We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kasbah Cafe - A Delightful Place opposite the Saadian Tombs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Cafe

Kasbah Cafe
47 Batouil, Kasbah, opposite the Saadien Tombs | in the old City wals, Marrakech, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Gateshead, England
Top Contributor
363 reviews 363 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
“Kasbah Cafe - A Delightful Place opposite the Saadian Tombs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having been disappointed by the Saadian Tombs and emerging from there into near forty degree heat in the afternoon what a wonderful sight the Kasbah Café was immediately opposite. We quickly made our way inside and what a wonderful friendly welcome we received. We decided to stay inside and downstairs as the rooftop would have been unbearable. We had a few quick snacks and sodas all at reasonable prices and chatted with the staff who were superb. The inside was attractively decorated and nothing was too much hassle. I even got my camera batteries re-charged without any fuss. We spent about three quarters of an hour in the Kasbah Café and really enjoyed the place. We didn't really try a full meal but what we did have was delicious and extremely reasonably priced. If you visit the tombs then certainly drop by here for a warm Moroccan welcome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    124
    180
    40
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food and free wifi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We went to Kasbah after walking for more than 5-plus hours exploring the palaces and tombs. We had tagine and pastilla which were awesome. Fresh juice and reasonable priced, it was place to stretch our legs before another hours of excursion.

Would strongly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Definitely worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Located within the town, it is a great location, with the option of sitting upstairs on the balcony, overlooking the street. I loved the mist sprays which in the warm night temperatures were quite refreshing. Very friendly staff, great food. You should try it for some Moroccan cuisine, quite enjoyable.... and the juice (try the one with peaches). It has a very relaxing atmosphere and it is value for money. A must try if in Marrakech.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This cafe is situated in the Kasbah District which is a nice place to spend an afternoon if you want somewhere quieter than the main square and souks. We had the pizza and the tagine, and on another occasion the omlettes, and the food is what brought us back. The kefta tagine was the best tagine I had in the two weeks we were in Morocco, and the chicken pizza was so tasty.

Sitting out the front of the cafe is a good place to watch the world go by (a bit more slowly than everywhere else) and it's about a similar price to many of the other cafes in Marrakech. We would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Our favourite place to eat in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had already eaten at a few other local restaurants when we stumbled across the Kasbah Café, and wish we had found it earlier in our visit. We ended up returning twice. Unlike many other local places, it is really clean. The staff are friendly and courteous, and the food was very tasty and good value (we paid the same price for similar meals at other local places, and had been disappointed, but not here). The rooftop terrace was such a welcome relief from the heat, with fine mist spraying out to cool us down comfortably. The terrace also provided a lovely view of the surrounding area, and we enjoyed listening to the muezzin while we ate dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kasbah Cafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Kasbah Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.