We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost and Found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medina of Marrakech

Medina of Marrakech
Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$41*
and up
Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Maison...
Ranked #8 of 62 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Historic Sites, Neighborhoods, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This is one of the major landmarks in the city. It is a World Heritage Site and serves as a commercial center for much of central Morocco.
Eagan, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lost and Found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The Medina is such an amazing experience! The sights, smells, sounds around you are unbelievable! We never thought we'd find our way back to our riad because the twists and turns of the streets are so confusing! Shopping in the souks was quite the experience! Nothing has a price on it and everyone wants to sell you something. Loved seeing the snake charmers in the square...it's something you read about since you're a little kid and to see it in real life is quite the experience!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,287
    1,665
    546
    150
    120
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“You Have to Visit the Medina!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Others have said it all. However, I do believe it's a must, love it or hate it! Step back in time and savour it all.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Take a guide as you will get lost guaranteed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Very expensive compared to China (pashmina $8 in china and $20 in Marrakech). Europe is struggling financially so it is showing in the Marrakesh prices. Lots of rugs, pillows, silver jewellery and heaps of imitation bags, sunglasses and sand shoes. Their hand made leather slippers were very unique. 1 day is more than enough in the old town. I wouldn't take small children to Marrakech due to sanitary conditions or eat salads or fruit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you get lost, ask a shopkeeper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I loved it, but then I like being in a place where things haven't changed much for hundreds of years. If you get directed by 'helpful' guides to a distant part of the souk and get lost, don't panic, just ask any of the shop keepers. They are helpful, polite and will tell you how to get out of the souk.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Shops and store are lovely but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a whale of an experience in Medina meeting some lovely people and good bargains in the vicinity. The touting is on another level which borders on harassment but apart from that the buzzing atmosphere is a must visit area. Also let me warn you there is always a bad smell in the area where the open square is I think it is due to the poor drainage system.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Medina of Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina of Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.