We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kasbah Cafe - A Delightful Place opposite the Saadian Tombs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Cafe

Kasbah Cafe
47 Batouil, Kasbah, opposite the Saadien Tombs | in the old City wals, Marrakech, Morocco
2120524382625
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 699 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan, Pizza, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Gateshead, England
Level Contributor
649 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
“Kasbah Cafe - A Delightful Place opposite the Saadian Tombs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having been disappointed by the Saadian Tombs and emerging from there into near forty degree heat in the afternoon what a wonderful sight the Kasbah Café was immediately opposite. We quickly made our way inside and what a wonderful friendly welcome we received. We decided to stay inside and downstairs as the rooftop would have been unbearable. We had a few quick snacks and sodas all at reasonable prices and chatted with the staff who were superb. The inside was attractively decorated and nothing was too much hassle. I even got my camera batteries re-charged without any fuss. We spent about three quarters of an hour in the Kasbah Café and really enjoyed the place. We didn't really try a full meal but what we did have was delicious and extremely reasonably priced. If you visit the tombs then certainly drop by here for a warm Moroccan welcome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveJacksonnufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great food and free wifi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We went to Kasbah after walking for more than 5-plus hours exploring the palaces and tombs. We had tagine and pastilla which were awesome. Fresh juice and reasonable priced, it was place to stretch our legs before another hours of excursion.

Would strongly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bjnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Definitely worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Located within the town, it is a great location, with the option of sitting upstairs on the balcony, overlooking the street. I loved the mist sprays which in the warm night temperatures were quite refreshing. Very friendly staff, great food. You should try it for some Moroccan cuisine, quite enjoyable.... and the juice (try the one with peaches). It has a very relaxing atmosphere and it is value for money. A must try if in Marrakech.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anyil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This cafe is situated in the Kasbah District which is a nice place to spend an afternoon if you want somewhere quieter than the main square and souks. We had the pizza and the tagine, and on another occasion the omlettes, and the food is what brought us back. The kefta tagine was the best tagine I had in the two weeks we were in Morocco, and the chicken pizza was so tasty.

Sitting out the front of the cafe is a good place to watch the world go by (a bit more slowly than everywhere else) and it's about a similar price to many of the other cafes in Marrakech. We would definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cheeseandchive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Our favourite place to eat in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had already eaten at a few other local restaurants when we stumbled across the Kasbah Café, and wish we had found it earlier in our visit. We ended up returning twice. Unlike many other local places, it is really clean. The staff are friendly and courteous, and the food was very tasty and good value (we paid the same price for similar meals at other local places, and had been disappointed, but not here). The rooftop terrace was such a welcome relief from the heat, with fine mist spraying out to cool us down comfortably. The terrace also provided a lovely view of the surrounding area, and we enjoyed listening to the muezzin while we ate dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BDKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kasbah Cafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Kasbah Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing