We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shops and store are lovely but.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medina of Marrakech

Medina of Marrakech
Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$27*
and up
Medina Shopping Tour in Marrakech
Ranked #8 of 140 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Shops and store are lovely but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a whale of an experience in Medina meeting some lovely people and good bargains in the vicinity. The touting is on another level which borders on harassment but apart from that the buzzing atmosphere is a must visit area. Also let me warn you there is always a bad smell in the area where the open square is I think it is due to the poor drainage system.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Indiyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“300 years back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Medina activity, views and odors are frenetic; as they may be 300 years ago, today's with the addition of cars and bikes.
The ONLY aspect that could be changes is the "over use" of animals for carriage pulling and goods transportation .. animals were not created for "paved" streets .... all the rest is FINE.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Armendariz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Similar to Old city of Damascus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I like it, it's same as Omayyad cities, Damascus, Fes, Meknes, there must be more signs to guide visitors.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marwan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Unable to relax and enjoy it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

As with a lot of North African cities, the medina of Marrakech is a sprawling, maze-like tangle of tight streets, people and wares. Where the area of the souks is the part most tourists will wander through - getting themselves utterly lost in the process - the medina itself offers a more intriguing mixture of day-to-day life. It's here that the locals shop, here that they buy their meat (from places I'd never touch), their bread and their vegetables. It's a hubbub of local culture and tourist eye candy, and where you'd be a little foolish to pick up some of the "bargains" on offer. One young man had a stack of headphones that purported to be Dr Dre Beats and was trying to tempt westerners with really low prices; none of those looking and listening to his patter stopped to wonder how he'd managed to get hold of stock that would have counted as several years worth of his basic income!

Despite the filth that covers more of the ground than it should, the medina would have been a much more interesting spot but for two terrible thorns - traffic and conmen. The former wouldn't be such a big problem if it were just the donkey carters and porters, but the mopeds that drive far too quickly through the narrow alleys are a definite danger, let alone the few random idiots that opt to drive a taxi along routes that are clearly restricted. Relax for a moment and you could very easily be run down.

As for the conmen, be alert. Late one evening we walked home on our usual route when a man stepped in front of us and told us the way ahead was closed. I asked why and he simply said that the mosque had closed it. He clearly picked something that most westerners would think twice about questioning before asking us where we needed to go and then offering to take us there . . . along a different route that was much darker, narrower and far less public. Luckily I had my wits about me and said "no". He objected but eventually we just walked away and went along our normal route, which was obviously open and offered no obstacles at all. Not something that solo or vulnerable travellers should have to deal with in the middle of a busy city, but it is one of those things you perhaps have to accept.

A fascinating place, but not one that I will be rushing back to any time soon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
774 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Don't get lost!!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Wow!! What an experience. Go for it!! Remember where u entered and don't forget it at least have an exit strategy!!!! Very large market with so many different stalls. Think it is possible to buy anything here?!- bit u have to b prepared to haggle or get ripped off ?! Approach it with a good humour and that will be returned. Many offer to be ur guide and for about £1, that may be best money u have ever spent if you are not part of an tour group?! Fascinating stuff!!

Helpful?
Thank Paulsmithcasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Medina of Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing