We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly unforgettable and incomparable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Melhoun

Save Saved
You added Riad Melhoun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Melhoun
Sidi Moussa | N° 99 - Quartier de la Bahia, Marrakech 40007, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #49 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Grenoble, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Truly unforgettable and incomparable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

In a nutshell, this riad is an unforgettable and incomparable experience. At first the staff's story about the guesthouse transforming into a true home feels like a well-thought-out sales spiel, but by the end of my stay it truly felt like a home away from home, with the unique feeling of peace that is only achieved by unwinding in an fully familiar and safe environment. Questions like 'Don't we lock the doors?' quickly turn into 'Did I leave my laptop by the pool or on the roof terrace last night?'. In other words, one can't help but be completely and utterly comfortable with each and every aspect of this riad.
The staff is nothing short of incredible and extremely helpful, also when planning a thorough visit of Marrakech or any of its surrounding cities. The endless supply of fantastic Moroccan tea has fostered a delicious addiction that will remain with me as a lasting memory to some of my best days in Morocco, or rather anywhere.
The riad has an agreement with a transportation firm to ensure low transfer prices to anywhere in the city, even during high season or evenings when taxis ask for much higher prices. If one comes by car, it is furthermore conveniently situated close to a parking lot (1-2 minutes walking).
Further superlatives will not do this riad justice, and anyone that will visit it will agree that none of my story is exaggerated. Not even five-star hotels compare.

Room Tip: In the beginning of your stay, the staff will likely show you around the different rooms after which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This place is heavenly! From the moment you walk through the doors, you escape the hustle and bustle of the city. the courtyard is stunning, the rooms are luscious and quiet. Breakfast is incredible! A challenge to sample all the gorgeous dishes. Try the hotel's private hammam and make sure you take a look at the city from the roof terrace. I cant rave about this place enough!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calambrone, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The moment we entered Riad Melhoun we were at home. The atmosphere along with the spectacular staff were better than any I have ever experienced. Youssef and his staff succeeded in making this one of the best vacations I have had. The rooms at the Riad Melhoun were comfortable and quiet. The meals that we ate there were superb and we never left the table hungry. Youseff and his staff made sure we were well fed, always had plenty of tea and coffee and even took the time to plan a surprise birthday party for two people in our group. The hotel was a hideaway from the hustle and bustle of the city streets and very conveniently located. I would recommend the Riad Melhoun to anyone who travels to Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

7 of us stayed at the Riad Melhoun in February of 2013. The manager, Youssef, made sure everything was perfect. The food, the staff, the rooms, everything was perfect.
Youssef even surprised us with a surprise birthday party for 2 of us.


We will be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I can't quite describe how heavenly Riad Melhoun is... The interior is a peaceful sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech and the level of service from Youssef and his staff is simply unrivaled. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with mint tea and pastries to the moment we left and the entire staff walked us to the nearby parking lot to wave goodbye, every thing about our stay was just perfect. During the week we stayed there, the Riad became our home away from home.

The location is perfect, just 10 minutes walk to the center. The bedrooms and common areas are comfortable and beautifully designed. Breakfast is outstanding. I also suggest you book dinner at least one night while you're there to enjoy delicious, home-made Moroccan fare at just 20-euro per person. We enjoyed a relaxing spa day with time in the hammam and massage. Youssef made several trip reservations for us -- a day trip to Casablanca and an overnight in the Sahara. He also organized a tour of Marrakech for us with an official guide from the Ministry of Tourism. If you're at all interested in seeing the city with a guide (highly recommended on your first day to get the lay of the land and understand the history of the city) make sure you request Mohammed!! We loved him so much, we booked him for more tours later in the week.

Hands down, Riad Melhoun is the best in Marrakech. If you're lucky enough to travel to Morocco, don't miss this gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gaya Suite and loved it! Lots of space, beautifully decorated, great bathroom/showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was a great riad a friend and I stayed in for a week. The location was perfect and the service was aboslutely excellent. The riad manager Youssef went over and beyod to make us feel welcome and comfortable. All the staff were extremely firendly and helpful, I would highly recommend staying here and it was great value for money. The service I received has left a lasting impression and I am already planning my stay here again next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#46 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#64 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#51 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Romanti...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#25 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Pool, Mid-range...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#37 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Dar Silsila
Dar Silsila
#111 of 461 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Melhoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Melhoun

Address: Sidi Moussa | N° 99 - Quartier de la Bahia, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Malhoun Riad is located in the heart of the ochre city and its effervescence, a district deemed to Marrakech, between the Bahia Palace and the Museum Dar si Said, 8 min walk from the mythical place Jamaa El Fna square Completely renovated since February 2012, its architecture and decoration are inspired by various palaces and traditional dwellings of Marrakech. Two of the façades of the patio, opposite, are dressed rusticity in wood and carved plaster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Riad Melhoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Melhoun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.