We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colourful, noisy, intense, chaotic mayhem - but very enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medina of Marrakech

Medina of Marrakech
Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$40*
and up
Marrakech Medina Walking Tour Including Maison...
Ranked #8 of 61 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Historic Sites, Neighborhoods, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This is one of the major landmarks in the city. It is a World Heritage Site and serves as a commercial center for much of central Morocco.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Colourful, noisy, intense, chaotic mayhem - but very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The medina is very enjoyable and we stayed within the Medina at Riad Nashira. There is lots to see and do to enjoy the Souks and bartering with the locals to buy your items can be fun. Whilst it’s fun at first it actually does get a little tiresome after a few days of it but that’s just the way business is done in the Souk. The Medina is safe and you should have no problems walking around beyond the constant barrage of greetings from traders willing you into their shops. To enjoy the Medina even more, we hired a guide through the Riad who walked us around the Medina on a 4 hour walking trip and took us to lots of interesting places including lots of alleys, streets and areas that I wouldn’t have thought of walking down without a local. But this meant we got to see some amazing parts of the Medina off the beaten track where dyes were being made, and all kind of metal and leather work was being done by locals churning out the goods.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,361
    1,717
    569
    155
    121
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knokke-Heist
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very busy, colourfull and a real labyrinth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The medina is a must see, because of the variety of goods on sale there. You also see handcraftsmen at work. Pity that you can not just wander around and see for yourself as within some seconds someone comes up to you trying to buy you anything (you don't really need). You also need a guide to find your way through this labyrinth (we did) and take care, anyone seeing you lost in this small streets and coming up to you to help you expects some dirham for their kindness. Even if you didn't ask them to lead you all the way to one or another site, they just go ahead some metres before you, look back from time to times if you are still going in the same direction and at the end ask (demand) a 'contribution'. I suppose when you see the scale of poverty in some parts of this town, its normal that one hopes to earn his living in doing so.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Overpriced & Touristy, But Worth a Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our experience might be a little different than most because we elected to tour the endless stalls of the Medina with a local guide--a tip I'd recommend if you want to get an overview of the area before venturing off on your own.

The Medina is a very confusing maze where you can purchase everything from jewelery to olives and lamps. Our guide gave us prices we should pay and found that nearly everything we inquired about was 3-4x more expensive. Beautiful and elaborate caftans, for instance, were being sold for $80-100 here. While in Ville Nouvelle (new town, just 5-10 minutes outside the Medina), these could be purchased for about $20-25.

We didn't experience aggressive sales tactics and even though I was wearing a sundress, I didn't feel I was getting unwelcome attention. In general, I'd say 75% of Western female tourists wore shorts and tank tops (if not less) and it didn't really turn heads.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rip off merchants!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Save your money and go to paris instead. Everyone tried/did rip us off. Not happy jan! And people just continually hassled me, followed me, cornered me into shops. Didn't like it at all. And the quality of the stuff they are selling is crap too. Cheaper anywhere in Europe. And by the way, do these people realise they are in Africa, not europe!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Souk shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Get lost in the alleyways and side shops, but get ready to bargain. It's part of the custom and if you really want an item, stick to your guns! The highest compliment is when they tell you that you must be Berber because your bargaining is so good!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Medina of Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina of Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.