We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pretty and peaceful. Great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magellan

Save Saved
You added Riad Magellan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Magellan
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 1,037 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Really pretty and peaceful. Great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

It was a smooth journey from the airport to the Riad, having let the owner (Philippe) know in advance the day before on email. Upon reaching we were immediately greeted with tea and snacks and given a run down on possible places to visit, general tips for travel and a helpful answer to our many many questions. The Riad is located very close to the Medina (about 5 min walk) and although the little roads can get confusing we were provided with a map that helped us navigate our way around. The rooms were very comfortable and the only small problem we faced was the heat of the water from the shower which fluctuated between cold to scalding. Apart from this, breakfast was wholesome and delicious all three days, the guard Mohammed was a star with any little requests we had post dark and it really is a beautiful building. I don't think I'd visit Marrakech again but if I were to, I'd stay here. Thanks Philippe!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    735
    82
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
113
452
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Having never experienced anything similar to Marrakech before it is fair to say I was a little intimidated at first. But from the moment we were greeted by our luggage porter (the Riad is in the heart of the Medina so our transport was met at the nearest gate) I started to relax. His beaming smile and open gestures meant that despite only understanding some of his French we knew we were in good hands.

Weaving through the streets and alleyways we started to marvel and wonder at our surroundings. The dark wood door of the Riad opens into a light and airy courtyard and once inside the hustle and bustle of the Medina is replaced by tranquil trickle of the water feature. We were warmly welcomed (plenty of mint tea) and settled in and also provided with maps, directions, a few highlights and importantly, a couple of key identifiers to help us get back to the Riad.

Our room (the Red room) had a comfortable 'lounge' area downstairs along with a bathroom that housed the biggest bath I have ever used. A staircase led up to the mezzanine bedroom. Everything about the room was great - comfy bed, clean and tidy, good lighting; I could even get on to the wifi from the room (very useful for planning our day's activities). Back to the bath - honestly, it is huge, so much so that I thought there would never be enough hot water to fill it, so we put it to the test. Needless to say the tap never ran cold and a relaxing, bubble filled mega-bath proved the perfect unwind after a day in the souks.

We met Philippe the owner on our second day and he made a point of introducing himself and making sure we were settled in. He subsequently helped us with several touristy queries including researching and booking a hot air balloon flight, all without fuss. It is always nice to stay somewhere that the owner is involved, there is much more care and attention and Philippe was the epitome of that. We didn't dine in of an evening but we filled ourselves on the breakfast each morning.

Despite our initial reservations about Marrakech we left having loved our few days and are sure that a big part of that was our great experience at Riad Magellan.

Room Tip: Didn't see any room but ours (the Red Room) but as mentioned, the bath was impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This riad is beautifully restored with a nice courtyard and beautiful, comfortable rooms. It's a great choice and Phillipe, the owner and manager is very helpful. Unlike other riads, he seems to stay on for most of the year and is very accessible to travellers. The staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed in a few different riads in Marrakesh (because we extended our stay last minute and had to find other bookings) and this one came out on top at this price range.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Riad Magellan on a first holiday to Marrakech.

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff and offered mint tea and biscuits in the serene courtyard as we checked in!

The Owner Philippe then met us and have some fantastic tips on getting around the Medina as well as excellent dinner and Hammam recommendations!

The rooms was perfect and the breakfast sumptuous.

I would highly recommend this beautiful Riad to anyone staying in Morocco! Also make sure you have dinner at the Riad and order the chicken tagine!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding in Marrakech and Stéphanie and Philippe went far beyond just being helpful. Stéphanie has lots of experience with weddings in Marrakech, and made our preparation so much easier, introducing us to suppliers, venues and touring the medina with us, as well as giving us ideas and pointers along the way. Additionally Philippe not only took care of some of our guests who stayed in Magellan, but also took responsibility for putting the rest of our guests in various riads in the same area in the medina and was their point of contact. They also helped us with organizing transport for our guests between the various venues during our wedding celebration. In short, no request was too big!

Our guests had nothing but praise for the staff and Philippe, an excellent place to stay for anyone who wants to experience the medina according to their wishes! Philippe has a wonderful way of understanding what a guest is like, what kind of restaurant he/she would appreciate and what activities to partake in.

Aside from the excellent and friendly service, the rooms are beautiful as is the Riad itself and offers absolutely amazing value for money! We would recommend Magellan highly to anyone looking to have the "real" Marrakech experience!

Thanks again for all your help Stéphanie and Philippe!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent 5 days in Riad Magellan during Christmas break. 100% Hit! The bedrooms are decorated with great taste and the patio is magical...
It is located in the best area of the Medina: quiet, close to very good restaurants and the souks and an easy way out of town…. The staff is very helpful and professional. Philippe, the owner, makes you feel at home and is of great advice for restaurants, places to visit or trips out of the city. He definitely contributed to this great week in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is a great place with very attentive staff who have lots of advice and provide great service. The communal areas are fantastic - we had dinner one night by the open fire which was absolutely delicious. The table had been decorated with rose petals, candles and looked magical. In the mornings we had breakfast on the rooftop terrace in the sun and despite being right in the middle of the Medina it is incredibly tranquil. Philippe goes above and beyond providing great travel advice and recommendations for not just Marrakech but Morocco too. We highly recommend this riad for a relaxing and delightful holiday.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the first floor as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan

Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 1,037 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 6 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Riad Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Magellan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.