We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING ROMANTIC RIAD!!! PERFECT LOCATION. 10/10” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magellan

Save Saved
You added Riad Magellan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Magellan
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Marrakech
1 review
“AMAZING ROMANTIC RIAD!!! PERFECT LOCATION. 10/10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Phillipe was a perfect host who speaks very good English and is an absolute Legend.
He gave us loads of info and advice for good places to eat and drink and was so easy to speak to.
Good central location in the heart of the Medina 2min walk from the square.
The room was lovely, clean and spacious as was the rest of the beautiful, traditional Riad.
All the staff were very accommodating and friendly.
Felt very safe and such a refuge from the madness of Marrakesh!!!!
As a young English couple speaking no French it was a very pleasant ,romantic stay .
STAY HERE!!!! DON'T STAY IN A BIG HOTEL OUT OF TOWN!!!!!! 10/10

Max Mulligan Norwich UK

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    81
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
116
454
33
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Riad Magellan for a long weekend in Marrakech in October 2012. From the moment I arrived, I was well looked after and everything about the accommodation was fabulous. We stayed in two different rooms over the weekend and both were clean and well set up with the basic amenities. The common areas of the Riad were cozy and full of character and atmosphere. The service was fabulous. The recommendations for where to go and what to do were perfect and the general feeling of the place was very comfortable and familial. I would highly recommend the place to anyone going to Marrakech and would gladly stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Aussie in London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I can't rate my stay at Riad Magellan highly enough. I spent 5 nights here, a couple on my own before a friend joined me. The Riad is beautifully appointed, with stylish rooms and lots of common areas to lounge around and relax. The staff were absolutely wonderful, always at the ready to help with any questions or queries or to serve up a pot of mint tea! The riad is perfectly located, tucked away down a quiet alley in the heart of the medina, minutes from the main square Jemaa el Fna and the souks. I couldn't have imagined a lovelier place to stay, and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a delightful place to stay, right in the heart of Marrakech's Medina. We stayed for three nights. The staff were great. The owner Philippe was on hand to give excellent advice about getting around and local places to eat. Splendid breakfasts, Morocco style, and a terrific tajine one evening cooked exclusively for us. Fabulous roof terrace to relax, plus a small outdoor and discreet jacussi. You'll need a guide to find the Riad Magellan but, once there, this is a haven of peace and tranquility amongst the chaos, madness and delight that is Marrakech. Go for it!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magelma, Propriétaire at Riad Magellan, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,


I wish to thank you for posting this nice review: it is very rewarding to get such a feedback for we, the team and myself, did our best to make your stay enjoyable. We constantly try to give as much value (best location / professional service / excellent meals / useful information on the red city) as possible for reasonable prices. Have a nice day!

Philippe
The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

outstanding riad for location and service. beautiful rooms, excellent staff for whom nothing is too much trouble-added bonus is that the proprieter is on hand to answer your every question and come up with recommendations. delicious breakfast also included. fantastic roof terrace to relax on after a long day in the souks and musuems. take the offer of an airport transfer (euros 18) to ensure you arrive stress-free. its easy to find but only once youve been shown the way-taxis do not take you up to the front door, but your porter will,its only a short walk from where the chauffer drops you off.
i can understand why hundreds of people have recommended this riad and it was on their advice that i chose it. it would be mad not.
thank you riad magellan. ps we went with two teenagers but also v suitable and romantic for couples

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I were recently in Marrakech for one night for business and stayed at Riad Magellan. We were very well looked after by Philippe and his staff and found the location very convenient to the souks, restaurants and the square. Also not too far to walk from the place they suggest you park your car.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

With a good location in the Medina and very friendly and helpful staff, this charming riad was spoilt by the disappointing quality of our yellow room. The seating area was dark, there was minimal hanging space, none full length, and the stairs to the upper sleeping level were steep and uneven. The owner did however change us to the more agreeable blue room for our last night's stay. None of the doors had locks, which we had never come across before in a hotel, but we were able to put passports etc in the hotel safe. We had an exceptionally good dinner one evening.

Room Tip: The yellow room is very dark and not well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan

Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 6 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Magellan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.