We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Comptoir du Pacha

Le Comptoir du Pacha
218 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala - Medina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
+212 648-687066
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 567 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $6 - $43
Cuisines: French, Italian, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Le Comptoir du Pacha est un restaurant de charme a l'entree de la Medina, non loin de l'ensemble artisanal et pres de la grande Mosquee de Bab Doukkala (entre la mosquee et Dar EL Bacha).Il dispose de 4 salles intimistes. 2 Salles esprit lounge au niveau du patio avec fontaines, une salle africaine et une salle marocaine au 1 er etage ainsi qu'une terrasse. Son Chef vous propose une cuisine marocaine fusion, inventive et totalement revisitee ainsi qu'une carte francaise et une carte italienne.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We wandered up to Comptoir du Pacha on the last night of our holiday in Marrakech and weren't disappointed. Off a busy little alley was a warm welcome from the charming staff and a beautiful little oasis of calm away from the hustle and bustle.
I hadn't been impressed by some Moroccan food but the tagines at Pacha were fabulous - I had lamb with ginger and figs and it was yummy. Really enjoyed it. Also enjoyed some small Moroccan pastries and a lovely glass of wine - all for around 250dh.
The cooking was fabulous. As was the setting - only small thing was the service which was a little slow. Only 2 waiters seemed to be working and 2 big tables of 6 came in plus a few couples, so they seemed quite busy. But they were charming waiters so it didn't really spoil what was otherwise a lovely evening.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    72
    23
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food - worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The restaurant was very quiet when we visited, we were on the first floor along with a few other couples. The menu was on a big blackboard, with Moroccan food available along with Italian and some French. We chose Moroccan, the tagines were delicious. The only slight niggle was the service was a little slow - not sure if that was because the restaurant was so quiet so there may not have been as many staff as usual. It didn't spoil the evening by any means, as we weren't in a hurry but it would have been nice if they could have just checked on us a little more. If you're looking for a friendly place in the Medina, I would recommend giving it a try.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Go to this restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My friend & I were staying locally in a Riad and a young man showed us to this restaurant on our 2nd evening. He expected a small tip, but it was worth it. As it's away from the square and a little off the beaten track, it's more reasonably priced and everyone goes out of their way to make your experience special. Didier, the owner, is a dream! Excellent service, the chef came out to say hello, lovely food, nice choice of wines & local beers, wonderful decor and good ambience. The only reason I've given it 4 stars, is that it was a little quiet, only one other couple in the place. A few more people would give this restaurant the perfect buzz & a 5! We were in Marrakesh in December and the restaurant has only been open 6mths, so we know it's only a matter of time before it takes off. We went back twice during our 4 night stay. Yes, you should eat with the locals in the square one evening, but this establishment is worth a small detour. We'll be recommending it to all our friends & family visiting Marrakesh. Go....... you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veghel, Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A very nice restaurant, trendy interior but you feel right at home.
The food was really good, in my top 10 of best meals ever.
Went back for a second time.
Very friendly service, and this restaurant also serves wine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great little find in Dar El Bacha neighbourhood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in a riad close to this restaurant & were so happy with the location (easy to find), the staff (very hospitable), the cosy place (many little rooms to choose your seating from with great ambience), the choice of food & the speediness of how quickly the food came, as well as the very reasonable prices! The quality of our meals were excellent. We had the lemon/olive chicken tagine & the lamb with almonds/prunes (so yummy!). We shared a chocolate mousse for dessert & can highly recommend this place to eat!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Comptoir du Pacha also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Comptoir du Pacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Comptoir du Pacha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.