We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a great experience but the manager is extremely dishonest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Litzy

Save Saved
You added Riad Litzy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Litzy
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   32 Jnan Ben Chagra, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #629 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Almost a great experience but the manager is extremely dishonest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

I stayed here with a couple of my friends for 3 days and I will go through the good parts about it first before I move onto the bad. Most things about this place were good.
The staff in general is very good(besides the manager). All of them are pleasant to deal with and very accommodating. Breakfast is delicious and presented very well. When you wake up they start making it for you and bring you plates of jam, butter, bread, pound cake as well as mini pitas and things that resemble crepes. They also bring you tea or coffee. The Riad is beautiful, very clean, and has a gorgeous sunny lounge area with comfortable seating and a small pool. The rooms are clean and designed very well with nice furniture and other fixtures. I like the location because it is fairly close to the Bahia Palace so whenever you get lost you can just find the palace and you will know your way home. There is a younger man with curly hair who runs the place some of the days (not the manager), he was extremely helpful. He rushed us a breakfast in the morning to make sure we could eat before we left on our day trip.

Now onto the negative parts of our stay which mostly have to do with the manager. The manager is very easy to point out. He is big, tall, balding and not as pleasant as the rest of the staff.
We were supposed to get a transfer to our Riad from the airport. The manager requested our information days before our trip and it was given to him and he confirmed receiving it but our transfer came over an hour late and this is only after we got someone to call the riad. We waited outside the airport but It was sunny outside so this wasn't so terrible.
The first night we got there the shower broke in a way which stopped water from coming from the top. This made using the shower similar to bathing in an oversize sink. The next day they patched it up where it broke again after use and the day after that the same thing happened. So for the 3 days we were there we only had a shower the last night because I told them we could no longer stay with no shower and they let us shower in another room.

The morning of when we were leaving Marrakech we had to settle our bill. We were ready to eat breakfast and leave but all the time consuming games and difficulty from the manager almost caused us to miss our flight. On the website where we booked our stay it said that the Riad accepted credit card. We told them the night before we would pay by credit card. When we wanted to settle the bill in the morning the manager said the credit card machine no longer worked and that we had to pay by cash. I explained that this was a very large sum of money to expected to be paid by cash and that I would do no such thing and that things like this must be told to us ahead of time. I knew the manager was not telling the truth because I pointed out the credit card machine and he claimed that the line did not work. I told him credit card was the only way we could pay and that he should either fix his machine or get someone else to run the credit card. The manager knew we had to leave soon for our flight so he started wasting time and then asking me questions like "how did you get a discount? I have never seen anyone get a discount on their stay.. I don't understand can you tell me how you got it?) We had gotten a 4% discount on our stay from the website we booked it on. I told him instead of worrying about a 4% discount he should worry about how he can fix his credit card machine. He started becoming more aggressive and bringing up random things to waste time saying things like "you were making noise last night, so now I have to give things to other guests" which was untrue. I explained that no matter what excuses he made up that we would be paying by credit card and that he should stop wasting time. He said ok and to wait a few minutes. We waited a couple minutes and then asked one of the workers where the manager had gone. He said that the manager had left and he would not be back for a while. So the manager just left when we were still trying to settle with him and left it on the shoulders of his workers. He also added an extra fee to our bill for using a credit card. They swiped our credit card but after they tried to delay the process more and more we had no choice but to leave because it did not seem we would make our flight. They already had our credit card information. We left the Riad and caught a taxi. After all the games and delaying one of the workers stopped in front of our taxi with a credit card slip from the machine that now magically worked. I didn't enjoy playing this game of russian roullette but I was glad we won. We somehow ended up catching our flight too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    26
    14
    5
    11
See reviews for
22
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Although the riad is nice and the rooms are pretty, it is not a 5 star at all. Too much advertisement for too little: they have only 1 little swimming pool and from the terrace we see nothing at all. Breakfast is nice but the same everyday: a slice of bread, jam, a slice of cake and 2 or 3 little thinks like sweet bread, orange juice and coffee/milk. They say they have a restaurant but actually they have a kitchen. Be careful not to pay any extra charges and do not buy food there (in the city it's way cheaper and way more interesting). Since it is a small place with few rooms, they have few employees so it might be difficult finding someone to give suggestions about the city. Near Place Jemaa El Fna you can find a touristic bus that is much cheaper than the excursions offered by the hotel and that is way more interesting since you are allowed to get in or off the bus as many times as you want in 24 hours. It is a little difficult to find this hotel but after you learn it's quite easy to get to the souks and other interesting places. It is not a bad place but if you are agreeing to pay more for the sake of "5 stars" I would recommend looking for another one.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

I stayed at the Riad this November and it was a very pleasant surprice. Nice and charming, only 6 rooms, spacious and clean. The bathroom was really neat, great bathtub. The Riad has a beautiful terrace where we enjoyed our breakfast and a nice and cousy Hammam that you can reserve just for yourself.
Thank you very much to Hafi who has been extremely helpful and kind, always careful in every detail.
Definitely to be recommended for your stay in Marrakech

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

the web sight does not reflect this property it is not a 5 star hotel at best a 2 star guesthouse we paid barrhead travel in glasgow £901 plus hidden extras for a 4 day holiday what we got in return was nothing short off a rip off no mini bar in room no coffee/tea making facilities no gift shop no barbeque area ,library etc etc etc 1 very small/freezing cold pool not 3 as mentioned the best thing about this holiday was when the pilot put his foot on the gas and return ed back to scotland never again in this lifetime would we visit riad zenith

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010 via mobile

Found the riad to be managed by nice folks who were very friendly and helpful. The place was clean and creatively designed. Sometimes the neighbors were a little rowdy, but that's no fault of the riad -- and quite added to the medina experience. I also had food in the riad and found it to be flavorful and good. Hiccups included one night when I had to board at the neighboring riad because zenith overbooked. A little annoying, but it worked out just fine. All in all, found the place to be nice and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

This Riad pleasantly surprised my wife and I. The hosts were super nice and the space was amazing. However, on the second night we found a used tissue in the bed...that didn't below to either of us, pretty gross. If you can get passed that (which may have been an oversight - perhaps the maid drop it out of a pocket or something) then this was a cool place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

I went with two of my adult daughters and their friend - so varied tastes to cater for - and we all came away saying we'd had a wonderful time. We were met at the airport as arranged and taken to the car park by the medina. What felt like a long, mysterious walk down narrow alleyways to the Riad was a familiar street with many friendly waves by the time we left. Our rooms were clean, cool and spacious. We had breakfast on the roof terrace every morning, with Marrakech spread out around us. The plunge pool was the perfect antidote to sunbathing. The hammam was refreshing and it was worth paying the extra for a full body exfoliation. But the best part of the Riad was the staff. They really have the knack of making you feel utterly relaxed and at home. Nothing seemed to ruffle them and they were helpful at every turn. We loved the hustle and bustle of Marrakech and being so close to the square and the souk. However it was wonderful to return to the peace of the Riad. We would all go back tomorrow if we could.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Litzy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Litzy

Address: 32 Jnan Ben Chagra, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #629 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Litzy 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of a quiet district of the old city of Marrakesh, Riad Zenith is a luxury guesthouse dedicated solely to satisfying the desires of its guests. Elegant and spacious, our 5 suites are an invitation to depart on a voyage of discovery through a contemporary Oriental universe. Table d'hote menu, plunge pool, Hammam, massages, roof terrace with uninterrupted views of the Atlas Mountains, patio, lounge-bar, room service... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Riad Litzy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Litzy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.