We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you get lost, ask a shopkeeper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medina of Marrakech

Medina of Marrakech
Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$41*
and up
Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Maison...
Ranked #10 of 82 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Historic Sites, Neighborhoods, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This is one of the major landmarks in the city. It is a World Heritage Site and serves as a commercial center for much of central Morocco.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If you get lost, ask a shopkeeper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I loved it, but then I like being in a place where things haven't changed much for hundreds of years. If you get directed by 'helpful' guides to a distant part of the souk and get lost, don't panic, just ask any of the shop keepers. They are helpful, polite and will tell you how to get out of the souk.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,275
    1,655
    542
    150
    120
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Shops and store are lovely but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a whale of an experience in Medina meeting some lovely people and good bargains in the vicinity. The touting is on another level which borders on harassment but apart from that the buzzing atmosphere is a must visit area. Also let me warn you there is always a bad smell in the area where the open square is I think it is due to the poor drainage system.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“300 years back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Medina activity, views and odors are frenetic; as they may be 300 years ago, today's with the addition of cars and bikes.
The ONLY aspect that could be changes is the "over use" of animals for carriage pulling and goods transportation .. animals were not created for "paved" streets .... all the rest is FINE.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Similar to Old city of Damascus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I like it, it's same as Omayyad cities, Damascus, Fes, Meknes, there must be more signs to guide visitors.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Unable to relax and enjoy it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

As with a lot of North African cities, the medina of Marrakech is a sprawling, maze-like tangle of tight streets, people and wares. Where the area of the souks is the part most tourists will wander through - getting themselves utterly lost in the process - the medina itself offers a more intriguing mixture of day-to-day life. It's here that the locals shop, here that they buy their meat (from places I'd never touch), their bread and their vegetables. It's a hubbub of local culture and tourist eye candy, and where you'd be a little foolish to pick up some of the "bargains" on offer. One young man had a stack of headphones that purported to be Dr Dre Beats and was trying to tempt westerners with really low prices; none of those looking and listening to his patter stopped to wonder how he'd managed to get hold of stock that would have counted as several years worth of his basic income!

Despite the filth that covers more of the ground than it should, the medina would have been a much more interesting spot but for two terrible thorns - traffic and conmen. The former wouldn't be such a big problem if it were just the donkey carters and porters, but the mopeds that drive far too quickly through the narrow alleys are a definite danger, let alone the few random idiots that opt to drive a taxi along routes that are clearly restricted. Relax for a moment and you could very easily be run down.

As for the conmen, be alert. Late one evening we walked home on our usual route when a man stepped in front of us and told us the way ahead was closed. I asked why and he simply said that the mosque had closed it. He clearly picked something that most westerners would think twice about questioning before asking us where we needed to go and then offering to take us there . . . along a different route that was much darker, narrower and far less public. Luckily I had my wits about me and said "no". He objected but eventually we just walked away and went along our normal route, which was obviously open and offered no obstacles at all. Not something that solo or vulnerable travellers should have to deal with in the middle of a busy city, but it is one of those things you perhaps have to accept.

A fascinating place, but not one that I will be rushing back to any time soon.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Medina of Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina of Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.