We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible stay at Riad Capaldi & The Capaldi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capaldi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Capaldi to your Saves list
The Capaldi
Route d'Amizmiz km39 | Lalla Takerkouste, Marrakech 42202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Incredible stay at Riad Capaldi & The Capaldi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Having never been to Marrakech before, staying at both Capaldi properties made it the perfect trip! We began our adventure at the Riad, where Mohammed and Aiden took care of everything - from organizing a city tour, making great dinner reservations (Comptoir was fantastic!), rooftop terrace breakfasts, it was impeccable service. Being unfamiliar with the city, our stay was made so easy with every detail being attended to. And the Riad itself was so beautiful - the rooms were beautifully done (we stayed in Jasmine) and the rooftop terrace was spectacular.

After the fun of shopping and seeing the city, we then went to the countryside Capaldi - cannot say enough about how beautiful this property is! The grounds were exquisite and both pool areas were so inviting, with the most comfortable lounging areas. The restaurant was fantastic - amazing food and an amazing retractable roof to dine under the stars - just incredible!

The properties were superb, but the owners and staff were what made this experience. Tara & Ed have created the perfect countryside resort and Riad to make for an incredible experience. Thanks so much to everyone at the Capaldi properties for taking care of our every need - this was a trip of a lifetime and look forward to planning our next (and longer) trip to The Capaldi!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
45
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

My fiancé and I have just returned from a fabulous short break in Morocco, which I organised as a surprise for his birthday. We stayed 2 nights at the Riad Capaldi, located in the heart of the bustling Marrakesh medina, before moving on for 2 blissful nights in the luxury sister hotel, The Capaldi, situated in the picturesque foothills of the Atlas Mountains. In short, it was a truly amazing experience and one that we would recommended without a seconds hesitation.

Firstly, the Riad, well what can we say, simply an oasis in the heart in the madness of the medina in the midst of Marrakech. From the moment we arrived, we were looked after magnificently by Aidan and Mohammed - we were greeted at the taxi stop, guided to the hotel and refreshed with a glass of hot mint tea before settling into the cool, stylish and comfortable room. Later, with little notice, it was no problem for Aiden to make reservations at 2 excellent restaurants ( Le Jardin and Café Arabe- mouth watering food and friendly service ), a guided tour of the city centre and even a balloon ride over the Atlas Mountains (not to be missed). Every time we stepped into the Riad from the hustle and bustle of the crazy city, we were overcome with a huge sense of relaxation and calmness. Breakfast on the peaceful roof top terrace was superb.

We then travelled toThe Capadli, courtesy of a taxi which again had been arranged by the hotel. On arrival our first reaction was simply....wow, wow, wow!! It was quite honestly amazing. The gardens are superbly tended and our room, 104, was very spacious, had its own terrace and furnished with a true sense of style and class - the attention to detail and individuality was a credit to the owners. Once again the service was first class and the owners, Tara and Edward made us feel enormously welcome and they, together with all the staff, ensured that we had a hugely relaxing and fabulous stay. My fiancé is vegetarian and that was not a problem. He enjoyed some amazing veggie dishes, prepared specifically by the chef, who ensured that all the meals we ate were to a very high standed. The hotel has 2 lovely pools which we enjoyed using after some strenuous sunbathing.

All in all our short visit to Morocco surpassed our expectations and we would strongly recommend both the Riad Capadli and The Capaldi to anyone considering a holiday in Marrakech and wanting a first class experience. From our perspective, what sets The Capaldi head and shoulders above anywhere else is the personal touch from Edward and Tara, they both somehow found time for you as individuals and gave the sense that nothing was too much trouble. We definitely plan to go back!

Room Tip: Room 104 very spacious and has a private sunny terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

On arrival we were offered a very welcome drink prior to being escorted through the most spectacular grounds to our Farmhouse room with Terrace.
After a quick unpack & shower, we headed straight to the beautifully decorated restaurant for our first evening meal - fine dining beautifully executed - a perfect way to start our 5 day break at the Capaldi.
Ed greeted us warmly in the bar, which set the tone for the next few days - along with Tara they made us feel very welcome & were perfect hosts throughout our stay.
They gave us lots of information including instructions for 2/3 good walks.
Being adventurous, we headed out with the Atlas Mountains on the horizon; we felt like we were going back in time as we passed through various remote villages on the way to a spectacular lake.
The standard of everything at the Capaldi is truly outstanding - a very special hotel.
We finished off our stay with 24 hours in the Riad Capaldi set in the middle of the Medina - a most wonderful way to finish a perfect 5 day break.
Thank You Ed & Tara ( & Aiden) for making our stay so enjoyable & memorable - we will be back for sure.
OV & HB

Room Tip: We had the corner Farmhouse room with Terrace - the room was lovely, but the terrace wasn't qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

When my wife and I first heard of The Capaldi hotel in Marrakech and saw the pictures we just knew we had to stay there. Last October we made it to Marrakech to find that it is actually about 30 minutes drive outside the city. However, the hotel had sent a car to pick us up and bring us to the luxurious resort. It is a painstakingly but lovingly built creation of a husband and wife team from London. There are 23 rooms and suits built in the olive groves at the foot of the Atlas Mountains. A perfect retreat for that romantic getaway or a leisure trip with friends. With two pools, one heated during the winter, a cinema, a spa and a fine dining restaurant it catered for all we could wish for. The room was extremely comfortable and the food and service was second to none. We would recommend that if you are visiting Marrakech make it to The Capaldi for a wonderful experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Capaldi for four days on our honeymoon. We simply can't speak highly enough of the place. The moment you enter is the moment you realise it's a little slice of Moroccan paradise, perfectly complimenting the incredible views of the High Atlas Mountains behind it. It's less a hotel, more a garden of tranquility with beautifully designed rooms around the outside. The attention to detail at every level is so impressive. And the food! Every night a different menu (which is an amazing achievement in itself considering its relatively remote location) full of originality and delivered to perfection.

The wonderful owners Ed and Tara were so accommodating and welcoming to us from the outset, and it's clear they put their hearts and souls into making each guest's experience the best it can possibly be. In fact all of the staff really were top class. We also took the hotel's recommended guided tour of the Berber villages up in the mountains, which was a great experience and one I'd thoroughly recommend.

The Capaldi is simply brilliant, and has to be experienced to be believed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Returned last week after 4 days at Hotel Capaldi. The break exceeded all expectation, we wanted a relaxing short break to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary and make the most of the opportunity to go away alone as our youngest son was on a school trip. It seemed very quiet at first, but we soon got used to the sounds of silence and the pure oasis of calm and relaxation. In fact it was lovely to check out from the"cyber drive" and not wear a watch.
The hotel and grounds are just beautiful, fantastic view of the snow capped Atlas Mountains and the grounds were so well maintained, with the smell of the jasmine and roses in the air. The room was very comfortable, clean, crisp cotton sheets and no tv or electronics which was refreshing. The hotel is just a friendly, comfortable, quiet, and peaceful haven in tranquil surroundings. The food is simple, extremely tasty, with 3 choices for each course for dinner which we enjoyed and made for easy decisions.
There are lots of hideaways in the grounds in and out of the sun and large big double sun beds with comfy towelling covers. 2 pools, one heated and like a warm bath.
Ed and Tara and all the staff are extremely welcoming in a natural and friendly way and genuinely want to ensure you have a lovely stay. Allow a day or two to change your gears down, it will seem strange to begin with but we both felt so rejuvenated afterwards and we would love to come back again for longer.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, our Garden Room had a terrace to lay out on which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I am not normally inclined to write reviews on Tripadvisor but as I sit by the pool in the sun at the Hotel Capaldi with a beer in hand, getting ready to depart, I feel it necessary to reinforce the dominant point of view – with supporting photos.

The previous review is so disproportionate I feel there must be an ulterior motive – or maybe the rain over the weekend made it so disappointing for them. It transpires that we are staying in the same room as this guest and we either disagree with his comments or regard as trivial – everyone is entitled of course.

Let’s be clear – this doesn’t pretend to be 5 star; it isn’t the Marriott in an urban jungle – go to Dubai if you want that – this is a place that is very high on style, slightly rustic in character and luxurious where it counts.

Addressing the points made:

The bathroom area has a shower separate from the main area with view straight at snow capped mountains; there is kidney shaped bath, two sinks and the toilet. It is fully tiled throughout and very clean - I couldn’t detect any stains – the tiles are in keeping and rustic so may be if you are expecting Marriott styled marbled, perfect and smooth you will be disappointed.

The single chair in the room is maybe a fair point and a small sofa might have been better as the room is huge; there is however a library and lounge immediately below the room also facing the mountains if that is what your after. Would agree with the coffee making facilities and it would have been nice to have been able to sit on the balcony but it is very narrow. Lack of hairdryer was resolved in 5 minutes. We rang reception for it. I have enclosed a photo of the 1 chair by the entrance – it is more for show really. There is no TV (not what this hotel is about) but there is an amazing cinema with satellite tv and a library of about 100 dvds.
Stuff about the pool area – all rubbish in my opinion.

For the things that really count, spacious rooms, (very) nice food with attentive staff, many lit fireplaces, large territory (with beautifully laid out gardens), views over mountains all true. The owners do personally come and speak to guests and try to be helpful!!! They are also very good company around the bar.

Also worth noting the hiking in the Atlas mountains was amazing with our guide taking us through Berber villages with lunch in one of their homes.

Would definitely return – we did have a couple of rainy days and maybe that can give you a different perspective – even the Atlas mountains then disappear.

Room Tip: Atlas room is amazing - wake up to the snow capped mountains (see picture)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Capaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capaldi

Address: Route d'Amizmiz km39 | Lalla Takerkouste, Marrakech 42202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Capaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.