We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed shopping experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Souk

Marrakech Souk
Jemaa el Fna, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$41*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Ranked #11 of 150 things to do in Marrakech
Activities: Shopping, People-watching
Attraction details
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed shopping experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Although the constant hassle can get you down, this is an experience not to be missed. Keep your wits about you and you will soon learn to be firm but friendly with the shopkeepers.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,900 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,935
    2,513
    1,001
    244
    207
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
265 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Cool place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

You can get lost in this place, it's a labyrinth of shops, they are endless one after another, colorful and fun to see and observe the shop owners sleeping left and right. Most are selling the same artesanal items. We didn't buy anything cause we weren't interested in things that are not practical in our world and we didn't want to haggle or to be hassled by shop owners, we just wanted to relax and let place take us to another time.. Wear your walking shoes, some places are quite dirty.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheap imitations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Be prepared to bater. Never pay the first or second price haggle. We liked the imitation goods. We weren't too keen on the beggars or the 'come into my shop' people. We didn't like the animal trainers. Overall.. visit the souk and hopefully enjoy a different culture at first hand.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Single and married women”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It is much easier if you are married to travel in the souk as married women are not addressed and it could be a good ploy to carry a ring and walk the alleyways with a male fellow traveller.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“More than a bizarr”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The souk did not let us down being a (nicely) bewildering and colourful setting. Prices were subject to the traditional haggling but on the whole was always a friendly exchange. Got an antique tea pot! brill price - will remember the whole place with a lot of enjoyment

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Souk also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.