We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carpet bagged.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Medina of Marrakech

Medina of Marrakech
Marrakech 40150, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$40*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Ranked #6 of 150 things to do in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This is one of the major landmarks in the city. It is a World Heritage Site and serves as a commercial center for much of central Morocco.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Carpet bagged.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Essential to have a guide !

This is a must. If you can only do one thing while visiting Marrakech, you must go here. Comfy walking shoes are a priority.
You will be invited to purchase various items, just say "No" and keep walking.. The goods on show and for sale are absolutely
astonishing. Enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,030
    2,154
    707
    201
    154
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“medina madness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

we stayed on the edges of the medina, you will need a couple of days to orientate, a good map and strong shoes. maybe a strong stomach if you end up at the tanneries ! The locals will know with uncanny precision exactly which language you speak and where you are from, walk confidently with your map and avoid requests to help you find your way and people telling you that you are lost. After all its a walled city so there's only so far you can get lost!
Expect to feel suffocated with diesel fumes, take care on the roads, they are chaos. whole families on a tiny motor bike with the driver holding the baby !! i found it difficult to cross at times and needed to hang on to my partner.
Haggling is expected , and normal, (and yes i haggle in the UK all the time, often with good results!)
Alcohol is supposedly not allowed in the walled Medina, however a few restaurants and Riads do sell it, at a high price. Women should dress carefully, sometimes just putting a scarf over the shoulders is enough, and longer shorts, no minis/scimpy clothes.
Public toilets are interesting, you will need a coin to give the attendant. Restaurants have normal western style loos.
we did see tourists in wheelchairs, so assume everything is possible in this crazy place

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience - shopping and all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Once you get through the intimidating Djemma el Fna (and I am a born and bred New Yorker and I was intimidated!) the Medina in Marrakech is spectacular. My husband I had some things in mind we wanted but we bought even more!! The requirement here is bargaining. While am I not comfortable or good at haggling, I engaged in this "sport" throughout the Medina. The sights and sounds as you wind your way through the streets (much wider and easier to traverse than Fes) are spectacular. If you pass a vendor selling local macaroons from a tray while walking, by all means buy one (or two) - they are a delightful afternoon treat! I needed to leave the Medina, only because we had bought too much to carry. Ottomans, wall sconces, a tagine (which I thought we would never get home in one piece) and so much more.

My husband and I will treasure this trip forever (even after he finished gluing the tagine togather - oh well!)

Salaam!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“another world”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It's like being in another world inside the medina; the smells, sights... it was an unforgettable experience, but so chaotic. motorbikes nearly running over your feet, constant shouts (especially to young foreign women) and at times being followed. It wasn't my paradise, but it was an experience to see inside the medina.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sights, sound and smells!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Get a tour guide....not off the street...go with Rachid...you can find him on tripadvisor. That way you won't be overwhelmed, and you'll get an education too!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medina of Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Medina of Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medina of Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.