We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not recommend!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Litzy

Save Saved
You added Riad Litzy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Litzy
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   32 Jnan Ben Chagra, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #643 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Do not recommend!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have stayed there with 2 other friends in March this year. Riad is located in very narrow street in the old town, very close to the main square (10 min walk). It might take some time to get used to those narrow streets especially when coming back late in the evening.
The Riad itself was definitely not 5 star as advertised. The room had no windows, and there was no bathroom doors which is a bit awkward especially when going on holidays with friends. Also you could always feel a lots of moisture when you came to the room.
The breakfast was always the same, very sweet, and you always had to ask for more coffee/tea.
The staff was nice, however they could not speak a lots of English so it was difficult to communicate.
There was WiFi internet access, which was ok for most of our stay apart from one day when it stopped working.
There is additional climate tax charge, I think it is 3euro per person per night, it is worth to be prepared for that.
We would not recommend this Riad!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    26
    14
    5
    11
See reviews for
22
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

my esperience in riad litzy was absolutely perfect to live..to breath maroccain air.
they were gentle, precise,puntual ane every time ready to help us.
rooms werw nice,coloured and near the great centre of tha city!
brakfast wonderful and complete.
their the was excellent!

Room Tip: rooms at the first floor weere coloured and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We entirely concur with all previous 'Excellent' ratings and reviews on VENERE.COM. Therefore, we do not have much to add.

Found the riad to be managed by nice folks who were very friendly and helpful. The place was clean and creatively designed. Sometimes the neighbors were a little rowdy, but that's no fault of the riad -- and quite added to the medina experience. I also had food in the riad and found it to be flavorful and good. Hiccups included one night when I had to board at the neighboring riad because zenith overbooked. A little annoying, but it worked out just fine. All in all, found the place to be nice and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Dear riad I am writing this review to about your terrible service you give to me and my family which was bad and also I didn't understand why you put soup in your beard and also why didn't you put a bathroom door in our bathroom and also I am not very impressed at all with room and. We also would like to say that. You are both in trouble because we paid lots of money too come but no just wasted and we think the bedroom was very bad because of the sheets and the blankets you had given too us and also why. didn't. You come to see that there wasn't a bathroom door in the room at all
Ps I think

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A friend and I booked a week here in February via Fleetway Travel, on a half board basis. When we arrived at the Riad (which no-one knew where it was - not even the transfer driver!!) we were made very welcome. When we enquired about dinner we were taken to a local (VERY expensive indeed) restaurant and had to make our own way back via the little backstreets in the medina! The next day we asked about the 'half-board basis' that we had booked and they thought it was very funny - ''we must make you dinner every night - we have never heard of this''!! We then had to phone the local agent to come and sort it out, during which time a local guide (relative of one of the staff) turned up to take us on a tour of the market. We hadn't asked for this and he refused to leave unless we paid him about £60!! Again, the local agent had to come and get him to leave.
For the remainder of the week, we were served dinner (of sorts).
We had booked a twin room - they didn't have one available so we had to share a bed!
The bathroom had no door and no hot water!
Mid-week they said they had a twin room available and would we like to move - we said no, we couldn't be bothered at that stage in the holiday. At 22.30 that night they came to our room and said we HAD to move as they needed our room for someone else!
I would not recommend this Riad to anyone.
The Riad also didn't have many of the features shown on their website.

Room Tip: Although the rooms were 'all right' there is really nothing about this Riad that would lead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

For a 5* Riad, I really wasn't impressed with its standards.

GOOD
The staff were extremely welcoming and lovely.
In the heart of the Medina so very close to a great Souk.
The bathroom of our room was charmingly Moroccan.

BAD
- Stayed for 5 nights and did not have one ounce of hot water for a shower.
- Never had new towels. We would have to go to the manager to ask him, realising that even if we placed the used towels in the bath (like in most hotels to imply that they ARE used and we would like new ones) they would simply fold them back up and but them on the rack ready for the next day's use.
- There was no way to lock our rooms when we left each day. Considering the room we stayed in was on the ground floor, one would've hoped that they would provide one.
- The TV only had four channels. Now I know some people might say that you shouldn't need a tv on holiday, but the Olympics were on and not only were there just 4 channels, they were all in German! Considering it's a French & Arabic speaking country, German wouldn't be the language to come to mind.
- Staff's English isn't great either. Thankfully the people I was on holiday with were fluent in French, so that annoyance was easily avoided.

TIPS:
Bring your own shower gel
Lock everything in your suitcase when you go out each day (the cleaner just shoves everything that's left out into a cupboard)
Be cautious of closing/opening times of places in the time of Ramadan.

Hope this helps - have a good trip / bon voyage!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

It's a small riad with a big personality. The rooms are a good size, though the very top room (on the roof terrace) is the smallest. Breakfast is simple but delicious breads, juice and jams etc - and great coffee. It is pretty close to the action but I would book an airport transfer with the hotel as the road it is on is not accessible by car (which is the same, incidentally, for many riads). The staff are great, especially young Simo and his brother, who will look after you during your stay. The free Wifi is great in most of the riad. With rates around 50 euros on travel sites, you cannot go far wrong for somewhere that is clean, pretty and in the medina.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Litzy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Litzy

Address: 32 Jnan Ben Chagra, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #643 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Litzy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of a quiet district of the old city of Marrakesh, Riad Zenith is a luxury guesthouse dedicated solely to satisfying the desires of its guests. Elegant and spacious, our 5 suites are an invitation to depart on a voyage of discovery through a contemporary Oriental universe. Table d'hote menu, plunge pool, Hammam, massages, roof terrace with uninterrupted views of the Atlas Mountains, patio, lounge-bar, room service... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Riad Litzy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Litzy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.