We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Safe for Women” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Souk

Marrakech Souk
Jemaa el Fna, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$38*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Ranked #225 of 735 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Neighborhoods, Flea & street markets, Other, Shopping & Fashion
Activities: Shopping, People-watching
Attraction details
Belleville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Safe for Women”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015 NEW

I have to say that the sights and sounds of market are fascinating but I was quickly made aware by both the tour guide and the street vendors that the expectation is that we spend money. I was blocked from an exit by a store owner who said I must purchase something before leaving. When I said I needed to catch up to my group the man said he saw them move on down the street and that we were being watched. It was very frightening. I was also pushed in the street by a man and told that women did not belong there by another. I was dressed appropriately. I won't go back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,631
    2,229
    889
    213
    175
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great fun to walk around, but expect hassle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

It really is a rabbit warren of little streets, just wide enough to walk down (or ride a moped at high speed). Full of character. You are certain to get lost, and if you look at a map you will be hassled by some evil character who will misdirect you, then "help" you for a large fee when you get even more lost. One guy pointed in the direction of the Jmaa el Fna, only his direction was 180 degrees out, and he took offence when I asked whether he was lost.

Trick is to just relax, and not mind being a bit lost. At worst, you end up walking out of the souk in some random direction, and you can sort yourself out from where you end up.

A problem with the stalls is that if you look at anything they really expect you to buy. It is not like browsing in a European or American shop. So you end up walking around with your eyes straight ahead. If you actually want anything, it is much easier (and generally cheaper) to go to the Ensemble Artisanal. At the very least, go there first to have some idea of prices.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Prepare to haggle!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

This is the heart of the city; tiny alleyways crammed with stalls. Bargains galore if you are bold enough to start your bidding low and hold your nerve. A must do on your trip for an authentic experience.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Okay, but the Fez Medina is more interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW

This Medina is okay, but pale in comparison to the Fes Medina. As you have probably read, there are thousands of ways to part with your money here. Be careful, and negotiate everything. Start at no more than 50% of what they are asking, except for food and toiletries I found the key to bargaining there is to keep it friendly. Feel free to make ridiculous offers, but smile while doing it, and try to make a sport of it. The bargaining really stars when you start to walk out of the shop. Be sure to sample some olives while in Morocco. They are excellent quality, and come in many flavors. Have fun, and good luck!

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Delightful maze!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015 NEW via mobile

You really need to get you bearings right, the souks are like a maze! Everyday we discovered a different path that we had not walked through. Can easily spend many hours here just strolling through admiring all the colourful wonderful products. Get ready to haggle!!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Souk also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.