We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Souk

Marrakech Souk
Jemaa el Fna, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$43*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Ranked #11 of 62 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Neighborhoods, Flea/ Street Markets, Cultural
Activities: Shopping, People-watching
Attraction details
Bimingham
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The souks were really nice. I would love to have bought a few things; only I couldn’t take them home on the plane due to the size of items they were selling. Lots of lovely lights, tagines and tea sets.

I did get hassled lots, but I just ignored the people and they went away.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,263
    1,899
    753
    183
    155
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

If everybody in the world bought something here, there'd still be plenty left over!! Have never seen such a huge souq. Easy to get lost, but that's part of the fun. Loads of little eateries and local cafes - all very cheap and very good.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant, but keep your wits about you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Its great just to wander around the stalls. Basically they are mostly selling the same sort of things, but slightly different stall to stall. When you have had enough wandering just stop for a cool drink in the square and watch the world go by. You must be aware that some of the stall holders can be a bit aggressive and my husband and Iwere literally conned into seeing the tannery when we stopped to look at a leather belt, and had a bit of trouble leaving when we didnt want anything and were told BY THE BOSS that the workers didnt earn much so we shold give him some money to give to them! He wasn't very pleasant about it, so beware

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“You need to be strong”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Fantastic colurs and atmosphere in the souks. You need to decide what you are willing to pay and stick by your decision. I was followed for ages by a man selling belts. His opening offer was 150 MAD, aventually I got 3 for 120 MAD. They were very good quality leather and I think I got a bargain, only time will tell. The Mopeds in the souks are so annoying, but it is their market. There must be hundreds of stalls, often grouped by type. So much pottery, which is very overpriced to start with, you need to be strong to drive the price down. Lots of vegetables and some disgusting cuts of meat and offal for the locals, no charge for the flies! From previous bitter experience avoid any offers from guides, they want a lot of money and can get nasty.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The souks were great fun and haggling wasn't taken too seriously. In fact, we were even asked, with a smile, if we 'were ready to play' when we asked the price! The souks were nowhere near as intimidating as we were expecting and the Marrakech people were very friendly.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Souk also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.