We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in turbulent Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Meryem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dar Meryem to your Saves list
Dar Meryem
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   41 Derb Lalla Bent El Amri quartier assouel, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #591 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Home away from home in turbulent Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

First of all I would recommend to make an arrangement with the Riad to get collected from somewhere as it is pretty difficult to find. We arrived at midnight and fortunately we booked an airport transfer so we were pretty relaxed as we saw our name on a sign of a driver. As we approached the Medina it was obvious for us that we never would have found this Riad on our own. We were warmly welcomed in the Riad. We liked our Zagora room very much as it had "1001 nights" style and was very spacious and quiet with an also spacious bathroom.
The whole team from the Riad was also very nice and helpful at any time. Our breakfast was the hightlight of every morning as it consisted of local pastries which we liked very much. Furthermore we also had dinner in the Riad and we definitely also enjoyed that great food within the calm and quiet atmosphere of the Riad inside the bustling Medina. It felt definitely always like coming home when we arrived at the Riad after a long, colourful and intensive day in Marrakesh. On the first day we were guided to the souks and to "la place" so that we could try to remember our way (which was definitely very difficult in the souks of Marrakesh ;)
On our departure we also were guided back to a place were we got picked up.
So all in all we had an amazing stay at Riad Dar Merjem which has great Moroccan charm and definitely perfect Moroccan hospitality.
Thanks for making our vacation so perfect.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our "Zagora" room as it was not diretly located near at the patio but in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndiH12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Really lovely place to stay - well located within the medina but not easy to find. Suggest you make arrangements to be met - phone ahead! However once you know where it is, there is no problem.
We had breakfast in the beautiful courtyard one morning and upon the roof top terrace another. Both were super, but best of all was the dinner. Better than anywhere else we ate in Marrakech and good value too. Our suite was really spacious - in fact had we realised how big it was, we would not have booked an extra room for our daughter. Her room was lovely too and opened out onto the court yard. highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olympia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our first time to Morocco, so a little nervous but Abdul (the owner) and his wife, were so, so helpful and friendly. Abdul walked us to the SOuks on the first day. Always helped us with a smile on his face - even when serving breakfast! The roof terrace is really nice to go up to during sunset and listen to the call to prayer from the nearby mosques. Don't hesitate - just book this place - it's stunning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paznit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

What an amazing place, it is out of the way and my girl friend and I found it hard to find nearly every time but with some patience and asking others along the way (tip, only ask the women, not the men, the men expect money the women are open to help) we found our way to and from the Riad.

The owners are very helpful, open and welcoming. Hayte one of the 2 owners went above and beyond in making the first trip for myself and my girlfriend away to Marrakech that bit special. a 3 course meal just outside our room over looking the Riad court yard as requested was given as soon as we got there, and just before we had mint tea.

As soon as you enter the Riad, all the noise outside was gone, a bird tweeting was about as much noise as we had, this bird in question was flying around the inside of the Riad and we awoke to its singing every morning - so relaxing.

Breakfast in the morning was freshly made, good coffee, nice fresh orange juice and a selection of pastries with jam and butter, all perfect for a day in the markets.

I can't fault this Riad at all, for a first stay in this great city, this Riad would be perfect just remember to have a good map!! the one given to us by the Owners of the Riad was not detailed enough. ow and google maps do not work that well plus remember to have a compass so you know which way you are walking - this is what we did not have, hence although it is only 6 mins walk away from the center, it took us up to an hour on one occasion to get back!

If you do go I am sure you will enjoy your stay here. we had the double bedroom at the top floor, it is a small Riad so not many people about nor many rooms but I would recommend the one at the top floor.

ow one last thing, they speak a little english but french always helps. Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you see a room you like, email the owners and they will be happy to help out. any special request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quintons01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Meriem
Riad Meriem
#166 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad les Oliviers
Riad les Oliviers
#280 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Bahja
Riad Bahja
#160 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Al Mansoura
Riad Al Mansoura
#306 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Jana
Riad Al Jana
#425 of 1,149 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Aderbaz
Riad Aderbaz
#280 of 1,149 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Meryem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Meryem

Address: 41 Derb Lalla Bent El Amri quartier assouel, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #591 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Meryem 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Meryem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing