We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT TO SHOP” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Souk

Marrakech Souk
Jemaa el Fna, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #14 of 91 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Neighborhoods
Activities: Shopping, People-watching
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT TO SHOP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is right nex to the Jamaa El Fna. Good place to shop for gifts. You must negotiate by quoting 50% less than what they quote.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,900
    1,634
    629
    154
    131
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Argan Oil in Medina of Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Other reviewers have commented on the good quality of the oil available at Herboristerie Firdaous. We found it difficult to find the place, so here is my suggestion as to how to find the shop.

My wife tells me that the cosmetic argan oil is the real deal, and the shop can be relied upon to sell good quality products. Many of the tour guides are accused of sending tourists to 'Berber markets' where they are overcharged, or, worst still, sold fake products.

OK, how to find the shop.

The address is First Floor, Galerie Essalam, Avenue Prince Moulay Racchid.

Avenue Prince Moulay Racchid is the second street to the left of the Post Office in the Djemaa El Fna.

At the other end of Avenue Prince Moulay Racchid is the Grand Hotel Tazi.

Before you reach the Grand Hotel Tazi there is a shop on the corner of the street called Solo.

Just before Solo is the entrance to Galerie Essalam. It has only Arabic signage.

Above the entrance to Galerie Essalam is a projecting window.

Remember the shop is on the first floor of a tiny shopping mall.

I hope the photos will help you to find this place. It is well worth paying a visit. I had a bad cold for weeks and my airways were cleared with the help of the essential oils obtained from Herboristerie Firdaous.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“No harassment, just looking, lubbly jubbly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Plenty to see, plenty to buy, no one seems to hassle you, everyone is ready to barter and there is lots to barter for. Colourful, bright, interesting, you get lost, you get found, wear comfortable shoes, be prepared to buy water (don't bother to take your own, live a little and buy a bottle!), be prepared to haggle, to laugh, to enjoy yourself. If you feel you've been ripped off it is your own fault, the shopkeepers in the medina love to barter and are reasonable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Abandon all hope...ye who enter here!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

You will either love it or hate it! With the right attitude it will be an adventure you won't forget! First, it is okay to be lost. If this is something that worries you then you may not love the souks...but I am pretty sure no one has ever been lost in there forever! The souks are colorful, crowded, loud, filled with people and cats and motor scooters and donkeys and donkey carts and people who want to sell you everything. Nothing is priced and be prepared to negotiate...and rarely for one thing (the salespeople are going to try to sell you lots of whatever it is you want..best price you know...). It is a true assault on the senses....the spices, the colors of the shoes and the wool and the pottery, the noise of so much happening...the taste of dates and mint tea...so put on your big girl undies and dive right in!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Shoppers paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good quality handcrafted leather goods, shoes, lamps, metalwork, jewellery, scarfs and cloathes nice pashminas and kaftans. Great price for herbs and spices. Teapots galore i returned home dreaming about teapots and a good old cup of English tea. I bought a lovely teapot with a tray and 6 nicely decorated tea glasses for about £13.00 very pleased it looks wonderfull in our kitchen. Have fun haggling be polite and firm dont be afraid to have a bit of banter with the traders they have a good sence of humour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Souk also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marrakech Souk to your Saves list