We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious peace and quiet close to the Atlas Mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Capaldi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Capaldi to your Saves list
The Capaldi
Route d'Amizmiz km39 | Lalla Takerkouste, Marrakech 42202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 1,113 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Luxurious peace and quiet close to the Atlas Mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had stayed at the Riad Capaldi in Marrakech and then went The Capaldi close to the atlas mountains. It is only a 45 minute taxi transfer which the Riad arranged for us. And at the end of our stay less then 45 minutes back to the airport.
The Capaldi is set in large grounds with beautiful gardens and lots of birds. There are about 25 rooms in bungalows and a few 2 story buildings. If you are in the 2 story buildings, stay on the top floor for more sun and better views. We stayed in Farmhouse superior on the 2nd floor which was wonderful. A huge bedroom/lounge with an enormous bathroom and the biggest terrace we have ever had with our own sunbeds, table and chairs.
There are 2 pools - one heated and one not. A small cinema. A bar and dining room where you can eat inside or outside. There are many sunbeds and seats around the extensive grounds. You can have drinks and lunch also by the pool. The bar was lovely - a place to meet up with fellow guests and chat. Food was mostly French and good. They also cooked some food on request for us one day if we ordered early in the day. Excellent breakfasts. Ed and Tara are the very friendly owners (English) and we often had drinks with them and also met some of their lovely ex-pat friends.
The reception area also has seating and a library close by with many English books - you do not need to take your own books. Wifi was free - worked best at reception/library.
There is a spa where you can have hamman treatment - be aware that it is quite rough but your skin feels good afterwards and then you can have a gentle massage. You can also have other treatments such as manicures and facials.
You can walk to a nearby lake/reservoir and eat there in Le Flouka (see review). About 1 hour walk through villages and countryside - seeing the farmers with their donkeys and goats. Everyone so friendly and speaking to us in French.
You can also ask the hotel to arrange trips such as walking in the mountain, quad bikes etc.
There is also a small shop at the hotel open part time selling typical Moroccan and other African art and craft items.
We went end May and did get some rain and coolness in evening/morning for 2 days so be prepared for this with a cardigan and umbrella.
A great place to stay and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
50
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

There is no doubt of the beauty of this hotel but we did struggle a little . There are no TV no music no internet no fridge or bar in room which we found odd for a five star hotel . Food was really good as was the service but that wouldn't be enough to take us back .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward L, Owner at The Capaldi, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
We are pleased that you recognised the beautiful location of our hotel. We aim to offer a tranquil escape from the rush and bustle of the modern world for our discerning guests. It has been decided not to offer television in rooms for that reason, a decision that is appreciated by the majority. We do have a cinema on site where not only films but television an be viewed. Our 5 star service includes a 24 hour presence for bar or refreshments which can be served in rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Your first impression of The Capaldi is the stunning view through the main entrance to an oasis of a garden and sparkling pool. As you walk to your attractive room, through the beautifully kept gardens you feel automatically at ease - particularly so when they bring you fresh mint tea and in our case a bottle of champagne *this may have been to do with booking through iescape?*

The owners of The Capaldi are delightful & make a real effort with all their guests which adds a lovely atmosphere to the hotel and you really feel how much effort they've put in creating such a stunning place.

There are though a few teething problems with such a new hotel, which is a slight shame. Firstly the food, rather than being given good Moroccan cuisine is more generally french in style, which was a little hit & miss.

It is worth saying though that the breakfast was very nicely done with delicious fresh orange juice & perfectly cooked soft boiled eggs - also the garden area where you eat is very pretty, so it rather depends on how much of a foodie you are.

Also the staff (other than the delightful owners) aren't as proactive as you might hope in such a perfect hotel so when you need something and Ed & his wife aren't around, it can be slightly challenging process.

All in all I'd recommend The Capaldi - I just think they could do with a better set up for dinner & bit of extra training for their staff wouldn't go amiss. Still a lovely stay and a glorious contrast of peace before the frenetic energy of Marrakech!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We just returned from Marrakech with another couple and cannot say enough about our accommodations and experiences at both the Riad Capaldi and the countryside Capaldi. The Riad Capaldi is situated in the perfect location to take advantage of exploring the souks/markets in the old town of Marrakech. Once you walk through the heavy wooden door to the Riad, you enter paradise! The rooms were beautiful all overlooking a lovely courtyard with relaxing rooftop terrace. We stayed in the Olivier and couldn't ask for better service. Mohammed made breakfast for us each morning before we ventured out. After staying at the Riad, our car service, all arranged by the hotel, took us to the countryside and to the pink oasis called "The Capaldi". Enroute we stopped at The Beldi Country Club for a true Morrocan spa treatment which is a must. The Capaldi is absolutely breathtaking, located in the Sahara dessert with a spectacular view of the Atlas mountains, only 45 mins from Marrakech. Tara and Ed went out of their way to make our stay so memorable. They made us feel like family (all the guests said the same!). There were many guests we met who were returning for more time at The Capaldi. We stayed in the Farmhouse Terrace which was just lovely and relaxed by the pools. We had wonderful meals, great wine and fabulous memories!! Cannot wait to return!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We have just returned from 7 days in the Capaldi,the hotel and grounds are just amazing and Ed and Tara and their staff could not have done enough for us.
If you are looking to chill and have wonderful quality meals,wine and service this is the place for you.
Dinner prices and wine prices are mega reasonable, and the quality of food received is underpriced in our opinion but happy to pay it.
The chef is very adventurous with some of his dishes but the taste is superb.
We will definitely return for another few nights later in the year.
Lesley and Tom Cummings Aberdeen,Scotland

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Great place to relax outside of Marrakech - the staff are very helpful, especially the owners who are always around looking after their guests. Lovely food and spa and they will oganise any actvities you want to do - I'd certainly recommend the dune buggying. Also, the riad in Marrakech is lovely and Aiden very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Having never been to Marrakech before, staying at both Capaldi properties made it the perfect trip! We began our adventure at the Riad, where Mohammed and Aiden took care of everything - from organizing a city tour, making great dinner reservations (Comptoir was fantastic!), rooftop terrace breakfasts, it was impeccable service. Being unfamiliar with the city, our stay was made so easy with every detail being attended to. And the Riad itself was so beautiful - the rooms were beautifully done (we stayed in Jasmine) and the rooftop terrace was spectacular.

After the fun of shopping and seeing the city, we then went to the countryside Capaldi - cannot say enough about how beautiful this property is! The grounds were exquisite and both pool areas were so inviting, with the most comfortable lounging areas. The restaurant was fantastic - amazing food and an amazing retractable roof to dine under the stars - just incredible!

The properties were superb, but the owners and staff were what made this experience. Tara & Ed have created the perfect countryside resort and Riad to make for an incredible experience. Thanks so much to everyone at the Capaldi properties for taking care of our every need - this was a trip of a lifetime and look forward to planning our next (and longer) trip to The Capaldi!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capaldi

Address: Route d'Amizmiz km39 | Lalla Takerkouste, Marrakech 42202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Capaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.