We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“main square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marrakech Souk

Marrakech Souk
Jemaa el Fna, Marrakech, Morocco
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$42*
and up
Marrakech Discovery Tour
Ranked #12 of 62 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Neighborhoods, Flea/ Street Markets, Cultural
Activities: Shopping, People-watching
Attraction details
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“main square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Its buzzing and crazy and fun, you will need comfortable shoes, and women should cover cleavage/thighs etc. Take some coins for beggars (no welfare state, the elderly and disabled have no choice but to beg)
Better value is to be had the further away from the centre of the square. Jemaa el Fna is where the tourists go when they only have one day. we fortunately had longer and found the Kasbah, and other outlying souks less pushy and better value.
Don't let people persuade you that you are heading in the wrong direction ! they will put you on the right track after taking you miles through tiny lanes then insist on money and get stroppy ! we only did this once then got a map.
Preferred Rahma Kedima (reached via the main souks) and Place de la Ferblantiers, watching the storks over coffee.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,333
    1,958
    782
    188
    160
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A haggle in the markets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I decided to book a week in Morocco, as we had heard many wonderful things about country, but nothing could have prepared us for what we experienced. One place one should definitely visit is the souks (the market) in the old median of Marrakech.

If you are a tourist no doubt you shall stand out and be prepared to be called and pulled in to their shops and be sold anything from shoes and handbags to small animals, when the owners offer a price, half it automatically and then negotiate, you will have to push but you will neg the person down if not they will rob you blind. One thing you must make sure that if you are going to take a picture be prepared to pay for it and at times it can work out expensive. Do try the food in the stalls, we tried a few but the one that stood out was stall number one named Chez Aicha, the food was unbelievable and service was even better and cheap. Do also try the Mint tea although if you do not have a sweet tooth ask for the sugar to be put on the side.

And finally do go the panoramic restaurant and get a terrace view and enjoy the circus of the souks come to life and watch the stalls being set up, a truly unbelievable experience,

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“exciting but keep you wits about you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Amazing experience shopping in the souks, amazing sights and things to be bought. Just have your wits about you, you will be approached constantly, but be prepared to say no, and aim to pay a quarter of what the shop owners originally ask you! bartering is very un- british, but you'd be a fool not to try it in the souks. the souks are like a maze, it's fun to get lost in them, but i'd advise finding your way back to the main square before it gets dark so you don't get lost in an unknown area....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Alladin's world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Mixture of exceptionally creative artisan & also perhaps one of world's greatest con-artist. Pure entertainment.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had so much fun shopping in the souks!! the locals are very friendly, they can be a little pushy so be sure to barter with them as they do inflate their prices dramatically with foreigners and dont be afraid to say no if you dont want something! Avoid eye contact if you are not interested in their products.There is so much choice and we are very happy with our purchases - rugs, lanerns, clothes, and so much more! Great experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Souk also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrakech Souk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.