We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights in Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Melhoun

Save Saved
You added Riad Melhoun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Melhoun
Sidi Moussa | N° 99 - Quartier de la Bahia, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #49 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“2 nights in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed in several riads in Marrakesh and this was by far the best. The design was great and the staff very friendly and helpful. Before long it started to feel like our home away from home. The prices are fair and very generous and unlike some other riads you don't get charged for every cup of tea. You ll never feel lonely because the hosts are so friendly and accommodating. The wifi was good, the rooms clean and my favorite spot was the rooftop terrace where you can tan and look at the city. The breakfast was very generous and the hosts are very accommodating to the guests needs. The location is very central and puts you in short walking distance to most of the major attractions and to the local spice market were you can shop like a native if you can pull it of.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the streetside Riads, but situate yourselves in a central location offering a great value for money, this is the place.

We just spent a week there and couldn't have asked for more. They took care of airport transfers, city taxis, tours and gave great directions to the sites.

Youssef and Hischam were so friendly and approachable they always put you at ease. I'd recommend this Riad to families and couples.

Eating there is a MUST! It's the best meal we had in Marrakech by quite a distance! It's a 5/5 and an easy 9/10 without thinking about it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a newly renovated property in a central location within walking distance of many key sites. The Riad is lovely to look at, clean and very comfortable, well maintained, with a host of amenities. The staff were always attentive and helpful. It was an oasis of calm in a very busy city and a lovely place to come back to each night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My mother and I had the best holiday ever. The Riad is breathtaking and so peaceful, after a few days staying there it began to feel like a second home. The staff were amazing, we could not have asked for more helpful people. There was nothing that they weren't willing to do and the manager Youseff was so hospitable and great fun to talk to. Marrakech itself is such an interesting place to visit but what made the holiday so good for us was this Riad. We are talking of returning to Morocco again as we had such a good time and should we decide to stay in Marrakech again there is no doubt that we would choose to stay at Riad Melhoun. I strongly recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for an unforgettable holiday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed at the riad melhoun during spring break time.This hotel is without doubt one of the best i have stayed in. Rooms are amazing and the bed is extremely comfortable. Staff are extremely friendly with nothing being too much trouble, i had forgotten my shaver and a replacement was delivered to my door within literally 30 seconds. Location is nearest than the big square jamaa fna 10 min walking. Will certainly look to return when next in riad melhoun.
i recomnded 100% thinks for all the staff to give us a special holiday.

Room Tip: gaya suite and amessan suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Although we didn't stay at this Riad we checked it out for our daughter who may visit next year. It is an absolutely brilliant location - away from the noise and hustle and bustle of the Medina.

The very kind owner gave us a drink on the pretty roof terrace after we had looked at the rooms and told us about the history of the building and the renovations to it.

We saw it in May but I lost his card and have just found it. Definitely a property to consider if visiting Marrakech. Authentic surroundings with a very friendly owner. I can imagine that the hospitality is very good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

4 days and nights in Riad Melhoun really made my time in Marrakech special. Great location, beautiful accommodation, wonderful quiet rooms and living areas, fabulous hospitality. Excellent breakfasts, and a most delicious meal was prepared for my sisters and I one night on request. After 4 nights away and a long drive back from my night in the Sahara, I couldn't wait to get "home" to the peace and amenities of Riad Melhoun. Always peaceful after a day out in Marrakech, especially having some quiet time to relax by the indoor pool or on the roof. The staff were really attentive, friendly and helpful.. The manager Youseff was just wonderful. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Melhoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Melhoun

Address: Sidi Moussa | N° 99 - Quartier de la Bahia, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Malhoun Riad is located in the heart of the ochre city and its effervescence, a district deemed to Marrakech, between the Bahia Palace and the Museum Dar si Said, 8 min walk from the mythical place Jamaa El Fna square Completely renovated since February 2012, its architecture and decoration are inspired by various palaces and traditional dwellings of Marrakech. Two of the façades of the patio, opposite, are dressed rusticity in wood and carved plaster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Riad Melhoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Melhoun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.