taxi driver and guide. Nice roof top terrace. Booked on line. Excellent value for money. Strongly recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Myself and my hubby stayed in Riad Palais Delia for 3 nights in November 13. Riad is in the Medina, 20min walk from the main square; were pleasantly surprised went stepped inside of it - very clean and nice; rooms are very good as well. Have not missed on anything; the only downside is that not all staff speaks english, but french only, as all the guests in the riad were french as well. overall nice stay and we would stay in this riad again if visiting Marrakech in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights at the Riad Palais Delia and we're very glad we did.
The manager is a great lady who was willing to help us with everything we needed and all the staff was very friendly. The room was clean and beautifully decorated, perfect for a romantic holiday. The roof terrace was our favorite, with lounge chairs, towels, pillows and even sun hats! There is a small pool on the roof as well which was great to cool down in after some time in the sun. We had dinner on the roof terrace one night and the food was very good.
If you are skeptical about the neighborhood after one of the reviews below, please don't be. Yes, there are people in the streets and the streets are rather small and dark in the evenings but the people there are only locals who didn't bother us at all and we found it a real Marrakech experience, staying in the medina and and a good way of getting to know the city. We had a massage (an hour) which was very relaxing.

I can recommend the Palais Delia to everyone, it's a relaxing place to stay in a busy city like Marrakech.

Room Tip: In the Salma room the main colors are purple and black (the walls are also black), so it's very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked this through voyage prive and were really pleased with our choice. Picked up from the airport by Mohammed the taxi driver who does lots of work for this Riad all went well with the transfer, its only 15 mins from the airport. All Riads seem to be in tiny dusty streets so behind the studded wooden door is a beautiful cool and calm courtyard with a fountain. Made very welcome with tea and little Moroccan sweet pastries then taken to the room. Only 6 rooms all of which look onto the courtyard. Plenty of space, really good bed, clean with air con, minibar, tv . Very dark and cool inside which is just what we wanted as it was super hot when we were there at the end of June. Two roof terrace areas, with sofas and loungers etc and a nice pool for cooling down, not for swimming but you can sit in it at read your book!.breakfast every morning on the roof terrace , a variety of local pastries and bread, a bit of fruit or yoghurt, tea coffee....no choice-quite simple but nice. Really lovely staff very kind and happy to bring up pots of mint tea and salads when we didn't want to go out.. I would absolutely go back to this Riad but not sure I would go back to Marrakech it's so busy and dusty and hot- we did a good half day tour of Marrakech with Mohammed the taxi guy which was good and so we did the main gardens and parks and the palace.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Palais Delia has now been open for 1.5 years and there are no niggles now! I think the other English language review is unfair if you have a sense of adventure and are willing to immerse yourself in the culture of a foreign land! I am here with my wife and our 13 year old son and all is well.. Its peaceful and tranquil.. The wifi is constant and fast. Service cleanliness and decor are super. And they have the most wonderful cat which is sitting on my lap as I write this. Dinner will be served soon. Ciao

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have just got back from four nights at Dalia. It is a haven of peace and quiet in the medieval medina. The surrounding streets are scary at first - narrow, dusty, full of scooters, donkeys and bikes but after a while you get used to them. Under no circumstances speak to anyone who talks to you on the street. If they find out where you are going they will escort you and ask for 10 or even 20 euros in a demanding way.
The room was comfortable and the air conditioning worked. There is a pool to sit in but it is not big enough to swim. For several nights we were the only people staying and it was very quiet. The evening meal is ok, but on one night they left it to be heated up by a young man on his first night and who had no idea. He couldn't even open a bottle of wine. No sign at all of the proprietor except on the very first night for 30 seconds. Very very limited ability to speak English from anyone we met at the Riad except for our taxi driver who was wonderful.
Big problem when we came to check out and it emerged that they would only accept cash (only euros or dirhams) - not a credit card. We had paid by credit card perfectly well elsewhere in Marrakesh or the web site had warned us that cash was required so that was a surprise. We had just enough cash on us.
It is not expensive, and they will try to help you but do be aware that this is a very unsophisticated place

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Palais Delia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Palais Delia

Address: 134, Derb Sidi Messaoud | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 203 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Palais Delia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.