We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take a clothes peg for your nose” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Souk

Marrakech Souk
Jemaa el Fna, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Visit Marrakech Souk like an insider
Top Rated
$41*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Ranked #9 of 141 things to do in Marrakech
Activities: Shopping, People-watching
Attraction details
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“take a clothes peg for your nose”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have just returned from Marrakech - it was a huge disappointment - the smells in the souks were nauseating, we thought we were going to be violently sick & everywhere, especially the main square in the Medina is filthy. Despite following the code of demure clothing & walking as far to the right as possible a cyclist drove into me on purpose, striking my hip with his handle bar; a fellow traveller narrowly escaped being charged at by a moped driver & another lady was indecently groped. We will not be making a return visit. Our hotel on the other hand was excellent - see our review for Club El Dorardor which is definitely worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,743
    2,352
    928
    219
    184
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As long as you know here your purse or wallet are you can wander all day in the souk. You may get lost too but that is part of the fun. You can always show a friendly shopkeeper your map and he will tell you where you are and point the way out. He may also take you to his relatives?? around the corner to see something different. We were taken to the Dyers souk and bought two silk scarves. Haggle lots they really do enjoy it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I'll Make You Democratic Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The souks were a winding maze of tiny shops that were fascinating. Many of the shops sell the same items - you have to look really closely to find unique things. Beware, if you stop to look or ask the prices, you MUST bargain, it's part of the game. Get your game face on and go do it, it's a lot of fun, but be prepared to keep your word, that's necessary in this culture. Also be prepared to walk away if the price isn't right. more often than not, they will chase you down.

Tourists, keep your money and valuables close to you - a money belt is best. The souks are very crowded and often you must get against the wall to let motorbikes pass.

Do not allow young people to "help" you find anything - you are expected to tip them for this. If you need any help, ask a shopkeeper. Also watch for "faux guides", Moroccans who will lead you around the souks (to their favorite shopkeepers, who give them a kickback) and often will not let you loose until you pay what they demand. The police are on the lookout for these faux guides. My husband is a latino and was often mistaken for Moroccan - he was stopped by the police twice because they thought he was a faux guide!

You can get AWESOME stuff at these souks for a very fair price. Don't be afraid to negotiate, it is expected.

Also, beware of the henna artists. My daughter wanted a henna tattoo, and the artist just grabbed my arm and started on one for me and also did the same for my husband. We ended up having to pay her for 3 tattoos. Stay far away from them while they are working on someone else!

Be sure to eat in the restaurant tents at night in the main square. It's a delight!

The whole souk experiences was a sensory overload! It was very much fun and definitely 2 days was enough!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericeira, Portugal
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“be prepared”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

As in all souks you have to be prepared to discuss the prices, pay attention to th small bikes and hand carts that constantly cross the narrow streets, we can find good articles at good prices specially if you can master their thecnique of negotiation.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Take Euros”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The souk was really interesting and worth visiting a few times at different times of the day / evening / night. DO haggle - got a handbag that started at 600 DH and bought for 250DH! They like Euros in the market.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Souk also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.