We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Magellan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Magellan to your Saves list
Riad Magellan
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 1,126 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Thank you to Phillipe and team for our stay in your beautiful Riad. Perfectly situated for the central square and the hussle and bustle of the souk, yet once inside the riad it is perfectly calm and beatiful. The rooms are beautifully decorated, we loved the floating rose petals in the pool in the courtyard. Everyone was so kind and helpful. we'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    87
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
125
465
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

I have just returned from Marrakech and can thoroughly recommend staying in this Riad. Adil, Phillipe and the rest of the staff took very good care of us and made us feel very much at home. Sometimes it was difficult to leave the Riad to go exploring as it was such a relaxing place to be!

If this is your first time in Marrakech I would recommend this place due to its perfect situation only a couple of minutes walk from the main square - although definitely get the airport transfer as finding it on your arrival would be nigh on impossible! After that a few handy hints and a little map were perfect for us to negotiate our way out to the square.

Having read the other reviews on Tripadvisor and booked the Magellan due to them I was expecting somewhere nice, but was delighted with the excellent finish to the riad - much higher than I expected. It is a perfect blend of traditional moroccan style with modern touches to the artwork which work really well together.

We stayed in the Red room which was lovely - bigger than expected and I think we could have fitted a whole rugby team in the bath!

Adil organised a trip for us to the Ourika Valley and took us out to watch a football match with him. The other members of staff were very helpful with directions and opening times to the nearby local hammam (an experience in itself!).

All in all my first trip to Morocco was everything I expected and more, and this was in large part to our stay in the wornderful Riad Magellan. I would recommend it to everyone and definitely be staying there on my next visit.

Room Tip: Red room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Absolute recomendation for your stay in the beautiful old town of Marrakech. Warm welcome, spotless rooms and great support. Thanks to Adil, Mo and Philippe!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We had a wonderful time at this Riad; it has a great vibe of calm and tranquility, and the staff are extremely helpful and accommodating. It is in a great location, not too far from the central square, and the rooms and the rooftop terrace are decorated with nicely authentic touches that give the place a very welcoming feel. However, a note of caution; we booked a sahara trip through the staff at the Riad, which ended up costing significantly more than neccessary, due to some pretty large arrangement fees. It is best to book trips directly at the travel offices in Marrakech, which are relatively easy to find. Nevertheless, our overall experience of this Riad was positive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our time at Raid Magellan, it's the perfect place to relax and unwind whilst in Marakesh.
The Raid is beautiful and the Staff are all really lovely and make you feel like you are right at home.

We had dinner on the roof top one evening and we all rated it as the nicest meal we had in our time in Morocco- I highly recommend you indulge yourself...

The Raid is well stituated with only a one minute walk and you are in the heart of the Souks.

If we ever return and I hope we do... We would certainly stay at Raid Magellan again.... Perfect!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed with the Riad Magellan for 5 nights in the Red Room. We cannot fault the amazing service from all of the staff and the Riad itself was a magical peaceful haven away from all of the craziness in the Medina. The location is fantastic. The only downside we could name would be the lack of air con (there was a fan) and the rather firm bed - but these are just a part of staying in an authentic Riad and hardly big issues! The breakfasts were great and we loved using the various lounges and terraces to relax. The other reviews are all very accurate and we would recommend this Riad without hesitation.

Room Tip: The Red Room is on the ground floor so right off the main courtyard. It has a huge bathroom and tub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

A very pleasent Riad. Very close to the square but tucked away in the many little back streets. Staff are very friendly and are on call to answer any questions you may have. Perfect for a long weekend stay. We stayed in the red room which we found to be very good. Seperate seating area with the bedroom up stairs. Watch the stairs though!

Room Tip: go for the red room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Magellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Magellan

Address: 62 derb el Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 1,126 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Magellan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Riad located in the best district of the Medina (Mouassine), 6 minutes walking distance from Jemaa el Fna main square: 6 en-suite rooms in a casual atmosphere mixing traditional elements and contemporary furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Magellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Magellan Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Magellan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.