We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capaldi

Save Saved
You added The Capaldi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Capaldi
Route d'Amizmiz km39 | Lalla Takerkouste, Marrakech 42202, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“So welcoming and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We went to Morocco for half term break. We traveled with our children and checked ahead of time if this would be acceptable with the management and they were extremely welcoming. Thanks Tara and Ed, you guys rock! We spent two nights in the Riad Capaldi and three nights at the resort. What a great way to see Marrakech (city madness and country calm). First the Riad: The dizziness of the souks offset by the clean, neat Riad in a tucker away alley really helped us enjoy the diversity and contrast of the old town. The staff was fantastic and helped us feel comfortable right from the pick-up at the airport. Staying in the middle of old town can push you out of your comfort zone (which is what Marrakech is supposed to do, right?) but coming home to the Riad gave you the energy and peace to want get right back out there in the winding alleys and secret shops and hidden doorways which makes the medina so exciting. How proud you feel when you find the way back from the main square to the hotel for the first time by yourself. Indiana Jones-like adventures with the kids just by getting lost in the medina, so fun. The five times daily call to prayer in the medina is something you always remember. Breakfast and the views from the top of the riad really gave you a good perspective to start out the day. On to the Capaldi out in the country. Again the ride provided by the hotel is the way to go, so simple and door to door service made the transfer go quickly. Only about a 45 minute drive but the driver gave us a quick tour of the new town on the way out just so we could see that. Out at the country location (just called the Capaldi, i think) we immediately got the vibe: relax, swim and enjoy some great french/Moroccan food. Really, this chef does some amazing stuff and the kids ate it all which was such a relief to us as we were not sure how they would fare with food. All just awesome. We did the touristy things you are supposed to do: rode camels, rode donkeys. If you are going to want to do a camel ride it is probably best to do it away from the center of Marrakech. These camels seemed much happier then the ones you see closer to the center of town. Tara and Ed arranged this for us. You have to bargain with the camel owner but by now you will have been an expert in bargaining for prices with the locals. The pools at the hotel are so luxurious and the grounds are very pretty and well sculpted. New family homes for rent are being built now and i think they will have a private pool so this will add some real diversity to the property. Go eat at the restaurant near the lake (the team will tell you about this) it was delicious and a great little off-resort adventure for the country stay. Thanks again to the team at the Capaldi(s) you made our trip so enjoyable and gave made us feel so special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    4
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just spent 3 days at this gorgeous hotel with our teenage daughter,and we were all hugely impressed by this beautifully designed gem just 30 minutes from the souks,yet offering a sense of relaxing oasis in the desert.The rooms were extremely comfortable,complete with Egyptian cotton sheets,superb food from the French chef which draws residents from Marrakech to the restaurant at weekends.The owners Ed and Tara could not have been kinder and arranged activities like camel riding and dune buggies that our daughter adored....we also enjoyed watching a film in the beautiful cinema.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a stunning new hotel close to Marrakech (around half an hour away from the medina).

The location is incredible, with stunning views of the mountains.

The owners Ed and Tara are fantastic - they have thought of everything to ensure that guests have a completely relaxing, pampering stay. Lots of private spaces around the lovely pools, attentive staff to bring you cocktails, an excellent restaurant as well as a cinema room and spa mean that you will not want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Upon arrival you knew you were going to completely relax. This new hotel has been designed beautifully, stunning rooms, restaurant and an incredible spa. There is also a cinema if you want and dune buggies can be arranged for the day to travel miles towards the hills. The location is second to none with incredible views and two swimming pools. The staff took trouble to care for everything and the French chef was excellent. We will certainly be returning. 35 minutes drive from the souks of the Medina.

Room Tip: The very large double with a huge balcony facing the owners house was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have just had 3 amazing days at The Capaldi with friends. Ed and Tara who who own/run the hotel (along with lovely friendly staff) are charming, entertaining and nothing was too much. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. The food is un-real, quite delicious and of course has a fantastic wine list to accompany it. Their Spa is very special and I totally recommend the Hamman!

A truly wonderful relaxing few days in the serenity of Morocco.

Not forgetting Jemima the in-house donkey who was also charming!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but if your a couple the suites with their own pool looked amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A fabulous new hotel in stunning, tranquil grounds with complete with deeply comfortable beds and delicious food.

If you can tear yourself away from the hamam, the pools and the gardens take an exhilarating trip deep into the desert on a quad or go-cart.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Capaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capaldi

Address: Route d'Amizmiz km39 | Lalla Takerkouste, Marrakech 42202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Capaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.