We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, nice atmosphere and centrally located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magellan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Magellan to your Saves list
Riad Magellan
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sack
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, nice atmosphere and centrally located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Truely a gem in a hidden spot in the medina - literally. You need maybe more then one try to find this Riad as it is not directly on a main track of the souks. However, once you get it, it is a safe place to stay and if you get lost, locals will guide you to the reception for a couple of dirhams.

45 degrees celsius in Marrakech was a bit too much and a pool would have been nice, however it was not the purpose of our stay. A Riad with a pool is close by and for an entrance fee of 150 MAD you can swim and relax there.

The interior of Riad Magellan is very exquisite and stylish. You will find out by yourself, that the owners had an eye on details and decoration. By the way, all the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Jemaa el Fna is within 5-10 minutes walking distance and basically you are within the souks.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, which was quiet. Water pressure in the shower is probably a bit weak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    83
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
120
458
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were glad we arranged airport pickup (15 euros), air con car to just outside the city walls, then follow a guy who has your bags in a cart through the incredibly winding and confusing streets of marrakech to the hotel. Dont be put off by the dodgy route as there are some building works that you walk past/over. This Riad is great.

We had two rooms, Red room ground floor was beautiful with mezzanine level for the bed. Upstairs room opposite the bougainvillea a little less lavish but still very nice and a good size. Clean, pretty and attention to detail throughout. It had air con in the rooms but we didnt use it even with 40 degree days as the riad stays so cool during the day.

Adil who I think is the manager there was very welcoming and so helpful when arranging dinner/giving directions.

They have a gorgeous rooftop area where you can relax or have your breakfast. A quiet spot to get away from the hot and busy Marrakech. Enjoyed our dinner on the first night - great value and delish, plus brekkies were good. I have no hesitation in recommending this riad (and I already have!) to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

From beginning to end, undoubtedly one of the best accommodations I have ever stayed in. The staff have gone above and beyond to make us feel welcome and at home. From showing us how to cook a traditional tagine to serving up candle light dinners at the riad! Every experience here has been amazing! The riad is set in the heart of the medina, perfect location! However, once inside the riad walls, you find nothing but tranquility and peacefulness! The owner and all his staff have been honest, helpful and incredibly kind. I have never written a review before to trip advisor, however, this experience has really inspired me to pay it forward. Such a fantastic gem, that I wholeheartedly recommend! Hannah and Pete, UK/Australia

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The service is friendly and professional. The location is right in the medina, which is very nice for tourism. The place is beautiful. All suggestions we got from the owner for food and sightseeing were also very valuable. We will be happy to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just finished 2 stays with Riad Magellan. We had red room which was quite nice being a loft style bedroom with entrance and sunken bathroom. Had to watch the shower as got hot but presentation and cleanliness vey nice. Location quite handy to souks and main square with only a couple of minutes either way. We had beautiful dinner first night which remained a highlight food wise. Staff and Philippe were all very good and helpful. We can recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: red room nice but didn't see any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

From before we even arrived in Marrekech, through to after we left, Phillipe and his staff at Riad Magellan made my sister and I feel totally at home, and completely pampered. Fantastic in-house service at the stunning little riad with even a Masseus that come to visit me!!! Gorgeous rooftop views and incredibly friendly staff serving us breakfast lunch and dinner as needed. The doorman even offered to walk and pick us when we went out for dinner in a bit of a rough spot.. He walked us all the home chatting and happy even though it was quite late. I felt like a local with secret knowledge about our surrounding area from day one. Thanks so much Phillipe... we will come back to stay if we are ever in Marrakech again!! xx Melo Howard Sisters

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was an incredible experience from the beginning till the end. To start with, the place is beautiful, the cleanliness of the rooms was excellent, the location couldn't be better, no complaints about the service...and one more thing which is very important for me, the food (Breakfast & dinner) was spectacular! and we had the chance to see how they prepared the food in the kitchen, and we were given the recipes. That was a very nice small detail...and small details make businesses bigger!!!

If I went back to Marrakech, there is no doubt that I will go straight to Riad Magellan!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan

Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 6 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Magellan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.