We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magellan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Magellan to your Saves list
Riad Magellan
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 1,123 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An absolute delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We chose to stay at the Riad Magellan for a week's holiday in Marrakech. We found the Riad to be an absolute delight and a true oasis to return to at the end of the day after the hustle & bustle of the City. All the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. They were able to arrange two fantastic day trips for us. The Riad is the perfect distance away from the main square as to not hear any of the noise but close enough that it takes only 5 minutes to get there. I would highly recommend for anyone to stay here as this was one of the most enjoyable places we've had the pleasure of staying at.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    86
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
124
464
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed as a family of 4 with our 2 kids early teens. This beautifully decorated riad is a delightfully peaceful haven and provided a welcome relaxing escape from the busy streets of the Medina. The riad has a cosy homely and authentic feel to it with furnishings of different colour themes in each room, just enough colour to enhance the beautiful natural stone walls throughout. The traditional fountain in the central patio open to the sky where we enjoyed a quiet breakfast in the sunshine. Staff are very polite, attentive and discrete - also helpful in assisting us with any info or help we needed getting around or making restaurant bookings etc. Food is delicious and breakfast was a treat every morning. I would definitely return and would recommend to anyone who appreciates places to stay with authenticity, history and natural beauty.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were part of wedding guests and my parents were staying at Riad Magellan . I have to compliment the staff on the excellent service they provided in looking after my family especially my father who was disabled. I am afraid being part of the wedding guest we were in and out of the Riad and have to thank the staff for their patience. It is located in the Medina which gave us easy access to the venues.
Well done to Phillpe and his staff for making us feel welcome .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Yes, it's as lovely as everyone says. The friendly owner, Phillipe, and his superb staff Adil and Mohammed are very knowledgeable and more than helpful. You can't find a better place to stay in Marrakech.

We found the rooms comfortable, very clean and the whole Riad atmosphere so relaxing. It is perfectly situated in the medina - a short walk to everything, and the cost, more than fair.

We are so appreciative of all the assistance we received. They accommodated our every request.

We purchased three rugs at a store that didn’t ship. Adil went with us to the local post office and helped us set up shipment to the US. Magellan’s stellar cooking staff accommodated my special request to indulge in goat head for our evening meal and Mohammed taught me how to eat it.

We recommend Riad Magellan to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were in Marrakech on holiday and attending a wedding at the same time. Together with our friends we were renting the whole riad. Riad Magellan was an excellent place to stay with elegant rooms and numerous seating areas. It is right in the Medina - full of atmosphere and character, within easy reach of the shops and Jemaa el Fnaa.

The breakfast was very well prepared and gave us a good start every morning. Thanks to Philippe and the team, Adil, Fatuma, Amina and Mohammed, they were very good hosts and looked after us very well. No request seemed to faze them, everything was delivered with a smile and good humour. Inspite of our trip being busy we felt very relaxed and will definitely go back for more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at both Riad Magellen and a sister Riad (Riad Majala). Both were charming and beautiful and helped make our stay in Marrakesh. Both are burried in a series of derbs (alleys) but we never had any real difficulty finding and the locations added to the magical effect of walking through the door of the riads.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If visiting Marrakech, the only place to stay is in the Riads within the city's old walls. Last thing you want to do is stay at the colorless big chain hotels when in Marrakech. The Riads are beautiful palaces hidden behind decrepit walls and tiny doors - you would never expect such an oasis of ornaments, Moroccan architecture, beautiful inner courts and rooftop terraces when you are standing outside ringing the doorbell.

We stayed at the Magellan for a friend's wedding in March. Location is perfect just seconds away from the main square and shopping streets (mainly colourful outdoor markets selling anything from spices, jewelry, meat, fruits to the usual set of fake LV bags and Buddha heads). Staff is incredibly friendly and the rooms all have a genuine Arabic feel to them. When you are fed up of hanging out in your room, you can laze around the inner courts or terraces and sip some sweet mint tea while smoking a shisha... What more can you ask for?

Ah yes well If you are hungry (and I mean really hungry) - ask for the Mechoui. Best lamb I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan

Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 1,123 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 6 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Magellan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.