We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and nice service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Comptoir du Pacha

Le Comptoir du Pacha
218 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala - Medina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
+212 648-687066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 541 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $6 - $45
Cuisines: French, Italian, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Le Comptoir du Pacha est un restaurant de charme a l'entree de la Medina, non loin de l'ensemble artisanal et pres de la grande Mosquee de Bab Doukkala (entre la mosquee et Dar EL Bacha).Il dispose de 4 salles intimistes. 2 Salles esprit lounge au niveau du patio avec fontaines, une salle africaine et une salle marocaine au 1 er etage ainsi qu'une terrasse. Son Chef vous propose une cuisine marocaine fusion, inventive et totalement revisitee ainsi qu'une carte francaise et une carte italienne.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent food and nice service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Had an excellent night great local food with a twist very friendly owner and staff.

Great evening in a lovely place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    66
    22
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, fab service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We went here on our last night to escape the chaos of the night market. It is lovely and tranquil, many tables so no need to book. Food was brilliant, and served in a very stylish way. The chef even came out afterwards to ask us if the meal was ok. Beautiful building.
Service great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Works of Art on a Plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I had read reviews of this restaurant and it sounded the perfect place to spend our last evening in Marrakech and as soon as we walked through the door and up the stairs, knew we had made the right decision. We were seated in the African themed side room and as there were two other couples at each end we sat at the table in the middle. The music in the background was at the right volume and a good selection to add to the ambiance. The young man who served us was extremely polite and was very happy to practice his English with us. He brought our wine and water and an amuse bouche whilst we decided what to have. It was one of those difficult menus where you are spoiled for choice - all the dishes sounded tempting. As we had seen stalls and stalls of avocados but not had any whilst in Marrakech we both chose the prawn/avocado starters which were beautiful works of art. My partner had the fish tagine and I had the duck tagine, and again masterpieces appeared on our plates, and both were delicious. The service was at a gentle pace and whilst others have said it was slow, we were out for an evening at an up-market restaurant and were more than happy to take our time. In fact it allowed us to make some room for the chocolate dessert which we shared. Again, it was beautifully created and was one of the best chocolate selections I have ever tasted. The owner and the chef both came to our table to ask if we had enjoyed our evening and we could only compliment their restaurant. If you want a place for a romantic dinner or just an excellent restaurant for a group - look at the photos posted here and you'll get a feel for what a cosy intimate restaurant this is - and enjoy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, setting and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Came here for our first meal in Morocco, mostly because it was closest to our Riad but also came recomended. We both has a dish with prawns which was good, if a little greasy. We also had a bottle of wine and some bread and it totalled about 550MAD - so not on the cheap side. The service was good especially since we came quite late and the setting was lovely.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marrakech
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

After we ve read reviews on tripadivor we were expecting a lot more. Restaurant is quiet hard to find but its the same with everything in Marrakech. When we arrived we got a warm welcome . Restaurant looked really good!! We got sat in 'Africa' room which was lovely! Menu looked preaty exiting, but pricey , you can easley compare it to 3/4 rossets restaurant in uk.we were waiting for a long time for our starters ( about 30 minutes). When food arrived ... well what can I say , it was served in very old fashion way ( maybe I should mention I am a chef) , there were thin pretzel style sticks used as a garnish. For 2 starters , 2 mains and a bottle of red wine we paid 640 Durham. Not sure,if it was worth it . Check for yourself.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lecomptoirdupacha, Gérant at Le Comptoir du Pacha, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hello and thank you for your nice comments about the welcome and the setting.
I just want to point out and clear a few things and I would have appreciated if you had told us about your remarks instead of leaving us saying that everything had been alright. Anyway, each comment helps us to improve, which is our main concern.
Le Comptoir du Pacha is mainly a restaurant "À la carte" with starters between 50 and 95 dhs (4,50 and 8,50 €), main courses between 110 and 180 dhs (9,80 and 16 €) and desserts between 40 and 60 dhs (3,60 and 5,40 €). Thus it is quite difficult to understand your comparison with 3/4 of restaurants in U.K. or even elsewhere.
One of the specialities of the Chef is to serve in a very new fashion way, which is highly appreciated by our hosts as you can read in most reviews.
As a Chef yourself, I'm really surprised to read that you considered the "Bretzels" as a garnish. They are only part of the decoration, and the side dishes you had with your main courses were a bed of potato purée with Nigelles grains and small vegetables.
I imagine that it is probably the price to pay each time we get better ranked and since we've just got the Tripadvisor 2013 Travellers' Choice Award.
Let me tell you that you'll be warmly welcome whenever you come back and that the Chef will be really glad to discuss with you to make you discover the new style Moroccan Cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Comptoir du Pacha also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Comptoir du Pacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Comptoir du Pacha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.