We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Comptoir du Pacha

Le Comptoir du Pacha
218 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala - Medina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
+212 648-687066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 668 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $33
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Le Comptoir du Pacha est un restaurant de charme a l'entree de la Medina, non loin de l'ensemble artisanal et pres de la grande Mosquee de Bab Doukkala (entre la mosquee et Dar EL Bacha). Il dispose de 4 salles intimistes. 2 Salles esprit lounge au niveau du patio avec fontaines, une salle africaine et une salle marocaine au 1 er etage ainsi qu'une terrasse. Son Chef vous propose une cuisine marocaine fusion, inventive et totalement revisitee ainsi qu'une carte francaise et une carte italienne. Un menu et des formules du jour, une carte snack ainsi qu'une sélection de tapas en journée.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We ate here on our first night in Marrakech and it was a good choice - a short taxi ride from the main square, and we were warmly greeted by Didier. The riad is lovely and we ate on the roof terrace. The menu is all on a blackboard so I guess they probably change it about a bit. We had lamb tagine and Moroccan pastillas and apple tart and it was all delicious. The service was pretty slow with the meal taking 2.5h but we were on holiday so I guess it didn't really matter. Didier was really good with translating everything for us. It wasn't too expensive either which was a nice surprise - about £50 or so but we only had a couple of glasses of wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whitfies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely food and Setting at a reasonable price - try it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I booked this restaurant for our first night in MK on a Wednesday evening. When we arrived I was a little worried to see we were the only people there other than a couple of other tables.......it turned out that everyone was up on the terrace and Didier seated us there as soon as there was space. There was no entertainment on the evening we went unless it came much later in the evening around 11pm. The menu was good with all of the morroccan classics you would expect and the portion sizes were just right. This place is a little tricky to find but only 10/15 minutes to walk from the main square. I do think its worth anyone trying this place, its better value than some of the other highly rated places in MK.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maniacnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice roof terrace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were looking for a good restaurant with a roof terrace and decided to visit this restaurant which has a roof terrace big enough for around 16 people. The food was nice but not fantastic, the waiter that served us was very nervous and didn't seem to know what he was doing. The staff were not too accomodating when we asked for the steak to be served with potatoes rather than vegetables. Not great value for money - most dishes were 15-20 euros.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rellis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lecomptoirdupacha, Gérant at Le Comptoir du Pacha, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello and thank you for your nice comment about the roof terrace.
But I don't understand the aim of your false remarks.
First of all, our main courses prices are between 8 and 14 euros. None is more expensive, as you untruly write. So what are you looking for with such wrong statements ?
Then, when you asked for fries, I personally told you we hadn't any. I even so checked with the "Chef" so as to try and please you but I came back with the same answer. Maybe you don't know but all varieties of potaoes are not suitable for fries if we want them good.
If you wanted a steak and fries, you probably made the wrong choice and you'd better have gone to Mac Donald's or a snack. Let me point out that we have "beef filet" and "entrecôte" but no steak.
As for the waiter, don't worry, he knows what his job consist in, why he works in a restaurant, and he makes a point to improve daily to the satisfaction of our hosts.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We visited this place with some friends. I selected this restaurant because it was said it was very good for a reasonable price. The place is very nice, modern and cosy. The owner welcomed us and often made sure we were good. There were other groups of people at the same time at the restaurant. We had to wait very long to have the drinks ordered and even longer for the starters. We were ok to wait but we ended up very hungry. Entrees were ok, not amazing, nice presentation but my plate did not impressed me. It took us 3 hours and we skipped the dessert because we were afraid to wait an other hour to get it. I will try again this place hoping that it was just a bad night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank virginie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lecomptoirdupacha, Gérant at Le Comptoir du Pacha, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Virginie and thank you for your nice comments and your wish to come back.
I just want to point out that, as you were a group we had asked you to choose a menu among five as we had several other groups that evening. And you answered by mail on the 19/09/13 :
"Si cela ne vous dérange pas, nous avons décidé de ne pas prendre un menu. Cela ne nous dérange pas d'attendre, nous réservons notre soirée pour passer un bon moment tous ensemble dans votre établissement".
Let me also remind you that you asked me to leave you time to make your choice on the card and that it took quite a long time.
Anyway, we were delighted to receive you and by the compliments about the food and the place that your friends from South-Africa made.
And we'll be pleased to welcome you when you come back.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon, Mexico
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The service you get is great! you feel at home! and the food is also great! its a lovely place and has many spots for intimate dinner for couples! Dont miss it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Comptoir du Pacha also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Comptoir du Pacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing