We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magellan

Save Saved
You added Riad Magellan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Magellan
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed there for 3 days this week and found the riad absolutely charming. The staff were very friendly and helpful--arranging pickups to and from the airport as well as supplying directions everywhere and arranging a car to take us to Essaouira (recommended).The riad is down some twisting alleyways but soon it is very easy to find--it is very close to the main square being in the heart of the Medina.We had dinner at the riad on two of the nights as it is such a quiet and peaceful place to be after being hassled all day!--the food was excellent. My only quibbles(or suggestions) would be that the showers were rather difficult to normalise(i.e. too hot or too weak)and that it would be a welcome addition if it might be possible to have a cold drink machine somewhere in the raid for the moments when you return from a hot and stressed trip into the souks! Otherwise a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    81
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
116
454
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the Riad Magellan for 6 nights and I can highly recommend it for an extended stay in Marrakesh. The Riad is conveniently located, and Philippe the owner was very helpful in explaining the geography of the medina meaning that we did not get lost very often, as well as recommending the best places to eat and visit. It is beautifully furnished and we stayed in the Plum room. Dinner was complementary on the first night, and so we were breakfasts every morning. The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome - thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Riad Magellan is a peaceful little property situated in the heart of Marrakech. Upon our arrival we were greeted with some refreshing mint tea. The owner, Philippe, was very pleasant and helpful. He provided us with some recommendations for dining and attractions as well as tips on how to interact with locals. We enjoyed our stay very much. However, since we rely heavily upon internet access, we found the wi-fi connection a little unreliable and confined to a small area in the foyer. This is the only thing we could suggest for improvement. Otherwise, a great little find!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a few night in June 2013. The riad is in the center of the medina with easy access to the souks and a 5 minute walk to the Djemma El Fina (main square). The staff was friendly, morning breakfasts delicious and rooms clean and quiet. I would highly recommend staying here. Phillipe the owner from France gave good advice on spots to visit in the medina and dining options. Advice take the airport transport 15 euro, without it navigating through the medina fresh off an airplane for the first time can be overwhelming.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ideal location for exploring the souks, main tourist attractions and less than 10 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fna, yet Riad Magellan is a cool oasis of peace and tranquility amid the lively bustle of Marrakech at 43 degrees. Love the decor, stylish accoutrements and little details like rose petals on my pillow. Stayed in the blue room which was small but had everything you need, including a great shower.
Staff were smiling, friendly and helpful throughout and nothing was too much trouble, from organising a trip to the Atlas mountains, to how you like your eggs for breakfast. I was particularly impressed that Phillipe, the owner, introduced himself to all guests, made suggestions for places to visit and seemed genuinely concerned to ensure we had the best possible time.
Fantastic value for money, have recommended it to my friends and hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Choose ground floor rooms if you have trouble climbing steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sack
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Truely a gem in a hidden spot in the medina - literally. You need maybe more then one try to find this Riad as it is not directly on a main track of the souks. However, once you get it, it is a safe place to stay and if you get lost, locals will guide you to the reception for a couple of dirhams.

45 degrees celsius in Marrakech was a bit too much and a pool would have been nice, however it was not the purpose of our stay. A Riad with a pool is close by and for an entrance fee of 150 MAD you can swim and relax there.

The interior of Riad Magellan is very exquisite and stylish. You will find out by yourself, that the owners had an eye on details and decoration. By the way, all the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Jemaa el Fna is within 5-10 minutes walking distance and basically you are within the souks.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, which was quiet. Water pressure in the shower is probably a bit weak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were glad we arranged airport pickup (15 euros), air con car to just outside the city walls, then follow a guy who has your bags in a cart through the incredibly winding and confusing streets of marrakech to the hotel. Dont be put off by the dodgy route as there are some building works that you walk past/over. This Riad is great.

We had two rooms, Red room ground floor was beautiful with mezzanine level for the bed. Upstairs room opposite the bougainvillea a little less lavish but still very nice and a good size. Clean, pretty and attention to detail throughout. It had air con in the rooms but we didnt use it even with 40 degree days as the riad stays so cool during the day.

Adil who I think is the manager there was very welcoming and so helpful when arranging dinner/giving directions.

They have a gorgeous rooftop area where you can relax or have your breakfast. A quiet spot to get away from the hot and busy Marrakech. Enjoyed our dinner on the first night - great value and delish, plus brekkies were good. I have no hesitation in recommending this riad (and I already have!) to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan

Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 6 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Magellan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.