We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite simply sublime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Capaldi Restaurant

The Capaldi Restaurant
Km 39, route de Amizmiz | Lalla Takerkouste, Marrakech, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #148 of 616 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, International, Mediterranean, Spanish, Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Marrakech, Morocco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quite simply sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We loved our lunch so much at The Capaldi that there was nothing for it but to stay and have dinner there. We arrived on a roasting hot day to refreshing breezes, sun kissed shadows, a sense of instant relaxation and a chilled bottle of wine, which somehow, quite unintentionally - led on to another 'couple'. The setting was wonderfully stylish, crisp, classic and yet infused throughout with the essence of Morocco - a light subtlety of touch that settled us gently into a soft rhythm. The starter was exquisite - the main course melted in the mouth and the desert - well - let's just say it slipped down so delightfully that another was instantly ordered.

At this point, in another restaurant - one might start reluctantly requesting the bill and getting on with the day. That was certainly our plan - but it was a plan that signally failed to survive contact with the swimming pool and shady sofas. Casually elegant and hypnotically relaxing, we found ourselves tucking deeper into the very reasonably priced French winelist. Before we knew what was going on - the sun had begun to set, the dusk rippled with warm lighting and we were ordering dinner - which was once again an absolute triumph.

Superb food, superb setting, superb value and superb hosts . Oh and did I mention - it was superb

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Satisfaction guaranteed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Having visited several times and never having been disappointed I wanted to share my experiences with others. This restaurant is in a wonderful tranquil setting for visitors to Marrakech and I would strongly recommend to all travellers. However, for those of us who live in Morocco the Capaldi is an ideal "local" offering good service, excellent food and wine combined with a warm welcome no matter how many times you visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was lucky enough to have lunch here as well as an evening meal with friends. Both were delightful experiences with great food and service. Tara and Ed are the perfect hosts. Lunchtime was extremely busy and had a great atmosphere. Things were quieter in the evening and was lovely to follow up with drinks inside. Hats off to the French chef......the food was delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First Class Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely setting within easy reach of Marrakech for a day trip for lunch. Fantastic food which is incredibly good value - I would go again and again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We heard about this place last year and finally made it. Nice setting, service was so so, needs training and language skills an issue. Food was ok, nothing special, a bit on the expensive side for what it is meant to be in the country. The menu although limited(and full of spellos) looks promising but what it delivers in the plate is somewhat disappointing: complicated, tortured is the the word, rich sauces, and lack of seasoning. Set up is nice, cosy but you really have to want to come here since it's off the beaten tracks. Give them more time and another try...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capaldi Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to The Capaldi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capaldi Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.