We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Medina of Marrakech

Medina of Marrakech
Marrakech 1000, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 91 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Historic Sites, Neighborhoods
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This is one of the major landmarks in the city. It is a World Heritage Site and serves as a commercial center for much of central Morocco. Come ready to haggle!
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shopping heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Wow we love the souq. There is lots on offer and lots of bartering and bargains to be had. You must be firm but fair. If you dont really want something dont get into a conversation over it or you may face some hostility just say firmly No Thankyou. La shukra. and walk away. You can have a good banter with the traders just dont waste their time or they may let you know about it. Not a passtime for shy and retiring people. Lots of fun.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,061 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,936
    1,433
    453
    131
    108
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Becket, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A map won't help, but it's a special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The medina is a huge maze of streets, shops and small workshops making all sorts of items. The main square comes Alice at night, and is truly a spectacle. We were able to navigate the 15 minute walk to the square, but getting back was another story. We stopped to ask for help a number of times, but it seems that no one can read a map. Eventually, we gave up and were able to get onto a street with taxis, but the driver didn't really know how to read the map or understand where we needed to go. He kept stopping to ask people for directions. Eventually, we made it back to a nearby gate that we recognized.

There is a lot of moped traffic within the medina which makes walking tricky. The sights are really interesting. We loved it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Fascinating place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

An absolute must visit...we went on a guided tour and would recommend this as its so easy to get lost.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bearsted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

loved the hustle and bustle. So many interesting things to look at. Great people watching sitting in a cafe watching everything going on. It was great having my brother and sister in law who speak French.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crowdy but worth to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Marrakech Medina is verry crowdy with lots of Scooters in the small streets but deffinately worth to see

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Medina of Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina of Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Medina of Marrakech to your Saves list