We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah Cafe

Kasbah Cafe
47 Batouil, Kasbah, opposite the Saadien Tombs | in the old City wals, Marrakech, Morocco
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just had a coffe but was friendly greated!
We had just been for a walk in a somewhat aggressive Kasbah, so it was nice to be met by such friendly staff.
There are leaflets in the café about a nearby hammam, Les Bains de l'Alhambra which we tried out. Amazing!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    124
    180
    40
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Delivers on service and ambiounce.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great place to eat or just stop over while visiting Kasbah or the Royal Tombs. We had a mint tea on day, ice cream the other. We also met with some friends for dinner. You eat on the level with the storks.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Left the Saadian Tombs needing luch and found the Kasbah Cafe right across the road. I was ideal for the family as the children had pizzas but my wife and I could enjoy a last authentic Morroccan meal before our trip home. Lovely atmosphere and view from the Terrace. Entirely filled with tourists - so not for everyone - but nice for us to interact with a spanish group. Great ice cream bar on the way out.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerlo , Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“nice cafe with beautiful view on Marrakech from the roof top terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

very nice place to have a drink or lunch. try to sit on the top floor , because you have a nice view on the south-medina and the saadian tombs.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A really great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Although the advertised price of 120 dirhams for a 3 course menu seemed more expensive than other restaurants that we had visited during our stay, we decided to eat in the roof terrace of the Kasbah Cafe, and were so glad that we did.
Before the ordered 3 courses arrived, the waiter bought us a small bowl of vegetarian soup as a gift and a container of delicious local bread to eat with it. The starter was a Moroccan salad that was almost a meal in itself, with four different kinds of salad presented on the same plate with olives to garnish, all delicious! The main course was a perfectly cooked chicken tagine with preserved lemons, olives and couscous, difficult to fault! This was followed by a plate of oranges steeped in honey and cinnamon, garnished with walnuts.
The rooftop setting of the Kasbah Cafe was quite magical, and we watched the rooftop storks on the building opposite settling down for the night as we enjoyed our meal.
I would recommend this restaurant most heartily for its cheerful service, magical setting and exceptionally good food and value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kasbah Cafe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Kasbah Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.