We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tour in Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Tours Excursions - Private Day Tours

Marrakech Tours Excursions - Private Day Tours
Borj Menara, Marrakech 52450, Morocco
+212600643098
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 447 activities in Marrakech
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Morocco Sports activities
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Tour in Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Earlier last month I booked a last minute trip to Spain along with two friends. While the planning unfolded we contemplated venturing south to Morocco. After booking a four day trip to Marrakech we were realized that if we were going down to Morocco we might as well go out to the Sahara and see the dunes right? Yes, that escalated quickly. It just so happens that from Marrakech the three mayor dune systems are 7.5 hours to Zagora and 10 hours to either Erg Chigaga or Erg Chebbi (BEST DUNES in terms of size, vastness and greatness). At first we were a little skeptical about spending 20 hours driving back and forth from the desert in a four day/3 night trip but "when in Rome..." Well we found out that most excursion companies that we contacted refused to take us since we wanted to do to much in too little time. Marrakech Tour Excursions was one of the few that were willing to take us out. This good initial impression never faded away proved to be accurate. From the pick up to the drop off back our driver, Hamid, was very professional, friendly and knowledgeable. We were picked up from Hostel Riad Marrakech Rouge in a very comfortable and I would say upscale Toyota Prado SUV. The added comfort of the personalized tour and the vehicle made the long drive something truly enjoyable. Between the conversations with Hamid and sightseeing from Marrakech to the desert the ride was well worth it. During the ride out you get to see changes in landscape from dry Marrakech to deciduous forest a you go up the Atlas Mountains up to the snow-covered peaks and back down eventually passing Ouarzazate (Moroccan Hollywood) and from there dissecting painteresque towns all the way to the desert. Once we arrived to Erg Chebbi we had the camels, or dromedaries as we learned is the proper name for the one-humped Saharan camel, and our desert guide Said waiting for us ready to go. We got out there just in time for the sunset as we trekked our way out to the Berber camp. Upon arriving I was favorably surprised by the facilities at the camp. The camp consists of a series of huts lined up one next to the other in typical Berber fashion. They even have a restroom set up out there in the desert! That night Said cooked for us the best tagine (chicken) which we had during the whole trip. After supper we went off to build a fireplace and Said played the tbe and bendir (berber drums) and chanted traditional folkloric music of the region. Next morning we we up before sunrise to see the sunrise above the sea of dunes. Once up we were left free to roam the surrounding dunes and sandboard our way to exhaustion. After this we camel trekked our way back to Merzouga while contemplating the vastness and perfectly shaped dunes. Once back at the town Said took us to the Hotel where we had a very good and filling breakfast followed by a shower before heading back to Marrakech. All in all if you can't judge by my experienceI am HIGHLY recommending going out to the desert and Marrakech Tour Excursions made this all possible for us. This is a great opportunity to witness the greatness of nature and immerse themselves in a completely foreign culture. This is why along with the great treatment we were given I would strongly suggest you contact them if you are contemplating any trip around Marrakech. Even if you are not going out to the desert they offer different tours like the Tour of the Imperial Cities in which they take you around different cities in northern Morocco. I cannot emphasize this enough, they are professional, amiable and easily approachable. If I were to go again I would definitely contact them.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A lifetime experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My friends and I went on a trip to the desert with Marrakech Tours Excursions. We really wanted to go into the desert but didn't have that much time. We contacted Joussef and he arranged a custom trip that was perfect for our needs (2 days/1 night from Marrakech to Merzouga/Erg Chebbi). Hamid, our experienced driver, picked us up early in the morning in a very comfortable air-conditioned 4x4. We arrived at the desert just before sunset and took a camel ride into the Erg Chebbi Dunes for approximately 1 hour. We spent the night in a traditional berber camp, where Said, our friendly host, prepared some traditional tajine for us. The next day we had a great time sandboarding. The price for the tour was very reasonable. I highly recommend M.T.E. to everyone.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful private tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family had an absolutely wonderful 4 day trip into the desert. We contacted Youssef about a trip from Fes to Marrakech and he arranged a wonderful itinerary. In particular, our guide Omar was excellent; he had a great eye for sights and obviously knew the area extremely well. As we learned, he grew up in the region where we traveled, and his love for the area really shone through during our trip. He showed us local schools and businesses they were helping to support, and it was really touching to see him and Youssef giving back so much to the Berber communities where they grew up. We spent a night out in Berber tents in the Sahara, another night far off the beaten track in the desert (after a day of off-roading), and a third night in the Dades Valley. Our driver was excellent as well; never once did I feel like we were unsafe or out-of-control, even though we drove nearly 100km through the desert with no roads in sight.

The price of the trip was incredibly reasonable -- much cheaper than if we had tried to book individual hotels and travel. More importantly, the company and the guide treated us like family, helping us bargain, recommending local specialties, and sharing stories from their own lives and experiences. No one ever pushed us to buy anything, unlike the guides in Fes and Marrakech. I will certainly be recommending this company to everyone I know traveling to Morocco.

One note: the desert areas we visited get quite cold in January, so bring warm clothes!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My husband and I adored M.T.E's tour into the desert!!!

That's due in huge part to our wonderful tour guide and driver, Joussef. It feels like going on a road trip with a good friend - he really went out of his way to make sure our journey felt easy, effortless and personal. Originally from a Berber village in the desert we were exploring, Joussef introduced us to his mother, brothers, and extended network of Aunties. We were invited to have lunch and tea with them, a wonderful glimpse into Berber life. His mom even made us a special drink to try to help calm our rumbly tummies.

Joussef's English is excellent, and he was able to answer even our most obscure questions, point out things we could never get from a guide book (try and learn the special hand signal for Berber independence!) and introduced to some pretty amazing contemporary African music (a must for a long, desert road trip).

Part of the trip was spent off-roading into the desert, where we really felt like we were the only people for miles and miles. It was a special treat to get to fully experience the silence and remoteness of the landscape.

Riding the camels was delightful, and not just some posed picture - we must have ridden the camels for an hour at sunset into the Erg Chebbi, the magnificent dunes of the Sahara.

Not once were we pushed to buy anything - a huge relief from the tour guides in the cities.

We highly recommend M.T.E. and Joussef for a really personal POV of Morocco.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hire a taxi from the street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Make the tours with a private taxi driver. just find a taxi that is more like a mini van; his car more like a new one, and the cost will be much cheaper than your hotel tour. All drivers know the points of interest and will be glad to take you on tour. We went to the five water falls and climbed up the mountain. It was a great day if not the best.

There is also the hop on hop off tour bus the we take in every city we visit. It is a good ride between the main tourists attractions and you get to see the city in ease.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Tours Excursions - Private Day Tours also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Tours Excursions - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Tours Excursions - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marrakech Tours Excursions - Private Day Tours to your Saves list