We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Souk

Marrakech Souk
Jemaa el Fna, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$43*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Ranked #11 of 62 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Neighborhoods, Flea/ Street Markets, Cultural
Activities: Shopping, People-watching
Attraction details
Saskatchewan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This was one of the highlights of my visit to Morocco. I was part of a tour but I went back in the later part of the afternoon with four other women. At no time did we feel threatened. It was awesome! Felt like we were in a movie set! Yes, it was noisy but that was part of the charm.Yes, everyone wants money for photos but you don't have to take the photo. That is their lively hood. Helen made a good point about unofficial tour guides and beggars.Bathrooms are sketchy and hard to find. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,265
    1,899
    753
    183
    155
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bargain, bargain, bargain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have mixed feeling abou the souk. It's definitely worth visiting but ladies, you may want to wear something less revealing because everywhere we turn, we get a lot of attention. But we think it's not harmful but still made us uncomfortable.

Also, we thought we did a great job with bargaining but later found the same merchandise still selling for less than what we paid for!!

But it was fun.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Remember to bharta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Loved the experience but do not let them bully you. Advise them u fetch police if they become harassing, and tell ladies with the henna u r allergic as they will try to squirt you if you do not buy. If you are caught taking photos of the snake charming or traditional dress they will want to charge also. Do not give to begging children or unofficial tour guides.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottenbach, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The souk is really great to see. Don't talk to every merchant, just go there and walk and walk and walk. Don't panic, you will find the exit. I love it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“abnoxious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

It I were to go again, I'd put in ear plugs. That way you wouldn't have to listen to the aggressive people trying to swindle you every 2 feet. Everyone wants to show you something, and then demands money. I found it best to say "I have no money for you". They seem to get the point very quick.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Souk also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.