We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent riad (needs to improve some little details)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magellan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Magellan to your Saves list
Riad Magellan
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 1,064 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excelent riad (needs to improve some little details)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay very much: the riad was really nice, the architecture, the rooms, decoration... The owner was extra helpful and wanted to make you feel like at home, giving recomendations for the city, etc. Only some things could be improved: the lady that works in the riad and takes care of the breakfast was not nice at all... and breakfasts could include something else, they were a little bit limited. Apart from this, recommendable totally!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    82
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
119
455
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at Riad Magellan for four nights together with my daughter. For me it was my second stay. We really enjoyed our stay very much. The Riad has a perfect location, it is a five minutes walk from the Djemma al Fna, it is very quiet ant the staff members are very kind, helpful and offer superb service. They offer and coordinate very effective and friendly transport from and to the airport, the transport of the luggage on the cart by the humorous M. Mohammed is a pleasant experience in itself. I highly recommend this Riad.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good, but perhaps the rooms upstairs are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Loved this Riad. It has a lovely laid back feel and only 2 mins walk from all the souks. We had two fantastic evening meals which was the best food we had the table and surroundings we laid out really well.Phillip and the staff were very knowledgable and helpful.Would definitely recommend this riad.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Love this riad! It was stylish, comfortable and worth well more than riads asking for twice the price. It has a cool, easy vibe and invites lounging whether in its comfy hammock or on its two rooftop patios. The riad is very well situated. It was easy - well ok, easier than most - to find, and very convenient to the Djemma el Fna. Adil, the house manager, was soft spoken, calming and competent. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Phillipe is wonderful, the staff friendly and the riad peaceful. Bliss :) it is in the heart of the medina near the square an even nearer the souks. It's very calm and there is some one to let you in 24hours a day. Great mint tea and wireless internet if needed.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Small by comparison to some Riads I've stayed before, and absolutely gorgeous. Just around the corner from the Jmaa el Fna where crowds of people and excitement is the norm, Riad Magellan is a quiet and peaceful haven. The staff are very obliging and helpful and the riad itself is beautifully maintained. A mixture of Western art pieces and curios with Moroccan opulence and style in the decor is really great. The host, Philippe is extremely helpful and knowledgeable and a wonderful adviser for things to do and see around Marrakech (as well as other places around Morocco). He is fluent in French and English. We loved it so much, that we made it our base as we travelled to and from Marrakech. I highly recommend this beautiful Marrakech Haven.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms and they were all wonderful....there are only 6 rooms in total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I absolutely loved and highly recommend Riad Magellan as a place to stay in Marrakech. Philippe the host is a beautiful person, happy to help in any way, and completely fluent in English for those of us who aren't that good in French or Dharija (Moroccan Arabic). The staff are kind and attentive and the riad itself is like an oasis in the hustle and bustle that is Marrakech. I loved my stay there and plan to go back again later this year. I cannot recommend this delightful riad and it's people highly enough.
Thank you Philipe!

Room Tip: I especially loved the purple twin room upstairs but all are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan

Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 1,064 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 6 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Magellan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.