We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting collection of artifacts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Tiskiwin

Maison Tiskiwin
8 Rue de la Bahia, Marrakech, Morocco
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #10 of 84 attractions in Marrakech
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At this small, well organized, and informative museum, you’ll get the chance to learn about the history of Marrakech and the region in general. Stocked with artifacts from past centuries and other quality exhibits, you’ll leave feeling satisfied with your time spent there.
England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Interesting collection of artifacts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Good value for money. Lots of artifacts to see in this private collection. We went here after Dar Si Saad as close by and then on to the palaces and Saadian tombs. All manageable in a morning.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    44
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting, private museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This private museum is set up to show the artifacts and cultures you would come across on a trek across the Sahara. Each room focuses on a different region or tribe, showcasing the wealth of cultures and traditions Morocco has to offer.

Although small, we spent a good hour exploring the exhibition, aided by the museum's little guide booklet, which was admittedly not that informative - I was glad I could read the original French text next to the various artifacts.

Yet, the museum gave a fascinating glimpse into what is there to explore and sure made me wish I could follow the route myself.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“quiet, very charming little riad style.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We are very lucky, this house is 2minutes walk from where we stayed. Quieter in the morning and you pay 20dh to go in. We did not learn very much about the history but I just liked to taking photos inside and enjoy the architecture. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Interesting and serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were staying right around the corner from the Dar Si Said so decided to pop in. Such a great find! It's 10 dirhams to enter. The hours on the door are a bit funny- we came when it was supposed to be open, but the door was shut. We wandered around a bit, then returned- door still shut so we knocked and it was unlocked and we were welcomed in. The elderly gentleman who runs the museum (I who the collection belongs to) speaks good English/French. Such a sweet man- we loved him. He was so happy to explain how the museum operated.

The collection is varied and interesting. We were actually the only people there for our entire visit- I suppose because the door was shut! I loved the artifacts and the information book that was given to us- very informative. Takes a while to read, but I learnt quite a lot in the process. A great place to come in the heat of the afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very sweet little gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It's one street away from Riad Hayati and you can just duck in for a quick visit anytime. Small though it may be it has a very valuable colelction of textiles and crafts from all over Africa.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maison Tiskiwin also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Maison Tiskiwin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Tiskiwin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.