We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and perfectly located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magellan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Magellan to your Saves list
Riad Magellan
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 1,148 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and perfectly located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Just back from a long week end in Marrakech.
We stayed at the Riad Magellan and had fantastic time there. The Riad is very quiet and clean. The staff is really helpful and gave us good recommendations to spend the time out.
Breakfast is homemade and very good.
Fast WiFi is available in the central yard.
I would definitely go back. Nothing more to say.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bnd75003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We arrived in darkness on a Sunday evening. We were met,as arranged, at the airport by a taxi who took us as far as cars can go. A porter then took over where the taxi driver left off and led us through the unique pattern of streets to the Riad Magellan. We were greeted warmly and were soon drinking mint tea in beautiful surroundings. We had pre-booked the evening meal option and were not disappointed. It was served by an open wood fire, rose petals decorated the table and the food was freshly prepared and authentic. The next morning, after a superb breakfast, we had an extremely clear explanation of how to find our way in the confusion of the narrow streets outside. The staff are all helpful and friendly and we have seldom felt so relaxed on a short break. Philippe should be very proud of the Riad Magellan and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I visited Marrakech with friends. Our stay in the Riad Magellan could not have been better. We were met at the airport by a taxi and taken into the Medina, we then walked through a confusing series of alleyways and narrow roads through the souks before arriving at a wooden door in the wall. When we walked through the door we found ourselves in a beautiful courtyard and were invited to sit and drink mint tea while we were told about sights we may wish to see and directions and a map on how to get to them. Riad Magellan is very well placed for visiting in the Medina, very near the souks and many tourist attractions. The staff were so friendly and accommodating and the rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corbetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Phillippe was extremely helpful before we arrived and responded to any questions I had as well as putting me in touch with a local hot air balloon company. Our luggage was transported to the riad, a service that was invaluable seeing as we would probably had a stressful experience finding the place otherwise.

We had a great welcome and the riad was clean and friendly and in a great location. We stayed in the Red room which was lovely although could be a little noisy!

Mohammad was probably our star of the stay, he made us full Moroccan breakfast at 5 in the morning on 2 occassions, although he didn't speak any English we managed fine through some classroom french and sign language. (he definately thought we were bonkers getting up at that time!) Also recommend having a meal there.

All in all a great first experience of Marrakech

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sozzlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel and its proprietor, Phillipe, were excellent. My friend and I visited Morocco to climb in the Atlas Mountains and wanted somewhere to stay on our arrival and return from Jebel Toubkal. We were very warmly welcome and our travel plans were completely accommodated by Phillipe; we weren't sure what time we'd get back from our trek and despite our late arrival, Phillipe made sure we got back to the hotel and that our dinner was ready when we were (several drinks and a shower later). In the morning there was no rush to get up and our bags were looked after while we explored Marrakech, When we returned to head back to the airport, our porter and taxi were ready and waiting for us. An exceptional experience of a quality far better than many top-end hotel brands.

Room Tip: Just call Phillipe, explain what you would like, and I am certain he will accommodate you the best h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Amazing location, in a very good position! Phillipe and his staff gave us all information to visit the Medina! The building is really delicious and clean! It's the haven into the crazy Medina ;-)! Sorry for my terrible English...! :-(
Ciao Phillipe, thank you!!! :-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex7309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

a big thankyou to phillipe and his staff for making our stay a memorable one, nothing was too much trouble and they gave us a true morrocan welcome. I would recommend this riad for it`s position near the centre and the service which was exceptional,thankyou and hopefully will visit you again one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peterw5506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#46 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#27 of 1,148 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,556 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#91 of 1,148 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan

Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 1,148 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 5 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. Riad Magellan offers a plunge-pool in its courtyard and a free access wifi connexion ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing