We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magellan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Magellan to your Saves list
Riad Magellan
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
“Perfecto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was an incredible experience from the beginning till the end. To start with, the place is beautiful, the cleanliness of the rooms was excellent, the location couldn't be better, no complaints about the service...and one more thing which is very important for me, the food (Breakfast & dinner) was spectacular! and we had the chance to see how they prepared the food in the kitchen, and we were given the recipes. That was a very nice small detail...and small details make businesses bigger!!!

If I went back to Marrakech, there is no doubt that I will go straight to Riad Magellan!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    83
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
120
458
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fes, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent riad, very clean and a lot of attention to detail, good value, fantastic service, very helpful owner and staff, who help you navigate the maze of Marrakech. A quiet place in the chaos of the medina. Transport to and from the station was arranged and Our luggage was transported and all we had to do is follow the wagon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I felt compelled to write a review about our recent trip to Marrakech. We travelled as part of a wedding party and were very pleased to be placed in the welcoming hands of Philippe and Stephanie, the hands-on owners of the Riad.

Despite being a stone's throw from the bustling markets, Riad Magellan is a calm, serene, picturesque environment with lots of cosy places to sit and unwind. The rooms are comfortable and clean and authentically Moroccan throughout.

Trust in the calming Philippe to look after you in any way he can (be it a late breakfast, late checkout, taxis, airport transfers) not to mention his superb recommendations which thoroughly enhanced our trip (the Spa he recommend was superb).

Our trip was brief, but made even more memorable by Philippe and his friendly, attentive staff. If we ever return, we will no doubt visit Riad Magellan (and of course the Spa!)

Incidentally, if you’ll be visiting Marrakesh for the first time, don’t be put off by the meandering walk to access the Riad - it’s typical of the Morrocan Maze that is Marrakesh (and Philippe will go through the various landmarks so you can easily find your way!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Riad Magellan one night only at the end of our Morocco's trip. Philippe, the Owner arranged for us parking next to the Riad's entrance as well as assistance for the luggage — that was very efficient and well organized. After immediate check-in we could relax in our tastefully decorated room and enjoy beautiful view from the terrace. Although it was hard to find the entrance (small streets in Medina plus some public works in front of the main door), after couple of minutes we felt safe and we recognized all the directions — thanks to very welcoming and helpfull staff. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at Riad Magellan over the Easter break. Philippe, Adil and the rest of the staff were fantasic and looked after us so well. The were attentive, professional and ever so friendly. Adil was a super star and always there to help and welcome us. The riad is immaculate and tastfully decorated, the right balance between Moroccan and Western. The location is perfect, literally a few mins walk into the hussle of the medina. We would definitely reccomend this riad, so worth the stay and you won't be dissapointed. Thanks to all at the riad for looking after us and making it a very momorable stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penne d'Agenais, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a superb 3 nights, though the first night was spent in their sister Riad Hugo due to a technical fault on the booking form. Inspite of us changing our plans several times all our requirements were met with great efficiency and very friendly staff. Adil was an incredibly helpful member of the Riad's staff. Airport pickup was easy, Riad Hugo, just round the corner from Magellan was beautifully decorated with just 3 rooms. We had the place to ourselves and could choose any room! Again the staff were excellent. Breakfast was freshly prepared, copious and delicious. Pancakes, yogurt, fresh fruit, jams and freshly squeezed orange juice.

Our bags were transferred to Magellan while we were out exploring the souks, which were less than 3 min walk away. Workmen were digging up the lanes outside the raid but once inside you couldn't hear a thing, it was amazing. Our bathroom was decorated with rose petals as was the bed...a nice touch. If I was being picky the toilet seat was a thin plastic one and one of the sockets was hanging off the wall but otherwise I couldn't fault Raid Magellan. The place has six rooms so feels quiet and intimate and you get a great level of service. The roof terrace was lovely and the communal spaces are well thought out with some great design touches. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Riad Magellan was a very nice place to stay. We were unlucky that the weather was uncharacteristically cold in Marrakesh when we were there, but the rooms were VERY comfortable, with heaters and the water in the bathrooms was very hot. Modern renovations to the rooms were very important in this case - it was not drafty or cold-feeling inside. We stayed in the Red Room, and the bath was fabulous - really big. We returned a few days later and stayed in the Blue Room - also nice. The weather turned beautiful, and we were able to enjoy the rooftop views of the mountains. The hotel was tastefully decorated, and small touches (like rose petals in the pool) were not unnoticed. The lighting was soft and contributed to the ambiance. Phillipe was available for anything we asked and was genuinely welcoming and helpful. He is also very relaxed, and this contributes to the overall feel of the hotel.

Room Tip: stayed in both the Red Room and the Blue Room - both nice, although the bath in the Red Room is real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan

Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 6 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Magellan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.