We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An intense bustling old maze” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Medina of Marrakech

Medina of Marrakech
Marrakech 1000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 91 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Historic Sites, Neighborhoods
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This is one of the major landmarks in the city. It is a World Heritage Site and serves as a commercial center for much of central Morocco. Come ready to haggle!
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An intense bustling old maze”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Don't get me wrong, the Medina is definitely interesting and a must see. That being said, be prepared to get lost and have lots of pushy shopkeeps trying to get you to buy from them.

We even had one person who followed us from in front, and when we turned away he backed up and came in front again. Eventually we got so lost that we were stuck following him.

Definitely visit, but be prepared for severe culture shock, and relax afterwards with some mint tea.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,056 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,932
    1,433
    453
    130
    108
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“very busy and fussy market place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is not a resting place. If you look at something in one of the thousands of shops in this place the man in the shop start asking for your budget and want very hard to convince you that this particular item is unique and worth the money. It is not charming at all. It is very stressing. Most of the goods are made in China. You can find a nice place eiteher of one of the roof cafees or in one backyard here you can find peace, The square outside the old town is nivce and when the daylight dissapear the dinnner starts with a litle varity of menues. We had lamb and sheep head coocked and grilled. Cheap and good. This is a tourist place more than anything else and after a week in Morroco I must say I prefer the marked in Casablanca than Marrakesh.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“No place like it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Expect to be hassled to the point where you feel uncomfortable but that's all part of it's charm! Know how to haggle before you go. DO NOT trust anyone/be lead into any shops etc. Everyone is out for your money. If you feel really uncomfortable say that you're going to go to the tourist police and you will be left alone. Very daunting the first night but once you know how to handle them you will love it!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Get an early morning guide and avoid the rush whilst learning about how the old city came to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

If you can book a tour of the medina with a knowledgeable guide then do. We learned about Moroccan life, how the city came to be, why the buildings are painted the way they are, why the doors have little hands on the handles, why some doors have two doors inside each other with two knockers, etc etc etc! Loads of little factoids that in themselves wouldn't be immediately obvious, but with a guide to bring the old city to life it's much more interesting if you get to tour it yourself during the night when it's busier!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An untouched city!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

It feels like you are going back in time visiting the medina! Its great for picking up leather goods, traditonal clothing and little bits for your home...and haggling for it makes it fun and you can come away with some great bargins!

I have a serious case of germ ocd so this place did test my limits at time and does feel quite dirty and has an unpleasent smell in parts but nothing that anti bacterial hand gel didnt solve!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Medina of Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina of Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Medina of Marrakech to your Saves list